FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

May 14, 1975

The organizational meeting of the Faculty Senate for 1975-75 was held on Wednesday, May 14, 1975 at 2:00 p.m. in Room 129, EP Building. Mr. Woodside called the meeting to order and the secretary called the roll. The following members were absent: Robbins Ray, Richards, South, P. Shea, H. Jones, Knight, Shank, Haigwood, Penry, Hoots. The following alternates were present: Tora Larsen for Romita, Bernard Kane for Davis, and Tom Johnson for Grimsley.

Mr. Woodside read a statement from James Joyce, Chairman of the Library Committee, in which he clarified a statement he made concerning the second term of the library budget formula. The second term of the formula was said to be not very significant but the Library Committee feels that it is important as it recognizes the need for library resources of a department or school that may not have large numbers of students.

Mr. Woodside announced the resignations of Margaret Bond and Waldron Snyder from the Curriculum Committee and the appointment of Ernest Schwarz and Bruce Wardrep as their respective replacements.

Mr. Woodside presented the Committee on Committees nominations for committee assignments and explained how the selections were made. It was pointed out under the Admissions Committee the second name should be Richard Kerns. There were no nomination from the floor and the slate of nominees was elected by acclamation. See attachment for the names of those elected.

Mr. Martinez announced the AAUP social for May 16, 1975 and urged everyone to attend.

Mr. Woodside, representing the Hominating Committee, presented the nominations of Lloyd Benjamin and Jannis Shea for Chairman. Wominations from the floor were Trenton Davis and Philip Adler. Ms. Wilder moved that nominations close. Ms. Bell seconded. The motion passed. The vote was taken by secret ballot with Mr. Grossnickle and Mr. Ferrell as tellers. There was not a majority on the first ballot. Ms. Shea and Mr. P. Adler withdrew. Mr. Lloyd Benjamin was elected.

Mr. Benjamin took over as chairman. Mr. Woodside presented the nominees for Vice Chairman. They were: Elbert Robbins, Mallie Penry, and Stella Daugherty. There were no nominations from the floor. Ms. Wilder moved nominations close. Mr. Reep seconded. The vote was taken by secret ballot with Mr. Grossnickle and Mr. Ferrell as tellers. Ms. Stella Daugherty was elected.

Mr. Woodside presented the nomination of Mr. John C. Atkeson for secretary. There were no nominations from the floor. It was moved and seconded that nominations close. Mr. John Atkeson was elected.

Mr. Benjamin appointed Henry Ferrell to act as Parliamentarian for 1975-76.

Mr. Benjamin explained that the Senators were to elect five Senators to the Agenda Committee for next year. The following people were nominated: Grover Everett, Vernie Wilder, Jannis Shea, Wilbur Castellow, and Harold Jones. Mr. Keusch moved nominations be closed. Mr. Brinn seconded. It was moved and seconded that the slate be accepted by acclamation. The motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Benjamin explained that the Senators would now elect five members to the Committee on Committees. These nominees did not have to be Senators. The following people were nominated from the floor: Ray Martinez, Carl Adler, Trenton Davis, Tom Williams, R. B. Keusch, Henry Ferrell, and Ed Reep. Mr. Grossnickle and Mr. Hoodside acted as tellers. Martinez, C. Adler, Davis, Ferrell, and Reep were elected.

Mr. Ferrell presented the following resolution:

WHEREAS Professor Woodside has completed his third term as Chairman of the faculty, and

WHEREAS he has served with distinction, integrity, and effort

BE IT RESOLVED that the Faculty Senate forward to Chancellor Jenkins this expression of its respect and esteem for Robert Woodside and appreciation of his great contributions to the advancement of East Carolina University.

Mr. Grossnickle seconded. The Senate passed the resolution unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 3:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Stella Daugherty, Secretary

EDELICE PROPERTY OF THE PROPER

Admissions Committee
Thomas Evans - Art
Richard Kerns - Business
William H. Cobb - History - Alternate

Calendar Committee

R. B. Keusch - Business

Elizabeth Moore - Library Services

Continuing Education Committee
Carolyn K. Bolt - Foreign Languages
Leonard Lilley - Education

Credit Committee

James Kirkland - English

Walter McLendon - Education

Curriculum Committee
Stella Daugherty - Math
William Grossnickle - Psychology
Charles Moore - Music
John Richards - Education

Faculty Affairs Committee

V. J. Bellis - Biology

Karl Rodabaugh - Continuing Education

Charles Moore - Psychology - Alternate

Faculty Welfare Committee

Luis Acevez - Foreign Languages

Sallie Mann - Library Services

Library Committee

Bodo Nischan - History

Gregory Ross - Philosophy

Marilyn Stephenson - Library Services

Paul Haggard - Math

John Heard - Music

Marilyn Stephenson - Library Services

Student Recruitment Committee

Louise Haigwood - Nursing

Paul Topper - Music

Student Scholarship, Fellowships, and Financial Aid Committee Inez Martinez - Nursing

Teacher Education Committee
William Holley - Art
Lilla Holsey - Home Economics
N. C. Pendered - Technology

Career Education Committee
Ray Elmore - Art
Janice Faulkner - English
Mabel Laughter - Education
Martin McGuire - Allied Health

Instructional Survey Committee
Joseph Congleton - Education
Diana D. Carroll - Home Economics
Jasper Register - Sociology & Anthropology
Gunter Strumpf - Foreign Languages
W. F. Troutman - Political Science

Faculty Governance Committee

James Smith - Philosophy

Robert Tacker - Psychology

General College Committee
Rosalind Roulston - Drama & Speech
Eugene Ryan - Philosophy

Course Drop Appeals Committee
Ramesh Ajmera - Physics
Paul Haggard - Math
John Heard - Music