MEMORANDUM

TO: Faculty Senators and the General Faculty

FROM: Tom Johnson, Chairman of the Faculty

DATE: September 28, 1981

RE: NOMINATIONS FOR THE CHANCELLOR SELECTION COMMITTEE

Today the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of East Carolina University, Mr. Ashley B. Futrell, called for the nomination by the Faculty Senate of three (3) faculty persons to serve as members of the Chancellor Selection Committee. Chairman Futrell has requested receipt of the names of the Senate's nominees by October 6, 1981.

Therefore, I am calling a special meeting of the Faculty Senate as provided for in the Senate's Constitution (Section IX, page A-5) Faculty Manual 1978-79 for Tuesday, October 6, 1981, at 3:00 p.m. in Room 205, Home Economics. The purpose of this special meeting shall be for the Senate to select three faculty nominees to serve on the Chancellor Selection Committee.

Members of the General Faculty are encouraged to submit names of candidates to their Senators before the meeting.

Mr. Futrell has requested that nominees be "accompanied by a letter which states the qualities and strengths [each] would bring to the Selection Committee." Therefore, those persons making nominations are requested to provide this information to the Chair in writing, a copy of which may be provided for each Senator by the person making the nomination.

THJ/hrb

cc: Mr. Ashley B. Futrell Chairman, Board of Trustees

FACULTY SENATE OF EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY Special Session 6 October 1981

The Faculty Senate met in special session Tuesday, 6 October 1981, at 3:00 p.m. in Room 205, Home Economics. The meeting was called to order by the Chair, Thomas Johnson. The secretary noted the following members were absent: Gantt* (HPERS). Alternates present were: Bienstock for Thomas (Aerospace), Lowry for Neal (Geology), Stephenson for Briley (Library Services), Yaeger for Cheng (School of Medicine), and Finnen for Lawler (Nursing). Ex officio members absent: Vice Chancellor Maier and Dean William Laupus.

*joined session later

The Chair recognized Dean Richard Warner, Academic Council Representative.

As published in the Agenda of September 28, 1981, this special session of the Faculty Senate was called in order to elect three members to the Chancellor Selection Committee.

- B. Kane (Allied Health) moved that the Faculty Senate elect three members to the Chancellor Search Committee separately. J. Lowry (Geology) seconded. Twenty-one votes were cast in favor of the motion, 24 in opposition. The motion failed.
- W. Grossnickle (Psychology) moved and Hamblen seconded that no speeches accompany nominations to the Chancellor Selection Committee. The motion carried. (81-43*)
- F. Hamblen (Business) moved that nominations be made according to an alphabetical list of units and ex officio members. J.L. Smith (Philosophy) seconded. Forty votes were cast in favor, 7 in opposition. The motion passed. (81-44)*

The following names are listed as nominated according to units:

- D. Sexauer
- S. Smith
- E. Ryan
- G. Davis
- P. Dunn
- J. Longhill
- W. Worthington
- J. Rees
- D. Giles
- W. Bloodworth
- R. Hursey
- E. Chestang
- C.Q. Brown
- T. Johnson
- R. Haritun
- V. Rosenfeld
- M. Markowski

- R. Woodside
- L. Debnath
- R. Athey
- P. Mozley
- I. Lawrence
- C. Ayers
- R. Brame
- S. Pennington
- H. Carter
- S. Spickerman
- C. Adler
- G. Ross
- J.L. Smith
- R. Lao
- Charles Coble
- D. Chestnut
- James White

(Mathematics) 2

Two nominees were selected by a majority of votes cast on the third ballot: Rosina Lao (Psychology) received 36 and Thomas Johnson (HPERS) received 26 votes. The third nominee, Robert Hursey, was elected on the fifth ballot receiving 27 votes. (No nominee received a majority of votes cast in three ballots.)

Kane moved that the Chairman of the ECU Board of Trustees be requested to allow the Executive Secretary of the Chancellor Selection Committee to vote as a member of that Committee. B. Nischan (History) seconded. The motion carried. (81-45)

J.L. Smith made a motion asking that the three nominees [to the Chancellor Selection Committee] make an appropriate report to the Senate at each regularly scheduled meeting on their activities up to but not including the issues of confidentiality. C. Adler (Physics) seconded. The motion was adopted. (81-46)

The special session of the Faculty Senate adjourned at 5 o'clock.

Rosalie Haritun Secretary of the Faculty

Helen Broaddus Office Secretary of the Faculty Senate Addendum to Faculty Senate Minutes of October 6, 1981 (Special Session)

NOMINEES AND VOTES CAST FOR SENATE MEMBERS ON CHANCELLOR SELECTION COMMITTEE Ballots

	First	Second	Third	Fourth	Fifth
Donald Sexauer	7	4	4	0	0
Susan Smith	0	0	0	0	0
ugene Ryan	6	4	4	1	0
Graham Davis	0	0	0	0	0
Pat Dunn	0	0	0	0	0
John Longhill	6	6	6	1	0
Worth Worthington	2	0	1	0	0
Jim Rees	1	1	0	0	0
David Giles	3	3	3	0	0
William Bloodworth	4	3	2	0	0
Pobert Hursey	13	19	21	23	2.7
Innis Chestang	2	1	0	0	0
C.Q. Brown	2	2	0	0	0
Tom Johnson	12	18	26	0	0
Rosalie Haritun	8	4	1	1	0
Vi Rosenfeld	1	0	0	0	0
Mel Markowski	4	2	1	0	0
Robert Woodside	3	3	2	3	2
Lokenath Debnath	1	1	0	0	0
Richard Athey	0	3	0	0	0
Paul Mozley	2	1	0	0	0
Irwin Lawrence	4	4	2	0	0
Caroline Ayers	4	2	2	0	0
Robert Brame	5	8	2	0	0
Sam Pennington	3	2	0	0	0
Herb Carter	1	0	0	0	0
Sylvene Spickerman	3	1	0	0	0
Carl Adler	2	2	0	0	0
Gregory Ross	1	0	0	0	0
James LeRoy Smith	3	3	3	0	0
Rosina Lao	13	23	36	0	0
Charles Coble	4	2	0	0	0
Dennis Chestnut	1	0	0	0	0
Jim White	15	14	18	18	17

	(no election)		(no election)	(n		
Votes		51 miscast)	49	49	47	46