FACULTY SENATE MINUTES OF MAY 19, 1971

The organizational meeting of the Faculty Senate for 1971-72 met on Wednesday, May 19, 1971 at 3:00 p.m. in Room 103, Biology Building. Mrs. Rosenfeld called the meeting to order and the secretary called the roll. The following members were absent: Fabisch, Ball, McGrath, Lunney, Parham, Steer, Eagan, Hudson, Reilly, Stillwell, Bishop, Resnik, Douglas, Erber, Deboard, Hursey, Hampton.

Robert Woodside, Secretary of the Faculty Senate read the Nominating Committee's list of the nominees for the Chairman for the 1971-72 year. They were as follows:

James McDaniel Herman Phelps G. Waldron Snyder

The Chairman asked if there were any nominees from the floor, there were none. The vote was taken by secret ballot. Mr. Adler, Mr. Hayek, and Mrs. Daugherty were appointed as tellers. Mr. James McDaniel was elected.

Robert Woodside read the list of nominees for vice-chairman, they were as follows:

Carl Adler, Bill Grossnickle, Fred Ragan, Barry Shank

The Chairman appointed Hayek, Daugherty, Donnalley as tellers. The vote was taken by secret ballot and there was not a clear majority, so the vote was taken again. This time there still was not a clear majority, however, Mr. Adler, and Mr. Shank withdrew and the vote was taken on Mr. Grossnickle and Mr. Ragan. Mr. Ragan was elected.

Mr. Woodside read the list of nominees for secretary, they were as follows:

Stella Daugherty Ted Ellis

Vote was taken by secret ballot and Stella Daugherty was elected.

Mr. Woodside then read the list of nominees for Parliamentarian, they were as follows:

Henry Ferrell Tinsley Yarbrough

The vote was taken by secret ballot and Tinsley Yarbrough was elected.

Mr. McDaniel explained that the senators were to elect five senators to the Agenda Committee for next year. The following people were nominated from the floor: Carl Adler, Barry Shank, Tinsley Yarbrough, Vila Rosenfeld, Robert Woodside. Mr. Snyder made the motion that these five be accepted by acclamation. The motion was seconded by Ragan and passed.

- 2 -Mr. McDaniel explained that the senate would now elect five members to the Committee on Committees. The floor was then opened for nominations. The following people were nominated from the floor: Joe Davis, Bryon Coulter, Henry Ferrell, Ted Ellis, Herman Phelps, Mr. Kim made the motion that these five be accepted by acclamation. The motion was seconded by Mr. Marshall and passed. Mr. Ferrell, noted that Miss Lowry who was the out going Chairman would be on the Committee due to action taken by the Senate at an earlier meeting in the year. Miss Jean Lowry presented the Academic Committee Nomination report from the Committee on Committees (See attached). Mr. Phelps moved acceptance of this report by acclamation. Mr. Ragan seconded and the motion passed. Mr. McDaniel adjourned the organizational meeting. Respectfully submitted, Robert M. Woodside