MINUTES FACULTY SENATE OF EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY

) TristScinningsonbSt Tellmi

to like the title of the title of the

(Ricase refer to the lacul

CARBEI , IS Iltro.

TOTHE SOF

THE EST DIE

Jewest Coadings t

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF 1982/1983 ACADEMIC YEAR

21 April 1982

Moodelie, chair of the committees, presenced in committees for com-The Organizational meeting of the Faculty Senate for 1982/1983 was called to order by Chair Thomas Johnson on Wednesday, April 21, 1982, at 2:20 p.m. in Room 221, Mendenhall Student Center. The Office Secretary noted the following members were absent: Brett (English); Barakat, O'Brien, Pories, and Yeager (Medicine); Chauncey (Music); Smith (Univ. Couns. Center). Alternates present were as follows: Bellis for Allen (Biology), Mayberry for Baro' (Foreign Languages), Finnen for Pierce (Nursing) and Broadhurst for Swope (Technology), Thornton for Longhill (Business).

L. Hough (Pol. Sci.) moved to place Agenda Item 3B: (Report of Nominating Committee) before Agenda Item 3A: (Report of Committee on Committees). W. Grossnickle (Psychology) seconded the motion. The motion was approved.

Agenda Item 3A: Report of Nominating Committee

B. Kane, chair of the Nominating Committee, presented the nominees for Chair of the Faculty:

abook alara sira	BALLOT	rnleasing.	1	Limand 2 do notisaimon sail
	Caroline L.	Ayers	24	ne mred-bestille no et en en
	James LeRoy	Smith	21	
	D-11-4-	0	/.E	

45 Ballots Cast (1 abstention)

Caroline Ayers (Chemistry) was elected Chair of the Faculty for the 1982/1983 academic year.

Nominees for Vice Chair of the Faculty:

snish what woods as

bestering the category

ontrack Lancinesine

Kane presented two nominees: Carl G. Adler (Physics) and Robert L. Hause (Music). E. Ryan (Philosophy) nominated Jim L. Smith (Philosophy).

BALLOT	100 1
Carl G. Adler	8
Robert L. Hause	10
Jim Smith	28

Ballots Cast 46 est notion at alesy out of a but son out alite attended of the

beside the the there are the top the selection and the selection and the selection

James L. Smith was elected Vice Chair of the Faculty for the 1982/1983 academic year. December (noted Westeld) blistassed & Dre beyon (ecosted yasadi) acids

Nominees for Secretary of the Faculty:

BALLOT	1 1
Stella Daugherty	25
Arthur J. Haney	19
Ballots Cast	34

(I abstention) Stella Daugherty (Mathematics) was elected Secretary of the Faculty for the 1982/1983 academic year.

HARY DIMEGRADA EEELLOSET DE DWITTER DE LABORETERS DE D

Agenda Item 3B: Report from Committee on Committees

R. Woodside, chair of the committee, presented the nominations for committee assignments selected from faculty responses to the Committee Preference List.

bull below visigious correct and and instruction if he inches its moon at

THE PARTY OF THE PARTY OF THE PARTY.

Test ofmabsos ESCHTSELL

designed for Title Charle of the

red beenfact out bearesers engl

Challe to the first than the state of the st

Career Education Committee and Teacher (Mediators): Channed (Munich): Smith (Left Couns. Centerly.

SHIPSHING TO

.hereorges eswine

The second designation of the second second

Tel assentment on en

Alta Andrews, Nursing, and Bill Holley, Art, were nominated for terms to expire in 1985.

BALLOT	1	
Alta Andrews	20	
Bill Holley	32	elq of bevom (.lo2 .lo9) dagott.
W. Galke	36	Manifolded Deliver Agenda Leem 3A:
R. Preston	33	Grassalckie (Usychology) accom
N. Jane Randall	27	

Ballots Cast 45 mind entired the Nominatina Deal (1 abstention)

Holley, Galke, Preston, and Randall were elected on the first ballot. (The nomination of S. Cummings, Nursing, was withdrawn by Chair Woodside as she is on a fixed-term appointment.)

DEEL BIGLISH

force to state as a little

A STATE OF S

University Curriculum Committee

Ed Powers, Business, was nominated by Fred Hamblen (Business).

1
33
31
32
25

Ballots Cast

Muller (Education), Ziehr (Geography), Broadhurst (Nursing) were elected on the first ballot.

Sadler moved and Kane seconded to reduce the term of membership of the Course Drop Appeals Committee from three to two years. The motion was approved.

Sadler (Library Science) moved and R. Muzzarelli (Allied Health) seconded the motion that all other nominees for committee membership be elected as nominated by the Committee on Committees. The motion was approved.

(Please refer to the Faculty Senate Agenda for the Organizational Meeting, April 21, 1982.)

AZ TERRIT ZEO TER

Agenda Item 3C: Election of Committee on Committees for 1982/1983

The Chair opened the floor of the Senate for election of five faculty members to the Committee on Committees for the 1982/1983 academic year.

BALLOT	
Art Haney, Art	35
Robert Woodside, Math	34
Y.J. Lao, Allied Health	36
Ione Ryan, Univ. Couns. Center	39
Henry Ferrell, History	
Artemis Kares, Library Services	32
Ballots Cast	42

Haney, Woodside, Lao, Ryan, and Kares were elected to the Committee on Committees.

Agenda Item 3D: Election of Agenda Committee for 1982/1983

The Chair opened the floor of the Senate for election of five Senators to the Agenda Committee for the 1982/1983 academic year.

NOMINEES

Jo Ann Jones, English
Carl Adler, Physics
William Grossnickle, Psych.
Larry Hough, Pol. Science
Sylvene Spickerman, Nursing

The Chair declared that the nominations were closed and a majority vote cast in favor of the five nominees.

The meeting adjourned at 3:25 p.m.

Stella Daugherty Secretary of the Faculty

Helen Broaddus Office Secretary of the Faculty Sena e