ANNUAL REPORT OF THE ADMISSIONS COMMITTEE

I. DATE: April 1, 1981 TO: Faculty Senate

FROM: Don Clemens, Chairman

II. Membership of the Committee

Ex officio: Chancellor Brewer; Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
Robert H. Maier (Susan McDaniel); Chairman of the Faculty
Tom Johnson; and Director of Admissions Walter Sortz

terminal by the best of the entrement of the contract of the c

Don Clemens, Chemistry, Chairman	1981
Walter Calhoun, History, Secretary	1931
George Williams, HPERS, Alternate	1981
Graham Davis, Biology	1982
Henry Stindt, Art	1982
Mallie Penry, Nursing	1983
Mary Susan Templeton, Allied Health, Alternate	1983

Student: Douglas Cox

III. Committee Meetings (dates and members absent)

June 20, 1980 Calhoun, Stindt, Yuhas (student August 12, 1980 Davis, Lao, Stindt	22
August 12 1080 Davis Lao Stindt	1 16
nugust 12, 1500 Davis, Lau, Stillut	1.46
August 13, 1980 Davis, Lao, Stindt	105
August 20, 1980 Davis, Lao, Stindt, Wood, Yuhas	172
August 25, 1980 Stindt	0
November 17, 1980 Calhoun, Davis, Stindt	0
January 2, 1981 Davis, Stindt, Templeton, Cox (student)	17

Subcommittee meeting December 12, 1980
(Please note that, with the exception of Stindt, absences were usually due to schedule conflicts.)

- IV. Date of Reports to the Faculty Senate During the Year: Mone
- V. Specific Instructions Given to the Committee by the Faculty Senate: None
- VI. Committee Organization, Subcommittees, Research Activities, etc.

During the 1980-81 academic year, the committee has served as an appeals board for students who have not met admission and retenton requirements. In addition, much time has been spent by full committee and subcommittee discussing and revising the admission policy for students entering the Division of Continuing Education under The 30-Hour Rule. Discussions were also held on the following topics: Retention requirements for non-traditional students; Admission of students with deficiencies; and admission formula.

Annual Report of the Admissions Committee THE RESIDENCE OF THE PARTY OF T Page 2 April 1, 1981 VII. Committee accomplishments including recommendations to agencies other than the Faculty Senate A. November 17, 1980 - Supported the request to the Committee on Committees from the Division of Continuing Education that the Committees appoint a person from the Division to serve on the Admissions Committee as an ex officio member. B. January 2, 1981 - Recommended a policy to limit the number of hours a student may take in the Division of Continuing Education while attempting to gain admission to the University. Students who do not meet freshmen admission requirements to the University may be enrolled in the Division of Continuing Education. Students who are enrolled under this policy (The 30-Hour Rule) must satisfactorily complete at least 30 semester hours of credit with a minimum grade point average of 2.0 and meet the mathematics entrance requirement to be admitted to the University. A student may not attempt more than 44 semester hours while enrolled under The 30-Hour Rule. Failure to achieve a 2.0 GPA and meet the mathematics entrance requirement after attempting 44 semester hours will result in the student being ineligible for any additional work with any unit of the University; this does not preclude a student's right to appeal. * A student who meets the mathematics entrance requirement while enrolled under the provisions of The 30-Hour Rule may be admitted to the University without completing 30 semester hours if the student meets all other freshmen entrance requirements. The Committee has heard appeals from 462 students since the last report to the Faculty Senate. VIII. Citation of Resolution Numbers of Senate Resolutions: None IX. Proposals and/or Business to be Carried Over to Next Year: None Evaluation of Committee: Structure, Duties, Functions: Satisfactory. The dedication of the members of this committee is shown by the attendance at meetings when the University is not in session. Personnel have performed very well with the exception of one member and the appointed student member. XI. Suggestions for Improving the Effectiveness of the Committee: None Don Clemens Chairman Walter Calhoun Secretary