FACULTY SENATE

Minutes of May 21, 1969

The organizational meeting of the Faculty Senate for 1969-1970 met on Wednesday, May 21, 1969, at 4:00 p.m. in Room 132, New Austin. Mr. Price called the meeting to order and the secretary called the roll. The following members were absent: Vincent Bellis, William Hart, Gordon Smith, James Stewart, Garlan Bailey, Albert Pertalion, James Rees, Norman Rosenfeld, Philip Shea, Francis Douglas, Leon Johnson, Larry Kendrick, Robert Leith, Fitzhugh Dade, Robert M. Woodside, Sylvene Spickerman, Quintin Todd, and Marguerite Perry.

Mr. Frank Saunders, chairman of the Nominating Committee for the officers for the 1969-1970 senate presented the report from the Nominating Committee.

Chairman - Charles Price Vice-Chairman - Herbert Carlton Secretary - Audrey Dempsey Parliamentarian - William Grossnickle

Mr. Price declined the nomination and opened the floor for nominations for chairman of the Faculty Senate. The following people were nominated from the floor:

Erwin Hester, John Davis and William Grossnickle

The motion was made that the nominations cease. This motion was seconded and ballots were passed out among the senators.

The Senate elected Mr. John Davis chairman of the Faculty Senate. Mr. Price retired and Mr. Davis took over the chair. Mr. Herbert Carlton, the nominee for vice-chairman, declined the nomination saying he was filling in a term for another member of his department. Mr. Davis then opened the floor for nominations for vice-chairman and the following people were nominated:

Mr. Garlan Bailey, Mr. Carl Adler, and Mr. Vincent Bellis

A motion was made that the nominations cease. This was seconded and passed.

It was discovered that a majority vote was needed on the election of the officers; therefore, the chairman called for another secret ballot on the election of the chairman and the vice-chairman of the senate. When the vote was taken, Mr. John Davis was elected chairman and Mr. Garlan Bailey was elected vice-chairman.

Mrs. Audrey Dempsey, nominee for the office of secretary declined the nomination. The floor was opened for nominations for secretary. Emily S. Boyce was nominated from the floor and declined the nomination. Mr. William Durham was nominated and the senate elected Mr. Durham secretary of the Faculty Senate. Mr. William Grossnickle was nominated and elected parliamentarian of the senate.

Mr. Davis then explained that the senators were to elect five senators to the Agenda Committee for next year. The following people were nominated

from the floor:

William Grossnickle, Emily S. Boyce, Vincent Bellis, Henry Ferrell, Grover Everette and Beatrice Chauncey

The senators voted by a show of hands for five of these people. The elected members of the Agenda Committee are as follows:

William Grossnickle, Emily S. Boyce, Henry Ferrell, Grover Everette, and Beatrice Chauncey

Mr. Davis instructed the senate that they would now elect five members of the Committee on Committees. Mr. Davis then opened the floor for nominations for the Committee on Committees. The following people were nominated from the floor:

Erwin Hester, Fred Ragan, Frank Saunders, Charles Brown, William Holley

A motion was made that the nominations close. This was seconded and passed. The motion was made that the senate accept these nominees by acclamation. This motion was seconded and passed.

Mr. Fred Ragan then presented the report from the Committee on Committees (see attached). Mr. Crawley moved acceptance of this report by acclamation. This motion was seconded and passed.

Mr. Davis adjourned the organizational meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Emily S. Boyce, For William Durham, Secretary

Nomination Report

DATE: May 21, 1969

TO: Faculty Senate

FROM: Committee On Committees

J. B. Davis, Chairman
Fred D. Ragan, Secretary
Charles Q. Brown
Herbert R. Carlton
Wellington B. Gray

Charles L. Price, Ex-officio

SUBJECT: Nominations For Academic Committees

Committee	Number of Vacancies	Nominations
Admissions	2	Alice Marjorie Harrison, School of Business Virginia G. McGrath, Dept. of Mathematics
Calendar	2	Warren B. Bezanson, Department of English Floyd M. Read, Department of Physics (1 year appointment - replaces Betty E. Petteway)
Continuing Education	1	William B. Martin, School of Education
Credits	2	Thomas C. Sayetta, Department of Physics Kenneth J. Davis, Department of Mathematics
Curriculum	3	William F. Grossnickle, Dept. of Psychology Thomas H. Carpenter, School of Music Albert R. Conley, School of Business
Faculty Affairs	1	Beatrice A. Chauncey, School of Music
Library	2	Philip J. Adler, Department of History Charles Q. Brown, Department of Geology
Student Guidance	2	Frank G. Fuller, School of Education John R. Ball, Dept. of Social Welfare
Student Recruitment	1	D. D. Gross, Department of Philosophy
Teacher Education	2	Katye O. Sowell, Department of Mathematics Mary Jo Bratton, Department of History