FACULTY SENATE

The first regular meeting of the Faculty Senate for the academic year 1981/82 will be held on Tuesday, September 22, 1981, at 2:10 p.m. in Room 221, Mendenhall Student Center.

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Approval of the Minutes
- 3. Special Order of the Day
 - A. Announcements
 - B. Annual Report of Faculty Assembly (Robert Hursey)
 - C. Elections
 - Due Process Committee (Appendix D, Section V,E.)
 (see attachment)
 - Hearing Committee (Appendix D, Section IV, C.)
 (see attachment)
 - 3. Reconsideration Committee (Appendix D, Section VI, B.) (see attachment)
 - D. Planning Commission Report (Henry Ferrell)
- 4. Unfinished Business
 - A. East Carolina University Code (See attachments: ECU Code and copy of letter from Chancellor Brewer)
- 5. Report of Committees
 - A. Student Scholarships, Fellowships and Financial Aid Committee (Doug Kruger)
- 6. New Business

1. Due Process Committee

The Due Process Committee guarantees that a tenured faculty member may not be discharged or suspended from employment without good and just cause. The Committee consists of five members and five alternates, all of whom must be members of the regular teaching faculty who hold permanent tenure.

Within ten days of receipt of the notice from the Chancellor or his delegate of intention to discharge him/her, the faculty member may request a hearing before the Due Process Committee.

The hearing deals only with those written specifications for reasons of the intended discharge or suspension. In reaching its decision, the committee shall consider only evidence presented at the hearing and such written and oral arguments as the committee, in its discretion, may allow. The faculty member has the right of appealing the committee's decision.

Current members:

Carolyn Bolt, Foreign Languages and Literatures Robert Hursey, Mathematics	1982 1983 1983 1983
Members whose terms are expiring:	
Trenton Davis, Allied Health	1981
Lawrence Hough, Political Science	1981
Jo Ann Jones, English	1981
Current alternates:	
Sally Brett, English	1982
Jack Thornton, Economics	1982
	1983
	1983
	1983
	1,03
Alternates whose terms are expiring:	
Caroline Ayers, Chemistry	1981
Anne Briley, Library Services	1981
Joe Davis, Mathematics	1981

... 2. Hearing Committee

The Hearing Committee guarantees to nontenured faculty members the right of a hearing concerning an unfavorable action resulting in nonreappointment or nonconferral of permanent tenure.

Hearing Committee continued

The Hearing Committee is composed of five members and five alternates who are full-time faculty members without administrative appointment.

Within five days after receiving notice of an unfavorable action concerning nonreappointment or nonconferral of permanent tenure resulting from the conference with the Chancellor, the faculty member may request a hearing before the Faculty Hearing Committee

The Hearing Committee's review of the faculty member's case shall be limited solely to determining whether the decision not to reappoint or confer permanent tenure was based upon any of the grounds stated to be impermissible in Section 604B of The Code of the University of North Carolina.

The Hearing Committee shall consider the written request and grant a hearing if it determines that (a) the request contains a contention that the decision was based upon impermissible grounds under Section 604B of The Code and that (b) the facts suggested, if established, will support the contention.

Current members:

Carl Adler, Physics	1983
Y.J. Lao, Allied Health	1982
Judith Sadler, Library Science.	1983
	1984
	1984
Members whose terms are expiring:	
Myree Hayes, Psychology	1981
Don Ensley, Allied Health	1981
Current alternates:	
Chamles MaDanald Distance	1983
Charles McDonald, Biology	1983
Ed Powers, Business	1982
Donald Sexauer, Art	
	1984
	1984
Alternates whose terms are expiring:	
Martin Lutz, Psychology	1981
Floyd Read, Science Education	1981

3. Reconsideration Committee

This committee guarantees the right of tenured and nontenured faculty members to a hearing on termination of employment due to financial exigency or major curtailment or elimination of a teaching, research, or public service program.

1981

Reconsideration Committee continued

Sandra Wurth-Hough, Political Science

The membership of the committee is composed of five members and five alternates who are full-time faculty members without administrative rank.

If a faculty member makes a written request within ten days after receiving notice of termination of employment, the Chancellor or his delegate shall insure that the hearing is accorded before a standing committee of the Faculty Senate, the Committee on Reconsideration of Faculty-Program Termination Decisions. The committee may consider only such evidence as is presented at the hearing and need consider only the evidence offered that it considers fair and reliable.

Current members:

V T Too Alliad Hooleh	1983
Y.J. Lao, Allied Health Molecle Couch Frolish	1983
Malcolm South, English	1982
Karen Hancock	1984
	1984
Members whose terms expire:	
Stella Daugherty, Mathematics	1981
Robert Irwin, Music	1981
Current Alternates:	
Art Haney, Art	1982
Joseph Hill, Marketing and Management	1983
Artemis Kares, Library Services	1983
	1984
	1984
Alternates whose terms expire:	
James Hix, Chemistry	1981