MEMORANDUM

DATE: MAY 10, 1974

TO: Faculty Senate Members, 1974-75

FROM: Robert Woodside, Chairman of the Faculty

SUBJECT: ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING AGENDA

The organizational meeting of the Faculty Senate for 1974-75 will be held in Room 101, Nursing Building at :3:00 P.M. on Wednesday, May 15, 1974. IT IS IMPORTANT THAT ALL NEW SENATORS ATTEND THIS MEETING.

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Nominating Committee Report Tinsley Yarbrough, Chairman (See Reverse Side)

(1) Sattleia A, Daugherty (2101057)

(2) Edward A. Bress (Art)

MARKETAND STOTE

- 4. Agenda Committee Election (Elect 5 Senators)
- 5. Committee on Committees Election (Elect 5 members from the general faculty)
- 6. Committee on Committees Report Henry Ferrell, Chairman Committee assignments for 1974-75.

REPORT OF THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE

The Nominating Committee of the Faculty Senate
wishes to put the following names into nomination
for the following offices.

ACCINEDA

deministrate on Commistee - deeps - denry Chairman . d.

Consittice asstancents for 1974-75.

robro or Hand wi

(vatureal ferenea

Licarion .s

CHAIRMAN

- (1) R. B. Keusch (Business)
- (2) Robert M. Woodside (Mathematics)

VICE CHAIRMAN

- (1) Patricia A. Daugherty (Biology)
- (2) Edward A. Reep (Art)

SECRETARY Velania - STORES SECRETARY

- (1) Jo Ann Bell (HEALTH AFFAIRS LIBRARY)
- (2) Stella M. Daugherty (Mathematics)

May 15, 1974

The organizational meeting of the Faculty Senate for 1974-75 was held on Wednesday, May 15, 1974 at 3:00 P.M. in Room 101, Mursing Building. Mr. Woodside called the meeting to order and the secretary called the roll. The following members were absent; Atkeson, Nichols, Hoots, Brinn, Moeller, McGee, Benz, Malby, Martinez. Alternates present: Wease, Broadhurst, Daniels, Lawrence, Johnson.

Mr. Adler acted as Chairman for the election of Chairman. Mr. Yarbrough, Chairman of the nominating committee presented the committee's nominees for Chairman. They were: R. B. Keusch and Robert Woodside. Mr. Adler asked if there were further nominations from the floor. Mr. Donnally moved nominations be closed. Mr. Benjamin seconded. The vote was taken by secret ballot with Mr. Ferrell and Mr. Grossnickle as tellers. Mr. Woodside was re-elected.

Mr. Woodside resumed as Chairman. Mr. Yarbrough presented the nominees for Vice Chairman. They were: Patricia Daugherty and Edward Reep. Carl Adler was nominated from the floor. The vote was taken by secret ballot with Mr. Ferrell and Mr. Grossnickle as tellers. Ms. Patricia Daugherty was elected.

Richard E. Shine, Allied Jealth

Mr. Yarbrough presented the nominees for Secretary. They were: Jo Ann Bell and Stella Daugherty. There were no nominations from the floor. The vote was taken by secret ballot with Mr. Ferrell and Mr. Grossnickle as tellers. Ms. Stella Daugherty was re-elected.

Mr. Woodside explained that the Senators were to elect five Senators to the Agenda Committee for next year. The following people were nominated from the floor: Wilbur Castellow, Lloyd Benjamin, Thomas Williams, Myron Caspar, and Vernie Wilder. Mr. Adler moved the nominations be closed. The motion was seconded and passed. Ms. Hampton moved the slate be accepted by acclamation. The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

Mr. Woodside explained that the Senators would now elect five members to the Committee on Committees. These nominees did not have to be Senators. The following people were nominated from the floor: Edward Reep, Carl Adler, Judy Donnalley, Artemis Kares, Nancy Mayberry, Phillip Adler. Mr. Loren Campion and Mr. Grossnickle acted as tellers. Reep, C. Adler, Kares, Mayberry, and P. Adler were elected.

Mr. Ferrell, Chairman of the Committee on Committees presented the nominees to the Academic Committees and explained how the Committee on Committees made their selections. Mr. Yarbrough moved the acceptance of all nominees by acclamation. The motion was seconded but ruled out of order by the Chairman because he had not asked for nominations from the floor. Mary Lois Staton was nominated from the floor to be on the Teacher Education Committee. Mr. Adler moved that all nominees except for the Teacher Education Committee be accepted. Mr. Benjamin seconded. The motion passed.

A secret ballot was held to elect the members to the Teacher Education Committee from the nominees, Mary Lois Staton and Myra Cain. Ms. Cain was elected. See attachment for names of committee members elected.

Mr. Woodside noted that the Senate had acted in April to allow the Committee on Committees to nominate all members of all Academic Committees. However, this action has temporarily been vetoed by Dr. Jenkins. He has indicated he plans to discuss the matter with our Trustees and to further research the matter by noting what is done at other institutions.

Mr. T. Williams asked about the possibility that nominees have brief resumes written about them in the future to help those who do not know them to be better able to select. The meeting adjourned at 3:50 P.M. Respectfully submitted,

Stella Daugherty, Secretary

May 15, 1974 PROFESSOR WOODSIDE HAS APPOINTED PROFESSOR WILLIAM BGROSSNICKLE, PARLIAMENTARIAN The organizational meeting of the Faculty Senate for 1976-75 was held on prices is alteriors of OF THE FACULTY SENATE - 1974-1975.

absent; Acheson, Hichole, Lords, Hoelier, Hoelier, Hans, Halby, Hartinez. NAMES OF ACADEMIC COMMITTEE MEMBERS ELECTED

y was clected.

medition to order and the socretary called the roll. I he follow members wastern

ing Harbrough presented the nominees for Secretery. They were: Jo Ann Bell and

sliett deliet with the dereil and Mr. Greenfele as tellers. Ms. Stella

int. Hoodside emplained that the Senettors would now elect the senie to the

Academic Committees and explained how the Committees on Committees and explain selec-

and the last recorded but the backers by the better by the backers being being

on the Teacher Education Committee, in Adle: moved that and add to the

notices all academic Committees, to members all Academic Committees, to members all Academic Committees,

the matter villing our vicing and to formeen the temperature and the temperature and

the little and all the rest that the mestilities and the sear head system of the little of the littl

of side fine fine fine the best wine do not lines to be best all all sides to

select. Inc meeting adjourned at 3:50 L. L. Descettly spintted.

menol solient for was held to elect the members to the last serves and less

vent the cominer to the committee the committee of the co

Floyd Mattheis, Sci. Educ. Peggy Wood, Allied Health Alternate Patricia Hurley, Home Economics

CALENDAR COMMITTEE

James A. McGee, Div. of Cont. Education and Edward Meep. Carl Adler was nominated

CONTINUING EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Richard E. Shine, Allied Health

Robert Morrison, Chemistry

CURRICULUM COMMITTEE

Vernon Ward, English

Loren Campion, History

FACULTY WELFARE COMMITTEE don seeple were nominated from the floor: Idward heep, Ceri adler, Judy Bonnaliev,

Robert Brown, Education Phyllis G. Nichols, Nursing

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

STUDENT RECRUITMENT COMMITTEE

R. J. Henderson, Aerospace

STUDENT SCHOLARSHIP, FELLOWSHIP, AND FINANCIAL AID COMMITTEE

Stella Laugherry. Secretary

James McDaniel, Biology Thomas Herndon, History

TEACHER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Myra Cain, English

ADMISSIONS COMMITTEE CAREER EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Jeannie H. Yount, Nursing Youn H. Kim, Sociology Beatrice Chauncey, Music INSTRUCTIONAL SURVEY COMMITTEE

The Moodeside resumed as Chairman. Mit. Y John Atkeson, History Jack Thornton, Business Erma Glover, English Y. J. Lao, Environmental Health

CREDIT COMMITTEE FACULTY GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE

Robert Woodside, Mathematics Fred Hamblen, Business

GENERAL COLLEGE COMMITTEE

E. P. Ryan, Biology Edward P. Leahy, Geography FACULTY AFFAIRS COMMITTEE Terence E. McEnally, Physics

.vissed unanimously.

.bessag.

done at other tratituations.