

#### EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY

Faculty Senate
Greenville, North Carolina 27834
(919) 757-6537

May 5, 1981

Chancellor Thomas Brewer
Spilman
Campus

Dear Chancellor Brewer:

Attached are the minutes of the Organizational meeting of the Faculty Senate, April 22, 1981, which have been approved by the Faculty Senate Committee on Minutes and are subject to final approval at the September 22, 1981, meeting of the Senate.

Sincerely yours,

Thomas H. Johnson Chairman of the Faculty

THJ/rhb

Attachment

# FACULTY SENATE OF EAST CAROLINA UNIVERSITY ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF 1981/82 ACADEMIC YEAR

#### 22 April 1981

The Organizational meeting of the Faculty Senate for 1981/82 was called to order by Chair Thomas Johnson on Wednesday, April 22, 1981, at 2:10 p.m. in Room 221, Mendenhall Student Center. The Secretary noted the following members were absent: Muzzarelli (Allied Health), McGee (Continuing Education), Haskins (Drama), Brinn and Cheng and Mozley (Medicine). Alternates present were: Somes for Lao (Allied Health), Bellis for Allen (Biology), Neal for Spruill (Geology) and Duff for Settle (Home Economics).

# Agenda Item 3: Report from Committee on Committees

C. Ayers (Chemistry), vice chair of the Committee, presented the nominations for committee assignments selected from faculty responses to the Committee Preference List.

Voting for membership on the following six committees was by secret ballot. Nominees receiving the highest majority of votes cast were elected.

## University Research Committee

Robert Hause (Music) was nominated by Jim Smith (Philosophy).

BALLOT	1
Robert Hause	33
Ruth Katz	17
Margie Gallagher	27
Ballots Cast	42

Hause and Gallagher were elected on the first ballot. Li and Gowen were elected as nominated, without opposition.

## University Curriculum Committee

William Grossnickle (Psychology) was nominated by Walter Pories (Medicine).

BALLOT	I
William Grossnickle	33
Paul Topper	25
Stella Daugherty	27
James L. Stone	21
Charles O'Rear	23
Ballots Cast	43

Grossnickle, Topper, Daugherty, and O'Rear were elected on the first ballot.

THE REST TO PERSON NAMED IN THE PARTY OF THE

# University Libraries Committee

Brad Foley (Music) was nominated by Stella Daugherty (Math).

BALLOT 1	BALLOT 1	
Brad Foley	26	
Gerhard Kalmus	33	
Loren Campion	23	
Donald Collins	29	
Ballots Cast	40	

Foley, Kalmus and Collins were elected on the first ballot.

## University Computer Committee

John Warren (English) was nominated by Sally Brett (English).

BALLOT	. 1	2
John Warren	31	
Richard Kerns	31	
James Joyce	19	20
Nancy Davey	18	19
Ballots Cast	38	39

Warren and Kerns were elected on the first ballot; Joyce was elected on the second ballot.

## Student Recruitment and Retention

Ralph Scott (Library Services) was nominated by Anne Briley (Library Services).

BALLOT	1
Ralph Scott	15
Tilton Wilcox	20
James Kirkland	20
Clinton Downing	13
Ballots Cast	39

Wilcox and Kirkland were elected on the first ballot.

#### COMMITTEE FOR TEACHING EFFECTIVENESS

Phil Adler (History) was nominated by Robert Gowen (History).

BALLOTS	1983
Phil Adler	25
Robert Graham	30
Paul Waldrop	15
Rallots Cast	30

Adler and Graham were elected for terms until 1983.

## Committee for Teaching Effectiveness continued

BALLOTS	1984
Thomas Eamon	26
Belinda T. Lee	24
Madge McGrath	25
Paul Varlashkin	21
Ballots Cast	37

Eamon, Lee and McGrath were elected for three-year terms until 1984.

(A. Haney, (Art) moved that Senators vote for two persons for two-year terms, until 1983, and three persons for three-year terms, until 1984. The motion was seconded.)

J. Sadler (Library Science) moved and B. Nischan (History) seconded that all other nominees for committee membership be elected as nominated by the Committee on Committees. The motion was approved. (Refer to the Faculty Senate Agenda for the Organizational Meeting, April 22, 1981.)

### Agenda Item 3a: University Facilities Committee

Vincent Bellis (Biology), two-year term; Tilton Wilcox (Business), twoyear term; and Patricia Rice (Home Economics), one-year term, were elected to the University Facilities Committee.

#### Agenda Item 3b: University Athletic Committee

J. Smith (Philosophy) was elected by the Senate to be recommended to the Chancellor to serve a two-year term on the University Athletic Committee.

#### Agenda Item 4: Report of Nominating Committee

A. Briley, chairman of the Nominating Committee, presented the nominees for Chairman of the Faculty:

BALLOT	1				
Carl Adler Thomas Johnson	15 24				
Ballots Cast	39				

Thomas Johnson was reelected as Chairman of the Faculty for the 1981/82 Academic Year.

Nominees for Vice Chairman of the Faculty:

BALLOT	1
Walter Pories	21
James Smith (Phil.)	18
Ballots Cast	39

Walter Pories was reelected as Vice Chairman of the Faculty for the 1981/82. Academic Year.

Nominees for <u>Secretary of the Faculty</u>:

BALLOT	1
Stella Daugherty	12
Rosalie Haritun	25
Ballots Cast	37

Rosalie Haritum was reelected as Secretary of the Faculty for the 1981/82 Academic Year.

Agenda Item 5: Election of Committee on Committees for 1981/82

The Chair opened the floor of the Senate for election of five faculty members to the Committee on Committees for the 1981/82 Academic Year.

I	BALLOT	1
Judith Sadler		28
Bob Woodside		21
Bodo Nischan		15
Jim Smith		21
Artemis Kares		22
Sally Brett		25
John Longhill		10
	Ballots Cast	35

Sadler, Woodside, Smith, Kares and Brett were elected on the first ballot.

Agenda Item 6: Election of Agenda Committee for 1981/82

The Chair opened the floor of the Senate for election of five Senators to the Agenda Committee for the 1981/82 Academic Year.

BA	LLOT 1	2
Larry Hough	29	
Y.J. Lao	18	21
Jo Ann Jones	28	
Anne Briley	29	
John Longhill	18	14
Carl Adler	28	
Ball	ots Cast 35	35

Hough, Jones, Briley and Adler were elected on the first ballot; Lao was elected on the second ballot for membership on the Agenda Committee

R. Gowen expressed his appreciation to the Officers of the Faculty Senate for their untiring leadership and dedication in carrying out their responsibilities during the academic year.

The meeting adjourned at 4:35 p.m.

Rosalie Haritum Secretary of the Faculty for 1981/82

Helen Broaddus Office Secretary of the Faculty Senate