P WA768 Govt. NL Pd—The White House, Washington, D. C. 7 Charles H. Markey, General Chairman
Morehead City Centennial Jubilee, P. O. Box 472
Morehead City N. C.
To the citizens of Morehead City joined in the celebration of their 100th Anniversary, I send greetings. During the past 100 years there have been many outward changes in your community, but the basic strength of Morehead City remains the same. This is the neighborly and enterprising spirit of your people. Congratulations and best wishes.
DWIGHT D. EISENHOWER
Morehead City Centennial Jubilee Book
for the 100th Anniversary
of the founding of the
Town of Morehead City
AUGUST 4th - 10th, 1957
Since 1857 when the Town of Morehead City was founded, many people have greatly contributed to its growth and to the social, religious and economic welfare of this community. In surveying the history of the town, many names, familiar to all of us, appear on numerous documents, minute books, deeds and ordinances, thereby giving visible proof of their part in moulding the destiny and economy of our town. Still, many others, whose names never appeared publicly, have played their part in the town's 100 year history.
To all of these people, both living and dead, this Souvenir Book is dedicated. It is hoped that by recognizing the people who in the past have given of their time, talent and foresight to make Morehead City a better place to live, the youth of this community will be inspired to assume their place as responsible citizens, and ever strive to carry out the ideals of their forefathers in the future development of a place that has been “A Little Bit of Heaven Since 1857.”FOREWARD
The existing records of the Town of Morehead City do not disclose any previous celebration of the founding of our town. Nor do any of the older citizens recall any such celebration, or any publication giving the history of the town. Therefore, it is our purpose on the following pages to give its complete and clear, yet concise history, including the founding, incorporation, growth and activities.
The pictures and drawings shown on the following pages illustrate the growth and development of a typical coastal town. From a dead-end road with a house or two, Morehead City has grown into one of North Carolina's deep sea ports, and one of its finest resorts, with a population of over 7,000.
This is recognized as THE vacation spot on North Carolina's coast. Although there are several industries represented here, the industrial and labor potentials in this community have hardly been tapped. Therefore, it is believed that the future growth of Morehead City is definitely assured. As shown on succeeding pages, the town has many institutions and services to promote our moral and cultural growth during the time that we are making material progress.
The Centennial Committee for the publication of this Souvenir Book wishes to express its most sincere appreciation for the splendid cooperation of all the people who have been asked for assistance. Especially do we wish to thank each person who has written an article or articles for the book, for without their assistance, it would have been impossible to give complete information on all the activities listed herein.
Ben R. Alford
The Willis Building built in 1904 is in the 900 block of Arendell Street. The people
in the photo are, left to right: Mr. Elmer Nichols, Mr. R. T.
Willis, holding R. T. Willis, Jr., Mr. Rufus Cherry, Mrs. Giddens and Mrs. Damon.
Aerial view of Atlantic Hotel, showing piers, and
other buildings connected therewith. Note the large
wooden structure, which covered an area equal to a
Snow scene in Morehead City—seldom seen these
days. This is at the corner of 9th and Fisher Streets
Historical sketches compiled from the Scrapbook of F. C. Salisbury
One hundred years ago on November 11, 1857, an auctioneer mounted a block and asked for bids on the first lot in the new town laid off by The Shepard Point Land Company, to be known as Morehead City.
History does not fully inform one of the part that many of the early settlers of Eastern Carolina played in the settlement of this section, particularly of Carteret County. The Southward trek of the people of the Albemarle, as well as those from sections of Virginia in the latter part of the 18th century, brought men of wealth and vision to take advantage of the productive soil, the acres of woodland, the advantages of water shipping facilities and the products of the sounds and ocean.
Among those early settlers were many whose names, carried by their descendants, have come down through the years, to become prominent in later-day activities of the affairs of the county, both in commercial and political life.
While the name of Fisher is one of the least heard of in this county, yet one, William Fisher, is credited with being one of the largest plantation and land owners in the county. One reason that might be given for the absence of the family name in this section is the fact that there was only one son of the family, who died in early life. Daughters of the family carry the names of Arendell, Bell and Jones.
There are no records showing where William Fisher was born or when he came into this section. The stone marking his grave in the old cemetery at Beaufort states that he was born in 1741, died September 3, 1822 at the age of 81 years.
Records of early land transactions by Mr. Fisher would indicate that he first purchased several hundred acres in about what is known today as Mansfield. This acreage was purchased from a man named Leecraft and lay between Newport River and Bogue Sound at Bell's Chapel. This chapel was near an old cemetery, a short distance from the front of the old Villa Hotel or the present Morehead Biltmore Hotel. To this plantation was given the name “Whitehall”.
Other purchases of land were on Reed's Neck from Cabel Longest, 680 acres from Joseph Cully, land along Core Creek, swamp land at the head of Newport River, banks land and property in Beaufort. In 1807 Mr. Fisher purchased from William Shepard most of the land extending from Mansfield to Shepard's Point, of which today, 600 acres is the original site of Morehead City.
Best known of the descendants from the children of Mr. Fisher are those from the daughter, Sarah Fisher Arendell, the wife of Rev. Bridges Arendell. She was first married to John Jones, having three children by that marriage, David S., John and Charity. The Rev. Mr. Arendell, while serving the Methodist Church in Beaufort in 1806, married Rachel Chadwick of that town. His first wife lived but a short time. He then married Mrs. Jones who had become a widow. To this union was born eight children: Michael, William, Thomas, Bridges, Jr., Sarah, Matilda, Polly and Carolina.EARLY LAND GRANT
Turning back the pages of history some 200 years we find that the section of Carteret County embracing the present site of Morehead City, as well as several thousand more acres, was given by a grant from Lord George Carteret to a man by the name of Simpson. He in turn sold a large tract to one, Absolom Shepard, and to distinguish it from other
holdings of Shepard, the eastern end of the grant was given the name of Shepard's Point. Even after the passing of nearly two centuries this section is often referred to by that name.
Following the death of Shepard his heirs sold the property to William Fisher. At the turn of the 19th century, Rev. Bridges Arendell established his home on the extreme end of the point. For years the old house stood as a landmark until torn down a few years ago. Before the death of Mr. Fisher he deeded to his Arendell grandsons several hundred acres of the Shepard Point property and it was from these owners that Gov. John Motley Morehead purchased the 600 acres comprising the original plot of the Shepard Point Land Company.
Recognized as the first family to settle at Shepard's Point, Rev. Mr. Arendell and his family of four sons and four daughters, played an important part in the social and business life of the new community. The sons entered into the commercial and professional activities of the city. For many years Dr. M. F. Arendell was the leading physician of the town and surrounding county. Among his civic duties was that of Mayor of Morehead City for one term.
With the prospects of the building of the Atlantic and North Carolina Railroad in 1852, running from Goldsboro to Shepard's Point, rival interests, all bent upon land speculation, began to spring up at various locations about the harbor.
At that time it was claimed that the harbors along the North Carolina coast were equal to those found on the coast of any other Atlantic state. New York Harbor itself was not even exempted, for the surroundings of Morehead City were in those days described as having many of the attributes that characterized the harbor of the great metropolis and it was contended that one day it would develop into a second New York.
As early as 1852 Mr. Morehead directed his attention to the advantages of the harbor in this section. His investigations resulted in the purchase of 600 acres of land owned by the members of the Arendell family. He purchased the first 300 acres for the sum of $933.33, paying the sum of $1,200.00 for the other 300 acres. The purchase of the 600 acres comprise the present site of Morehead City from 24th Street to Newport River.
Following the purchase of this property, Mr. Morehead organized the Shepard Point Land Company, acting as its first president. He seems to have taken no active steps to develop his holdings into a city until the railroad was actually under construction in 1855.
In August 1857, Mr. Morehead began advertising that lots would be sold on November 11th in the new city laid off by the Shepard Point Land Company at the terminus of the Atlantic and North Carolina Railroad. He stated that the railroad would pass through the entire length of the city to its wharf at 18 feet of water.
The law granting the incorporation of the Shepard Point Land Company states in part: “Be it enacted by the General Assembly . . . . that William H. Arendell and John M. Morehead and such other persons as they may associate with, be incorporated by the name and style of the Shepard Point Land Company with a capital not to exceed $500,000.00 That said corporation shall have power and authority to improve their land and property by filling and raising same above high water, to build wharfs, dredge out navigable channels, build hotels, houses, and make such improvements in said property as they deem proper, and the same to occupy, use and employ, for the benefit of said corporation, to lease, rent, sell, or in any manner dispose of as they deem best for the interests of the corporation.”
Only about one-half of the 600 acres of the Arendell property was surveyed and laid off into streets and building lots in readiness for the first auction sale. This section extended from 15th street to the terminus of the Atlantic and North Carolina Railroad at Newport River. It was not until after the close of the Civil War that the balance of the town site from 15th to 24th streets was gradually improved.
In the act of incorporation, mention is made to include this first improved section in the town site. Section 6 of the law reads: “Be
it further enacted that the corporate limits of the said city shall embrace the entire plan of the city of Morehead City as published by the ‘Shepard Point Land Company’, and from the terminus of the Atlantic and North Carolina Railroad Company to 15th street. Ratified the 20th day of February, 1861.” The act set tax rate of not more than $1.50 on the poll or 50 cents on the hundred dollars valuation annually.RAILROAD COMES TO MOREHEAD CITY
One hundred years have passed since the last spike was driven in the rails of the Atlantic and North Carolina Railroad which connected Goldsboro with the terminal at Shepard's Point.
It was a memorable day in Carteret County, the completion and opening of this railroad and the coming of the first passenger train, June 7, 1858. Hurrahs were shouted by persons along the line. Bells rang and whistles blew as the wood-burning engine with its passenger car chugged through the towns, leaving a trail of smoke and sparks.
The engine that pulled the train was the “John Baxter,” received the year before from New York on the schooner “Ione” and unloaded on the new pier at Shepard's Point. This engine was first put into operation on the run from New Bern to Morehead City. Four months later over this road came a group of sightseers, land speculators and others interested in home and business sites being offered by the Shepard Point Land Company in the newly platted town of Morehead City, chartered by the legislature, February 1857. There was little to greet these visitors as they alighted from the train. A few wooden shacks which had housed the road building gang stood along the road. In the distance at the Point stood the Arendell house, which having been built in 1834, was to stand as a landmark for over a century. A sandy road ran along each side of the tracks, serving as a main street for the new town.
In a group along with the auctioneer of the day, making up a sort of reception committee, was that statesman, politician, railroad builder and ex-governor of the State, John Motley Morehead, whose forethought and judgment had secured the land and formed the company that opened up the new development which still bears his name. With him was P. L. Evans, a director of the company.
Among this group stands Silas Webb who was Mr. Morehead's right-hand man, having accompanied him at the time he inspected and later bought Shepard's Point. Mr. Webb was from Webbtown near Goldsboro. With the opening of the new town, he moved his family to Morehead City where he spent the remainder of his life. From his large family came the Webb descendents of the present day.
Mr. Webb built the first brick house in the town, a small one-story structure which stood between the Paragon Building and the former Bank of Morehead City. Serving first as a home and school, it later was used as the local post office, a laundry, and a doctor's office.
Mixing with the crowd as the time of the auction draws near are the three Arendell brothers, Bridges, Jr., Thomas and William H., who had inherited the Point property from their grandfather William Fisher.
Word being received that a group of citizens from Beaufort were at the new pier at the end of the line, the passenger train was sent down to meet them. Many persons took the opportunity to visit the pier, built in conjunction with the railroad. It rested on steel screw pilings.
Our first Port facility
In the center was a large warehouse. Along each side of the building were tracks leading to the main line. This permitted either loading or unloading direct from train or warehouse.
Map of present day Morehead City.
It was from this pier that rails for the new road were unloaded from the schooners which brought them from England. From this point the start was made, laying the rails westward to join those being laid eastward from New Bern. To aid in the construction work before the arrival of the steel rails, crude rails of wood and strap iron were first laid.HEADING THE GROUP OF CITIZENS
From Beaufort was another member of the Arendell family, the oldest son, Dr. Michael F. Arendell, age 39. Since finishing his college and medical training, he located his practice in Beaufort, becoming a recognized physician of the county.
Dr. Arendell later moved his family and practice to Morehead City, making his home in the old Arendell House on the Point. In 1883 he was elected mayor of the town, serving one term. Young boys of those days, brought before him for some minor offense, were sentenced to plant cedar trees out at the cemetery or to drive down nails which had worked up in the wide board walk running from the station at 9th street to the Atlantic Hotel.
Until his death in 1884, Dr. Arendell took a most active part in the civic and political affairs of the town.
Going back to the center of the town, this party finds the auctioneer extolling the many future advantages of the new town. A large map shows the site as laid out in squares of 16 lots to a square, with alleys bisecting each square in the form of an “H”, said to be the Philadelphia plan for laying out a town. Lots had been staked out along rough roads cut through underbrush, sand spars and water oaks.
Bidding was brisk, especially on such lots as were near the center of town. By night time over 100 lots had gone under the auctioneer's hammer to new owners. In a crude office building several clerks were kept busy making out the deeds which were signed by Mr. Morehead as president of the land company.
Among the early purchasers whose deeds bore the date of the auction sale were Phillip Lepper, John Nichols, John Weeks, D. T. Taylor, D. S. Jones, John Henry, M. J. Hampton, J. A. Gray, Pryor Reynolds, Thomas Reynolds, Thomas W. Fields, George P. Winston, Levy C. Howland, Elijah M. Dudley, Edward H. Norcomb, George Reynolds, W. N. Dennis, Seymour Wagstaff, Charles Manley, Isaac Ramsey, Thomas Duncan, Durant H. L. Bell and Henry Riegger.
Mr. Morehead and the four Arendell brothers were buyers of several lots. Although the name of Hinson does not appear as a purchaser of any lot, yet he is said to have been the first party to erect a building in the new town.
Within the next two years building activities were in full swing, shipments over the new road began to arrive from upstate for reshipment by boats to other ports. At one time nearly one hundred craft were in the harbor, either unloading or awaiting shipments.
At the corner of 9th and Arendell streets, a three story hotel, the Macon House, was built. Wide verandas carried around on two sides of the building above the second story. It was built just in time to serve the needs of the Federal Officers, coming in 1862, who made the hotel their headquarters during their three year stay.
The Macon House which stood at the corner
of 9th and Arendell Streets, later known as Hotel
Here General Grant was lodged when he came to consult with officers preceding the battle of Fort Fisher. General Sherman was a visitor at the Macon House on his way North by boat after his clean-up campaign “from Atlanta to the sea.” To meet the living needs of the new settlers, wooden buildings were built on the south side of Arendell Street between 8th and 9th streets, establishing the first business section of the new town. Two brick buildings graced the main street, that of Silas Webb, and a two story structure at the corner of 8th street, in later years the site of the Charles S. Wallace home. Scattered among the water oaks and elms, a score or more of small homes were constructed. Under date of February 28, 1859, a post office was established with William K. Kirksey being named the postmaster.
Attention was given to the religious and educational needs of the people. During the lifetime of the Rev. Mr. Arendell, he conducted church services as well as maintaining a small school building on his plantation, located a short distance from his home. The building served as a place of religious meetings as well as for school purposes, until the coming of the Federal troops, who took over the building for a bakery during their stay. It was either burned or torn down when the troops left. Fifty years later the government paid the Methodist Church Society the sum of $800.00 for the destroyed building.SEMINARY STARTED
By 1860 a seminary was started. For this purpose a two story building was erected on Arendell Street. The principal was Levy Branson, editor of Branson's Almanac. In the large classroom a curtain was drawn down the center to separate the boys from the girls.
Just before the outbreak of the Civil War the state was preparing to erect a building for a Female Seminary. The land had been cleared and material ordered but the plan was abandoned after the close of the War. During the war years, the school building was used as a hospital.
For a short time during the war days there was no school at all except two small ones. One was held in the old Arendell home conducted by Mrs. William Jones, said to have been the wife of a Federal Doctor. The other school was conducted by the Rev. Jacob Utley in the small Silas Webb house. It was not until after the close of the war that the town officials took any measure to establish and maintain a public school.
Such religious services as were held from 1862 to 1865 and for the next few years were held in the larger homes of the town. Later the public school building served as a place of worship until the Methodists and Baptists built churches on property given by the Shepard Point Land Company.
Two months before General Beauregard told one of his artillery men to start the bombardment of Fort Sumter, Morehead City had
grown enough to be duly incorporated, with the appointment of a mayor and a board of Commissioners. A year later the town was under military rule. With the retirement of the Army, home rule was again administered.SALT MADE FROM THE SEA
Civil War days brought about the scarcity of salt, especially along the seaboard, and the State had to resort to the making of salt from sea water. Carteret County was selected for the first salt-works site at the Point in Morehead City.
In December 1861, John Milton Worth was appointed State Salt Commissioner in charge of salt-making operations from sea water. The plant at Morehead City was in the charge of Captain George W. Dill. It was well under operation when the Federal forces entered the city in April, 1862, taking over the works, later destroying the plant.
Salt Works established at Shepard's Point
Housed under a long shed, this plant consisted of furnaces with a door at one end and a chimney at the other. Two rows of heavy iron kettles, shaped like shallow bowls were built into the top of each furnace. Large wooden pipes conveyed the brine or sea water from the settling tanks to the kettles, where the water was evaporated by boiling while the salt crystals were precipitated.
At regular intervals an attendant would go around and with a ladle dip out the salt, chucking it into loosely woven baskets, which were placed in pairs on sticks over the boilers. Here it drained and dried until the dipper had gone around with the ladle.
After about a week of boiling, the kettles were cleaned of a sedimentary deposit which impeded the transmission of heat. Furnaces were fired with wood. The supply pipe, running over the furnaces from which smaller pipes led to each kettle, was connected with large wooden storage tanks, filled by power from a windmill or steam engine.ATLANTIC HOTEL
Only the oldsters remember the fabulous days of the famed Atlantic Hotel at Morehead City. Built in 1880, it was a mecca for all who sought the refreshing southwest summer winds on the Carteret coast. It was aptly named “The Summer Capital By The Sea”. Located on the approximate site of the present Jefferson Hotel, its rambling frame walls, typical of America's spas of the late 19th century, enclosed 233 rooms.
Publicized and promoted by the owners, the Atlantic and North Carolina Railroad, the Atlantic Hotel was recognized as the place for discerning North Carolinians to spend the summer.
State officials from the Governor down, as well as many prominent citizens of the State, were steady patrons of this famous resort hotel for many years.
Along with other attractions offered the guests of the hotel was that of surf bathing on the Bogue Banks ocean beach. Sail boats operated by the hotel, as well as boats for hire, carried the bathers to the north side of the Banks from where they plodded through the sand to the ocean side.
Beach scene during the days of the Atlantic Hotel
The Famous Atlantic Hotel
An electric light plant was installed with a capacity of over two thousand lights. The immense Ball Room and Dining Rooms were brilliantly lighted as well as the public halls, private houses, piers, promenades, and outer grounds. New bath houses for ladies and gentlemen were erected and contained well-arranged dressing rooms, with fresh and salt water baths.
These were connected by long piers, sixteen feet wide, extending far out into the sound. Commodious pavilions were provided and arranged for the guests. New writing, reading, and smoking rooms were fitted up in the coziest fashion.
A new steam laundry was installed at the hotel. Telegraph and long distance telephone offices were conveniently located in the main building.
One writer, commenting on the pleasures to be had at this fabulous hotel writes: “For those who do not care to seek the ocean, the sound plays around the very pillars upon which rests the hotel, and they have only to step from their hotel rooms into the almost tepid waters. And at no place upon our entire seaboard is the sailing to be compared to that at Morehead City. To elderly persons and those inclined to be timid of the water, the Sound with its almost lake-like surface, and especially at night, when the moon glides its bosom with the simmer and sheen of its mellow light, affords opportunities for quiet pleasures and enjoyment found at but few of the watering places of this country”.
Dancing in the magnificent ballroom was one of the most popular diversions. The ballroom was said to be the largest and best appointed in the south. The best orchestras of the day were employed for the full summer season. There were regular morning and evening germans as well as fancy dress balls.
Lawn tennis, golf, bowling, billiards, and numerous card parties were among the various forms of entertainment arranged for the ladies.
The Atlantic Hotel played a most prominent part in the development of Morehead City as a resort.
Fire dramatically rang down the curtain on the old hotel in 1933. But Morehead City still proudly claims the title, “Summer Capital by the Sea.”OUTSTANDING CIVIC LEADER
Numbered among the citizens of Morehead City of days past, whose interest in the growth and welfare of the city has come down through the years, is William L. Arendell, business man, churchman, postmaster, mayor and civic leader.
The only son of that venerable county doctor, Michael F. Arendell, he was born in Beaufort January 22, 1848. There he passed his early boyhood days, coming to Morehead City with his parents just before the outbreak of the Civil War.
Mr. Arendell received his early school training from the meager school system of those days. Receiving advance training at the Bingham Academy, he was able to prepare himself to pass the requirements to be accepted as a cadet at the West Point Academy, entering that training in 1865.
After three years at the Academy he was obliged to abandon this training on account of physical disability. He received an honorable discharge in 1868. During his period of cadetship, there were only two boys from the South in the Class of ’70 and both were from North Carolina, the other boy being H. P. Kingsbury from Oxford.
The year following his discharge from the Academy, Mr. Arendell was united in marriage to Miss Sarah C. Davis of Beaufort, bringing his bride to Morehead City where they resided until his death on September 2, 1918.
Mr. Arendell's service to his county, town and church, from his coming to Morehead and entering into the political and civic activities of the town and county covered a wide scope of achievements.
Early in his political career he served on the Board of County Commissioners for a period of 16 years, being chairman of the board for several terms. Elected from the 7th Senatorial District to the State Legislature in 1904-1905, he served with distinguished ability on many important committees and was chairman of the committee on State Hospitals. Like his father, who served as mayor of Morehead City for the term of 1883-85, Mr. Arendell was elected as mayor at the 1911 town election. Coming into office at this election as town commissioners were D. M. Webb, G. D. Canfield, A. F. Lewis, D. G. Bell and G. L. Arthur. Serving as secretary-treasurer was R. N. Aycock and W. C. Piner was serving as head of the police force.
During the administration of these town officials, Morehead City underwent quite a program of civic improvements. Population had increased from 1,379 in 1900 to 2,039 by 1910. This increase brought demands for more homes and the further development of the town westward. Below are listed some of the town's improvements during the time Mr. Arendell was mayor.
Street scene about 30 years ago
It was ordered that all streets within the corporate limits be opened up after such crops that overlapped any street, were harvested.
Land for the east side cemetery was purchased, also a site for the erection of the standpipe for the new water system. This board had on its hands a fight with property owners in running the new seawall and the opening up of the short street from 7th to 8th
street, called Jib Street. When the water system was installed, Cleveland Smith was named superintendent in charge.
The sum of $750.00 was spent for a new hose wagon; and a horse, taken on trial, cost $300.00. C. N. Hobbs was employed as driver. A fire alarm system was being considered.
Appointed to serve on the school board were W. E. Headen, J. B. Morton, six years, L. L. Leary, G. L. Arthur, four years, C. S. Wallace, John F. Bell, two years. Amusements about the town must have reached a low level for citizens came before the board with complaints about indecent shows and movies.
Dr. K. P. B. Bonner resigned as health officer and Dr. Ben F. Royal was appointed to fill the vacancy.
The street superintendent was instructed to locate all the old wells and cisterns that had served in fire fighting and fill them up. Years later when some of the old cisterns were opened up they were found to contain a great accumulation from garrets and storerooms. The top of the new water tank was graced with a five-hundred candle power light, a beacon for fishermen returning to port at night-fall.
On December 12, 1912, Mayor Arendell represented the town at the unveiling of a monument to Gov. John M. Morehead, in Raleigh. Cleaning up the town of old tin cans cost the town $7.00. All school children were ordered to be vaccinated as well as all the older persons. The election of May 1913 brought W. M. Webb into office as mayor who served only until June of that year. E. H. Gorham was appointed to fill out Mr. Webb's term.
As a merchant of the town, Mr. Arendell conducted a general store located about opposite the present power house. He was also engaged in the seafood business for several years. Having joined the Methodist Church in his youth he was ever active in church work, serving as steward and Sunday School superintendent.
Following the long term of office of Alvin S. Willis as postmaster, 1906 -14, Mr. Arendell was appointed to that office April 6, 1914, holding the office up to the time of his death. He had as his able assistant Miss Eva Hardesty, who later became Mrs. Charles Tolson. The postoffice was located in the one-story building which in later years was torn down to make way for the Wade's Theatre. The adjoining store was occupied by S. A. Chalk, druggist. A picture of Mr. Arendell shows him with a cigar in his hand. Like Winston Churchill a cigar was his constant companion during his working hours.
Having no children of their own, Mr. and Mrs. Arendell took a great interest in fostering many less fortunate in life, aiding in their education and Christian life. He left a record of life lived to the fullest, in his devotion to his fellowmen and service to his community, which can be attested to by scores of his friends living today.PHYSICAL GROWTH OF TOWN
Delving through the records of the early administration of Morehead City, one obtains a most interesting insight of the physical growth that has brought the town to its present stage of development.
At the turn of the present century the town, represented by its governing officials, awakened to its possibilities and civic needs. Its 1,500 inhabitants were asking for municipal improvements with better school advantages.
At the session of the 1905 State Legislature a bill was introduced and passed, changing the charter of the city, allowing the municipality to vote bonds for civic improvements and a graded school. This year was the starting of civic improvements which have continued to this day.
First came the building and equipping of the electric light plant. Prior to this time, a limited electric service had been furnished from the Atlantic Hotel plant. Aid was given to the establishing of the camp at Camp Glenn for the annual encampment of the State National Guard. New streets were opened up this year with the extension of shell roads. The old city hall was moved from its location
in the center of 9th street to its present site. Arrangements were made with the railroad company for removal of the old station in front of the Charles Hotel and to erect a new station at 7th street.
An effort was made in 1906 to establish a graded school system by vote of the citizens. The election went against the proposition. At an election held two years later the majority were in favor of the school project by a vote of 222 for and 25 against. This year the city purchased its first power driven fire engine consisting of a gas engine and pump on a horse-drawn wagon. This outfit replaced an ancient hand pumper that was the first fire fighting outfit. W. M. Webb was appointed to organize a fire department, both white and colored, being named chief of the two departments.
By 1907 the town was expanding to the extent that the wire fence strung across the town at 14th street from the Sound to Calico Creek, to keep the cattle from running the streets of the city, was moved to 22nd street, from Michael Willis’ to the Sound.
In November 1909 Charles S. Wallace who had been serving as mayor of the city for ten years, tendered his resignation and W. M. Webb was appointed to fill out the term. The office of Chief of the Fire Department was turned over to G. L. Arthur. A year later the death of J. J. Royal occured. He had been serving as trustee of the school board and Mr. Wallace was named in his place, a position he held for many years.WATER WORKS INSTALLED
One of the largest projects in the history of the city up to this time was the passing of the ordinance in 1909 for the construction of the water works system. A year later found the erection of the stand-pipe, the drilling of the wells, and the laying of the water mains completed. This improvement was followed by the construction of the sea wall and fill which was completed in 1911.
Installing of the water system, giving enlarged fire protection to the city, created the organizing of a second fire company. New horse-drawn equipment was purchased and a fire station erected on 13th street. Sanitary conditions required the city in 1914 to have a survey made for the installing of a sewer system, meeting the requirements of the state sanitation laws.
By this date the city was well on its way to continued improvements, establishing a record of achievements and progress over the past 50 years. Morehead City never could have reached its present stage of civic development but for the vision, foresight and effort on the part of its broad-minded citizens through the years.
During the last several years, many more improvements have been made to the civic and economic life of the city. Many streets have been paved, highway re-routed and new businesses have been started. A new, modern bridge has been constructed across Bogue Sound to the Beach. Several new housing projects have been developed. The city limits have been moved westward over one mile. A new fire station has been erected and equipped in the western section of the city on Arendell Street. Enlargement and construction facilities at the port have gone forward in long strides. Recreation facilities are improving each year. Transportation facilities are improving and much work and planning are going into that project in the immediate future.
“The constant dripping of the water wears away the stone”. The constant thought and planning through individuals and civic organizations over the years, backed by hearty support of its citizens, has worn down the ‘good enough’ attitude of some, developing a community of industry and ideal living conditions unsurpassed. The program for the future is even greater than that of the past.
Aerial view of a part of Morehead City today
Left to right: Commissioners Jasper Bell, D. J. Hall, Ted Garner, Mayor George W. Dill, Jr., Town Clerk John E. Lashley, Commissioners S. C. Kolloway and G. E. Sanderson.
Mrs. Blanda McLohon, Town Treasurer
Mrs. Mary Hughes, Assistant Clerk Recorders Court
THE LATE CHARLES S. WALLACE
Charles S. Wallace was born at Portsmouth, Carteret County, North Carolina, December 2, 1864. He moved to Morehead City with his parents in 1877 and on December 18, 1890, he was married to Miss Nina Gorden Webb of this city.
He entered the fishing industry at an early age and became actively engaged in the civic and economic growth of Morehead City. His positive leadership and financial assistance lent strength to many failing enterprises, with which he became associated. He served as Mayor of Morehead City from 1894 until 1908. In 1909 he was elected to the General Assembly of North Carolina, serving through 1914. He was chairman of the Carteret County Board of Commissioners from 1918 to 1920. He served as chairman of the local school board from 1913 until his death, and it is in his honor that the present school is named. He was elected to the Board of Trustees of Greensboro College in 1910, and served as chairman of the Board from 1917 until his death.
He was also a great leader in the church and in many civic organizations. He was a member of the First Methodist Church, of which he was Superintendent of the Sunday School for 32 years. He was a member of the Board of Stewards for 41 years and Trustee of Church Property for 30 years. He was a member of Ocean Lodge No. 405, Ancient, Free and Accepted Masons. He was a York Rite Mason and a Shriner.
Mr. Wallace led a life devoted to his community. He died on September 14, 1945 at the age of 80, but his memory will live forever in the hearts and minds of those with whom he was associated and who were influenced by his splendid example.Churches in Morehead City
As one reviews the history of Methodism in Morehead City, one finds that this church organization had its beginning long before the town came into existence, when this section was known as Shepard's Point. Local historical facts handed down from generation to generation state that a small house of worship stood on the Arendell plantation at the Point, opposite the family home. There are no early church records of any denomination to enlighten one as to when or by whom this building was constructed. Speculation is that the Reverend Bridges Arendell was responsible for its construction.
In 1797 the New Bern Circuit of the Methodist Church in North Carolina was formed. Preachers from this circuit worked throughout eastern North Carolina until regular stations were established in the larger towns, giving such churches a resident pastor. However, it was not until 1886 that the Morehead City church was created a station with a permanent pastor, although it had a working organization a few years after the establishing of the town in 1857.
Services were held in this church building on Shepard's Point until the invasion of the Federal troops during the Civil War, when it was burned. Services were then held in the large school building. In 1879, the Methodists undertook the building of a new place of worship. Through the generosity of the Shepard Point Land Company, two building lots were donated to the church for the erection of a church building thereon. Construction on the church building was begun at once, using the small amount of money which the Federal Government paid for the burning of the old church as a starting fund for this building. By the fall of 1879, the building was completed to the extent that services could be held therein. Several years later, two wings were added to this building to care for the Sunday School classes and other activities of the church.
For over 40 years this building served the membership in all of its various activities. In the early part of 1920, plans were worked out for the erection of the Sunday School or Educational Building adjoining the church. This structure was completed and dedicated in 1925.
During the period from the beginning of the church and the erection of the church building in 1879, to the time when this organization was established as a station in 1886, and a permanent pastor assigned by the Conference to the Charge, the church was supplied from time to time by several preachers assigned to the Carteret Circuit.
During the period from 1899 to 1903, during the pastorate of the Reverend Harry M. North, this church operated a Methodist School on the corner of 10th and Bridges Streets. This school was always referred to as the Harry North School. Later, upon establishment of the public school in Morehead City, the old Harry North building was moved to the site of the present high school and is still in existence on the corner of 12th and Bridges Streets, where it is occupied by the Manual Arts Department of the high school.
Soon after World War II, it became apparent that a new church building was necessary
First Methodist Church
to properly care for the ever growing congregation. Plans were made and carried out for the erection of a new sanctuary. During the pastorate of the Reverend Lester A. Tilley, the work was begun, and during the pastorate of the Reverend Leon Couch, this sanctuary was dedicated on November 2, 1952. This structure is of Modified Georgian design, involving the general lines of the Doric architectural order. It is standing at the corner of 9th and Bridges Streets, in the same location as the church constructed in 1879.
From the early days of its organization to the present time, the church has flourished under the leadership of its host of able pastors and christian workers, taking its place in the New Bern District as one of the strongest church societies. From a meager membership in 1879, the roll has grown to a membership of over 1100.
Through the years from 1879 to 1957, the church has been served by 35 pastors. The present pastor is the Reverend J. Furman Herbert.
Today this church stands as a bulwark of christian service, not only in Morehead City, but in the surrounding community, holding a fine record of achievements throughout nearly three quarters of a century.First Baptist Church
DR. JOHN H. BUNN
The first missionary Baptist Church of Morehead City was organized July 10, 1873, with the following charter members: Mrs. Eliza Webb, Mrs. Rachel Arthur, Mrs. Susan Davis, Mrs. Frances Piver, Mrs. Sara H. Willis, Mrs. Nancy Bennett, Mrs. Susan Styron, Mrs. Sara A. Wade, Mr. Asa Piver and Rev. Jacob Utley.
Rev. Utley of Wake Forest, N. C. held services for the little band of christians in the school house. In the period known as the ’70's, the town of Morehead City had no place in which to worship except the old Public School House. All preachers, regardless of creed, used the school house and nearly all the population of the town would attend when it was learned that there was to be preaching.
In June, 1882, Mr. John Motley Morehead, President of the Shepard Point Land Company, donated two lots as a building site for a new church. On Christmas Day, 1883, the first services were held in the new building, which had been constructed with Mr. William Dean as architect.
The first Sunday School was organized in April, 1883, with Professor H. S. Lee, Superintendent, Mr. S. E. Wade, Assistant Superintendent and Mr. George D. Styron, Secretary.
The pastors of the church from its organization until the present time have been: Jacob Utley, 1873-1879; Thos. J. Leary, 1879-1881; T. A. Reid, 1883; W. T. Jones, 1884-1886; C. A. Woodson, 1887-1889; Duncan McLeod, 1889-1890; H. C. Moore, 1890-1893; J. H. Hiden, 1893-1894; S. J. Porter, 1894-1895; J. T. Jenkins, 1895-1897; John Lewis, 1897-1899; A. W. Setzer, 1899-1903; R. P.
First Baptist Church
Walker, 1903-1905; R. D. Cross, 1905-1908; T. B. Davis, 1908-1913; E. R. Harris, 1913-1915; H. W. Baucom, 1915-1918; J. B. Willis, 1918-1921; W. J. Crain, 1922-1927; A. P. Stephens, 1928-1938; R. Cole Lee, 1938-1940; J. H. Bunn, 1941 until the present time.
The church has expanded under the present pastor so that today there is a modern Sunday School building, a remodeled Sanctuary, and additional property next door has been bought for extra class rooms.
The membership which in 1940 was 568 has grown to 936. During the present pastorate, 412 members have been received by baptism and 299 have been received by letter, making a total of 711 members received.
Local gifts and all missions in 1940 were $4,094.90. In 1956, gifts and all missions were $40,029.91.
In 1953 the church purchased some property west of Morehead City. A mission was organized and sponsored by the church. For some time services were held in an old building. Rev. W. T. Cockman was called to pastor the mission. In 1956 it was organized into Park View Church with Rev. Cockman as its first pastor. A new Educational building was erected, and it is now a thriving new church with about one hundred and twenty-five members. Rev. Cockman recently resigned and the Rev. W. T. Huff is the new pastor.Franklin Memorial
In 1882 there came into the Blue Ridge Conference a young preacher who left his indelible mark upon the work in his field. W. Q. A. Graham spent more than twenty years as presiding elder, superintendent of the Atlantic Mission Conference, and district superintendent. Graham also established the first school of academic grade at Marshallberg, known as Graham Collegiate Institute. In the year 1897, he came to the coast of North Carolina and organized the Atlantic Mission Conference of which Franklin Memorial Church of Morehead City became a part.
Franklin Memorial Methodist Church
Charter members of the Franklin Memorial were as follows: Mrs. Caroline Wade, Richard Willis, Hettie Willis, Lottie Ann Willis, Walter Willis, Jane Willis, Ida Willis, Rebecca Willis, Emma N. Willis, Seawood Willis, James R. Guthrie, A. P. Guthrie, Hancy Guthrie, Amos Wade, David F. Guthrie, and R. Chadwick, with the Rev. William Franklin serving as pastor.
Services from 1882 to 1895 were held in a store building at 1206 Evans Street. In 1895 Cas Stevens was appointed pastor and a new wooden building was erected at the corner of 12th and Evans Streets.
In 1921 the old wooden church was torn down and the present building started. Church School was held in the auditorium of the Harry North School Building. Church services were held in a store owned by Mr. Tom Guthrie on South 12th Street.
The Franklin Memorial served as a school when the school building burned in 1928, and again a few years ago when the school was unable to accommodate the increasing number of students.
In 1926 the Blue Ridge Atlantic Conference met in Morehead City and in 1938 all Methodists united and formed the North Carolina Conference.
Since 1921 the Franklin Memorial Church has seen many changes. A Church School was formed in the basement of the church building, a new heating system was installed, a complete kitchen was added, and two new organs were installed; one purchased by the church and one given by Mr. Edwin Lewis in honor of his mother. Mr. and Mrs. Tom Guthrie donated a new piano, and the church bought one also. New windows were installed, and in 1952 a new parsonage was erected at 1211 Arendell Street. Chimes were purchased and installed within the last few months.
The three women's circles of the church are the Ann Mariah, the Suzanne Land, and the Glennmoore. There is also a branch of the Methodist Men.
Pastors who have served at Franklin Memorial are: W. M. Franklin 1882-1886; W. R. West, 1886-1888; N. W. Cooper, 1888-1890; J. S. Burnett, 1890-1893; Cas Stevens, 1893-1896; Thos. S. Davis, 1896-1899; W. S. Crowder, 1899-1900; Thos. S. Davis, 1900-1901; J. J. Lewis, 1901-1903; W. C. Luther, 1903-1904; M. L. Chappell, 1904-1906; D. D. Baily, 1906-1908; W. J. Plint, 1908-1910; W. F. Graham, 1910-1911; J. L. Dennis, 1911-1913; R. L. Mames, 1913-1914; T. E. Pierce, 1914-1915; W. J. Plint, 1915-1917; David Haga, 1917-1919; S. W. John, 1919-1922; W. J. Plint, 1922-1924; C. O. Newill, 1924-1925; W. J. Plint, 1925-1926; C. M. White, 1926-1928; Rev. Sharp, 1928-1930; H. J. Harvey, 1930-1931; L. A. Lewis, 1931-1933; W. J. Stewart, 1933-1937; M. D. McLand, 1937-1938; M. O. Stevenson, 1938-1942; C. J. Huneycutt, 1942-1944; W. F. Meechman, 1944-1945; H. B. Lewis, 1945-1946; W. D. Caviness, 1946-1949; A. L. Reynolds, 1949-1952; H. T. Payne, 1952-1954; and S. S. Moore, 1954 until the present time.First Presbyterian Church
MRS. H. L. JOSLYN
The original church building at the corner of 24th and Arendell Streets was bought in 1926 and used for Sunday School. The Rev. J. R. Phipps of Pollocksville came to preach once each month until the church was organized May 5, 1929. There were thirteen charter members.
Mr. Frank Johnston, the first regular minister was called, and upon his graduation from the Union Theological Seminary, Richmond, Virginia, he came to Morehead City in May of 1929, and remained until February of 1933. The first elected group of Ruling Elders for this church was: Dr. S. W. Thompson, Mr. H. L. Joslyn and Mr. Alex Lewis. The first Board of Deacons was: Mr. George Webb, Mr. Tom Lewis and Dr. Jim Gutsell.
The women of the church were organized under Mr. Johnston's direction in 1932. Through the years the women have played a significant part in the development and the growth of the church. They sponsored and secured funds for the purchase of pews, the organ, carpeting, choir robes and kitchen furniture.
Mr. Frank Hall, the second minister to serve the church came in 1933, and he also remained in our midst for four years, or
“The Little White Church on the Corner”
through December, 1937. When Mr. Hall came, an addition to the church had begun. A steeple had been added soon after the building was bought and now the auditorium space was to be made broader with projecting wings added to both sides. Across the back of the building there were three new rooms for Sunday School classes. With lumber on the church grounds, and the skeleton framework in place—our bank closed! The work did not halt, however, due to a loan secured through the Wilmington Presbytery. That spring (1933) “The Little White Church on the Corner” came into existence. A Manse was bought in 1936 and the Halls were the first to occupy the residence at 2810 Evans Street. This project was completed about 1941, while Mr. K. C. Seawright was pastor of the church. He was here during the busy war years (1938-1944) and resigned in March, 1944, to become a Chaplain in the United States Navy. For fourteen months after Mr. Seawright left, there was no regular pastor, but visiting ministers brought the message each Sunday. The church has never missed a Sunday morning service since it was organized. Mr. John Axtell came in 1945 and served the church well as its pastor for three years until his retirement from the ministry. Mr. Axtell died shortly after at his home in Long Island, N. Y.
Under the leadership of Mr. H. L. Joslyn in April, 1949, a Building Fund Drive was begun. This, with increased contributions to the budget, made it possible to buy the lot and five room dwelling adjoining the church property. This house provided a Fellowship Hall, kitchen, nursery and primary facilities. Two years later the second lot and dwelling thereon was purchased. Annex No. 2 provided a pastor's study and more space for Intermediate Department classes.
The church building itself was feeling growing pains! From the “original 13” its membership had increased to 150—and 72 additional Presbyterians from Cherry Point had been given a church home here until their own building on the air base could be completed. By the time Mr. Priestly Conyers III came as pastor in July, 1949, many new families had moved to Morehead City. The congregation launched a Visitation Evangelism Program that resulted in a rapid expansion of the membership. Convinced of the future growth of Morehead City, the congregation began plans for a new church building and voted to move to a larger site. The Leary and Sudie Nelson properties in the 17th block of Arendell Street were purchased. These twelve lots run from Arendell Street through to Bridges Street.
Proposed First Presbyterian Church—One wing is
On October 9, 1955, the ground breaking ceremony for the first unit of the new building took place, and on July 15, 1956, the Consecration Services were held. Mr. Albert Harris, the present Pastor since February, 1956, and Mr. Priestly Conyers III were in charge of the services that day. The completed unit—The Fellowship Hall has a seating capacity for 300, also has a large kitchen, two class rooms, furnace rooms and two rest rooms. The former Leary home, a 14 room brick building, is being used as Educational Building, until further plans are completed. Dr. Al Chestnut is Superintendent of Sunday School.
Present membership of the First Presbyterian Church is 235 and the Directory is as follows:
The Session: Albert G. Harris, Moderator, D. Cordova, Clerk, A. F. Chestnut, R. B. Howard,
T. C. Hyman, H. L. Joslyn, A. M. Lewis, J. W. Kellogg, S. W. Thompson.
The Diaconate: J. L. Humphrey, T. L. Lee, R. W. Wells, George Springs, C. W. Summerlin, H. F. Webb, J. A. Smith, Hendrix Wells and Paul Cordova.
Pioneer Fellowship: Chuck Sledge, President; Donald Fox, Vice-President; Barbara Holt, Secretary; Gloria Jean Nelson, Treasurer; Betty Barsdale, Advisor.
Senior Youth Fellowship: Barbara Goodwin, President; C. T. Matthis, Program Chairman; Ruth Powell, Secretary; Malcolm Goodwin, Treasurer; Rosalind Colley and Oscar Joslyn, Advisors.
Men of the Church: J. C. Harvell, President; Hugh Porter, Vice-President; T. C. Hyman, Secretary; J. C. Lucas, Treasurer.
Women of the Church: Mrs. R. W. Wells, President; Mrs. D. Cordova, Vice-President; Miss Rosalind Colley, Secretary; Mrs. S. W. Thompson, Treasurer; Mrs. H. L. Joslyn, Historian.St. Andrew's Protestant
In May, 1932, Mr. Larry B. West deeded a site on Arendell Street, Morehead City, for a future Episcopal Church. On October 30, 1919, The Reverend Doctor George Lay, Rector of Saint Paul's Church, Beaufort, established a Mission in Morehead City, known as Saint Andrew's Mission. This Mission continued to function until 1931. When it was discontinued, all members of the Episcopal Church living in Morehead City transferred their membership to Saint Paul's Church, Beaufort, where they continued until January 1, 1952.
At that time, approximately forty members of Saint Paul's Church who were then residing in Morehead City, decided to establish an Episcopal Church in this city. They organized first as a Missionary congregation, and at the Diocesan Convention in May, 1952, they were admitted to the Convention with the status of a full Parish, designated as Saint Andrew's Episcopal Church—the name taken from the original Mission.
In June, 1952, ground was broken for the construction of a Church building on the site at 2007 Arendell Street. On October 9, the conerstone was laid by Bishop Thomas H. Wright and the Reverend Daniel W. Allen; and upon organizing as a Missionary congregation, the members held services in the home of Mrs. Herbert Thornton on Bridges Street, where the congregation continued to worship until April, 1952, when the services were transferred to the Hospital Annex on 9th Street. The congregation contiued to worship there until the present Church was completed. The first service was held in the new Church on December 20, 1953.
Saint Andrew's Protestant Episcopal Church
In the summer of 1953, a Rectory was purchased at 2012 Evans Street.
In October, 1953, the present Rector, The Reverend E. Guthrie Brown, became the first Rector of Saint Andrew's Church.
The congregation, beginning with forty members, continued to grow until, at present, it comprises approximately one hundred and fifty members. The Church School started with five children, and now has over one hundred on the roll. The rapid growth of the Church has necessitated the construction of the first two wings proposed in the overall plan for Parish House activities.
The East wing is now under construction, and is expected to be completed by July first of this year. The Parish House will be completely air-conditioned—as is the Church.
One of the dominant features in the development and growth of the Church has been the work of the Woman's Auxiliary. Another group—The Men of Saint Andrew's—organized in 1954, has also contributed actively to the development of the Church. The inspiration of the services has been enhanced by beautiful music and an excellent choir.St. Egbert's Catholic
Catholic services were first held in Morehead City at the home of Mr. Cowper Thorburn who came to this country from England at the time of the War between the States. In succeeding years, Mass was offered in various other homes.
Father Egbert Albert, C. P., conducted Missions in Morehead City and vicinity, and, impressed by the possibilities for growth of the area, wished to erect a parish church. He secured property at 17th and Evans Streets, but before he could build the church, Father Egbert died (1927). His friends took upon themselves the task of carrying out his wishes and the church of St. Egbert was erected as a memorial. It was dedicated by the Most Reverend Bishop Hafey in 1929 and parish growth has parallelled the growth of Morehead City.
In August, 1954, the church of St. Mary was opened at Atlantic Beach to accommodate the crowds of visitors who visit Morehead City during the summer months.
The parish school of St. Egbert opened in September, 1956. During its first year, classes consisted of a kindergarten and grades one through four. This building was constructed at a cost of $55,000.00 and consists of three classrooms and two other rooms which can be combined to serve as an auditorium.Church of God
The Church of God of Morehead City had its beginning in 1937 as a Mission. This Mission began with eight charter members and services were held in an old Army barracks building.
Since its organization in 1937, the church has built a concrete block building at the corner of 13th and Evans Streets. This building consists of the main part of the church, Fellowship Hall, and Sunday School rooms. Over the Sunday School rooms and Fellowship Hall, a Parsonage has been built. It is now occupied by Rev. Harold Putnam, the present pastor. Today the church has a membership of over forty (40) members, with continued growth indicated.
Church of God
Services each week are held as follows:
Sunday, 10:00 A. M.—Sunday School
Sunday, 11:00 A. M.—Morning Worship
Sunday, 7:30 P. M.—Evening Worship
Wednesday, 7:30 P. M.—Midweek Prayer Service
MRS. J. PAUL JONES
The Pentecostal Holiness Church was organized in Morehead City by Rev. J. G. Crocker of Pine Level, N. C., in 1933. The church was organized with nine charter members. Mrs. Emma Willis of Morehead City played a great part in the organization of this church. A few years later, this group built a church building on 17th Street.
The following ministers have served as pastor: Rev. T. O. Todd, Rev. L. E. Peyton, Rev. Don Little, Rev. R. L. Lawrence and the present pastor, Rev. J. Paul Jones.
Rev. J. Paul Jones came here in the fall of 1950. Under his leadership the church has grown from an average of forty-five in Sunday School to an average of two hundred and twelve. The church membership has more than doubled.
In 1951 the church decided to sell the old Parsonage on Shepard Street and purchase a new one, which is located at 2705 Arendell Street.
The old church building was sold in 1952. Three lots were purchased on the corner of 19th and Bridges Streets for a proposed new church.
The congregation worshipped in the old church while building their new one. Much of the labor was donated by members; also they used a pay-as-you-go plan. This resulted
Pentecostal Holiness Church
in a very low indebtedness on the new church upon completion.
The auditorium of the new building will seat between 250 and 275, with a full length basement for Sunday School purposes.
Plans are now under way to complete the inside of the church and to build a two-story educational building to take care of our growing Sunday School. At present, the school is divided into 12 classes.
In 1953, the opening service was held in the new church with Rev. Sam Todd of Newnon, Georgia, as the guest speaker. At this time, Rev. Todd named the church the “Glad Tidings Tabernacle”. This name was accepted by the congregation. The church believes in tithing and free will offerings. This will account for the material progress that this church and congregation has made.First Christian Church
MRS. LENNIS BRINSON
The First Christian Church of Morehead City was organized in the year 1947, with services being conducted in the homes of the members by Rev. W. J. Foster, pastor of the New Bern Christian Church.
The first unit of the church building was completed at 2210 Bridges Street in August, 1948, and was dedicated the second Sunday in October of the same year. With a full-time pastor assuming his duties, a parsonage was constructed at 2212 Bridges Street in 1952. The Education Building was begun in 1954, completed and dedicated in August, 1955.
Rev. J. W. Funk is now serving as full-time pastor.First Free Will Baptist
REV. SELDON BULLARD
The First Free Will Baptist Church of Morehead City was organized and accepted in the Eastern Conference of Free Will Baptists
in 1904. Services were conducted in the homes of the members until a church building was erected.
The First Church building was erected at 1007 Fisher Street in 1907 and was named the Atlantic Free Will Baptist Church. At the time the church was organized, there were 40 charter members, of whom four are still living: Mrs. Caddie Willis, Mrs. Pearl Davis, Mrs. W. E. Fulford, and Mr. Joseph Smith.
Existing records do not show who pastored the church for the first five years. In 1909, Rev. J. W. Alford began a three year pastorate. Other pastors between 1912 and 1927 were: Rev. Bryant Wells, Rev. Cal Merrell, Rev. Donald Garner, Rev. Vernon Lloyd, Rev. Faith Garner, Rev. A. H. Outlaw, and Rev. Thomas E. Beaman.
In 1919 the church was moved to its present location at the corner of 10th and Bridges Streets.
Beginning in 1927, the following minsiters have served the church: Rev. W. B. Everett, Rev. Luke Wetherington, Rev. W. E. Anderson, Rev. J. C. Griffin, Rev. Albert Harris, Rev. T. C. Smith, Rev. Noah Brown, and at the present time, Rev. Seldon Bullard is pastor with Rev. W. E. Anderson, Associate Pastor.
Since this church was organized, two of its sons have answered the call to the ministry, and at the present time, two missionary students, Miss Molly Barker and Miss Mary Ellen Rice are studying at the Free Will Baptist College, Nashville, Tennessee, preparing themselves for the mission fields.
In 1926 the church purchased a parsonage at 204 N. 11th Street, and in 1955 an Educational Building valued at $22,000.00 was erected. Recently, property was purchased at the corner of 10th and Fisher Streets. Plans for a new Sanctuary have been drawn and approved, and efforts are being made to begin construction in 1957.
The Faith Free Will Baptist Church in west Morehead City, and the Crab Point Mission, Crab Point, both organized in 1956, are out-growths of the First Free Will Baptist Church.Saint Luke's Missionary
REV. W. L. GRIFFIN
Saint Luke's Missionary Baptist Church was chartered in 1860 with the Reverend Vergal Williams, Pastor. At that time the church was located at Carolina City, which is now the Camp Glenn section of Morehead City. The first church was of log construction, about 16 by 24 feet in size, and had a very small membership. The old church minutes make no mention of the ministers receiving any salary, but they do mention that each family contributed whatever they could from their farms or businesses for the pastors’ support.
The ministers who have served this church are listed below in the order of their service: Rev. Vergal Williams, Rev. Miles Dudley, Rev. Thomas Evans, Rev. L. P. Martin, Rev. S. L. Mann, Rev. Hener Dudley, Rev. A. F. Spruill, Rev. W. T. Smith, Rev. Samuel Cox, Rev. A. H. Dudley, Rev. S. H. Barrow, Rev. U. G. Moye, Rev. T. T. Shivers, Rev. W. G. Hall, and Rev. W. L. Griffin.
During the pastorate of Rev. Thomas Evans, the church was moved to a location between 13th and 14th Streets on Arendell. A short time later, during Rev. A. F. Spruill's pastorate, a bell for the church was purchased and paid for. This bell is still in use in the present church building. The church location was again moved to the corner of 13th and Fisher Streets, where it now stands.
During the last several years, the church has been enlarged twice, brick veneered, and many other things have been done for the comfort and well—being of its members.
REV. F. A. LUSAN
St. Stephen A. M. E. Zion Church was founded in the year 1877. Originally it was named “Turner's Chapel”, being so named after the man who organized and founded it, the Reverend S. I. Turner.
Much research has been done, but very few records were found describing the life of this church. However, it was determined that the building used for Turner's Chapel was used until 1904 when it was converted into the present parsonage. At the same time, a new church was built at the corner of 12th and Bridges Streets, and this edifice is still in use today.
This church has had 35 pastors during its long life, one of whom, the Reverend George Lincoln Blackwell, was elected Bishop in 1912. The present pastor is the Reverend F. A. Lusan. Church membership is approximately 120.Carteret County Ministers’
In 1945, some of the Churches of Carteret County, feeling that it was necessary to promote a spirit of cooperation among the many Churches, proposed to form an organization for such a purpose. As a result thereof, the Carteret County Ministers’ Association was formed, with the ministers from all denominations invited to participate.
The purpose of this organization is “to promote Christian fellowship among the various denominations and to further the work of Christ, the Head of His Church, among all people.”
The association meets once each month to discuss various problems confronting the community and to coordinate all church activities.
Rev. A. G. Harris, First Presbyterian Church, Morehead City, is the president of the association at the present time.
“AS THE SPIRITUAL NEEDS OF OUR PEOPLE INCREASE, SO SHALL OUR CHURCHES CONTINUE TO ENLARGE THEIR VISION, EMBRACING THE OPPORTUNITIES OF THE DAY IN INCREASED ACTIVITY AND SERVICE, AND GROW IN THE TEACHINGS AND GRACE OF GOD.”SCENES OF YESTERYEAR
Looking north from the corner of 9th and Arendell Streets in 1884. The Methodist Episcopal Church South, now the First Methodist Church, is shown on the left; the First Baptist Church on the right. Today's Sanctuaries are in the same location. In the shade of the group of trees in the middle of the street, many a small boat was built. Note the line of young trees on the north side of Arendell Street. Some of these trees are standing today.
Street scene at about the turn of the century.
House built on 10th Street by Phillip Lepper in 1864. A part of this house was used to house a drug store, said to have been the first in Morehead City.
MR. H. L. JOSLYN
In 1907, Mr. William Arendell, State Senator from this district, had an act passed in the General Assembly of North Carolina, permitting the voters of Morehead City to hold an election on the establishment of a graded school. We are told that Arendell Street was the scene of a big parade and demonstration in favor of the school, the day prior to the election, which was carried by a big majority.
The Morehead City graded school opened its doors in the fall of 1908 with Mr. S. W. Carwile of Ridge Springs, S. C. selected as the first superintendent by the first Board of Education, composed of Dr. W. E. Headen, Chairman, Mr. W. J. Wyatt, Secretary and G. L. Arthur, Sr., J. B. Morton, D. M. Webb, and L. L. Leary. The buildings were separated. The Atlantic Institute, former Baptist School, was located where Mayor George W. Dill's residence now stands. The Harry North Building, former Methodist School, was located on the corner of 10th and Bridges Streets where Miss Bettie Harker now lives.
During the summer of 1911 the Harry North Building was moved to the west side of the present school ground; the Baptist Institute building was moved to the east side of the square and the old public school building of two rooms was moved to the center of the square. All buildings were connected by walkways.
It was this year that diplomas were first awarded for completion of the 9th grade.
In 1913 a 10th grade was added and the first graduating class from the 10th grade was composed of seven members: Grace Wallace, Mabel Teasley, Marie Long, Lorainne Arendell, Bryant Arthur, Douglass Eaton and Zebb Butts.
Mr. Charles S. Wallace was made chairman of the Board in 1913 and held that position until his death in 1945.
Mr. Carwile resigned in the spring of 1917 to accept the Superintendency of the McCall School in South Carolina.
Morehead City Graded School
Mr. E. P. Mendenhall served as Superintendent from the fall of 1917 to the spring of 1922. Under his administration a bond issue was carried and a new brick building was completed and occupied in the year 1921-22. In this same year the 11th grade was added. Mr. H. L. Joslyn, Superintendent of the Craven County Farm Life school was elected in June of 1922 by the Board composed of Mr. Charles S. Wallace, Chairman, Mr. Martin L. Willis, Secretary, Mrs. D. G. Bell, Dr. Ben F. Royal, D. M. Webb and E. A. Council to succeed Mr. Mendenhall. The first graduating class of the new administration was composed of 3 girls and 7 boys—Misses Ruth Leary, Lucille Lewis and Mildred Reed—Charlie W. Bennett, George W. Dill, Jr., William Fodrie, Joseph Harrell, Frank Moore, George R. Wallace and R. T. Willis, Jr.
During the year 1922-23 a Science Dedepartment was added and the library greatly improved. The High School and elementary schools were both accredited by the State Department of Public Institutions at the end of the 1922-23 term.
In 1923-24 Home Economics equipment was added and a new era was opened for our girls under Miss Hazel Cole as Home Economics teacher. The class of ’22 had left money to purchase a clock and bell system. These aids were installed early in 1923.
Mr. J. B. Sawyer told the Superintendent he had endorsed a note to purchase band instruments for a Boy Scout troop and now had the instruments on hand. $100.00 was raised by the school and thus the school became the owner of 2 cornets, 2 clarinets, 2 trombones, 2 alto horns, 1 baritone, 2 bass horns, 1 snare and 1 bass drum. The writer had quite a time in getting valves and slides to work, but in the fall of 1924 he called for band recruits. There were far more applicants than instruments but a beginner's band was organized and directed by the writer. The one claim to fame by that beginner's band is that it started Mr. Ralph T. Wade, present Director of the Morehead City High School Band on the road to fame.
The following year Mr. Gib L. Arthur, Jr., joined the high school faculty as Science teacher and band director.
During the year 1926-27 the P. T. A. and Civic Organizations assisted the school with new stage scenery and an art exhibit and left $275.00 in prints of great paintings. The Woman's Club presented the school with an oil painting of Mr. Charles S. Wallace which now hangs in the lobby of the present school.
It was during this year, too, that the high school was accepted as a member of the Southern Association of Secondary Schools and Colleges, an honor that students and teachers had worked hard to achieve.
In December of 1928 the school was jarred by the destruction of the new building by fire. Fire companies from Beaufort and Kinston assisted the local company in the effort to save the building.
When all efforts seemed in vain the writer requested that all water (13 streams of hose) be directed over the office to save the records. This not only saved all records of the school, but also desks (damaged, of course) in the basement rooms on the front, and rooms on each side of the office.
Before the embers had cooled, teachers, pupils and parents were on the job cleaning up any desks that could be used and getting set up in temporary quarters. The net result was only one day of school lost that year.
The old Harry North Building had been put back in use in 1924, so six class rooms were made available there and classes worked on a double shift. This arrangement with other temporary quarters took care of the elementary school. Beaufort had just vacated what is now known as the Courthouse Annex, to move to a new building. This old building was made available as temporary quarters for our high school. High school students met each morning at the Post Office where cars assembled to transport the pupils to Beaufort.
Commencement that year was held in the City Theater, a new building at that time.
In February of 1930 the school moved into the present building. The Harry North Building had to be moved to make room for the construction of this new building.
In 1930 a number of graduates who desired to continue their studies, but could not go to college, requested a Commercial Course be added on a tuition basis. This was done, the tuition paying for teacher's salary and all equipment. This course was used by many of the graduates over the county to their betterment. This work was dropped in 1953-54.
In 1930-31 tax collections were at a low ebb and the town commissioners curtailed the school budget to the extent that funds were not available to meet the State and Federal funds for Home Economics, so that was dropped. The following year it was realized that this was a mistake and funds were restored. Fortunately for Morehead City, we were able to secure a teacher and State and Federal funds from another county who had to give up their department.
School funds continued at low ebb and the 1933 General Assembly assumed state wide support for 8 months school. Due to the financial condition of Morehead City, the school charter was revoked and the school became a part of the County system. This changed the school term from 9 to 8 months and the Superintendent continued his duties as principal. The Southern Association warned the school that they must teach 175 days or be dropped as a member. The Town could no longer supplement their school due to changes in state school laws. Students, faculty and parents got busy and the year 1935-36 saw the elementary school running 160 days and the high school 175 days. High school teachers agreed to teach three weeks extra for half pay while the P. T. A. raised the required funds needed. Thus the membership in the Southern Association was continued for 3 years. However, this became such a burden that it had to be given up, and the rating was lost.
Industrial Arts was added to the curriculum for boys in 1935-36, chiefly by local effort and the old Harry North Building was again brought into use.
The old gymnasium was erected by W. P. A. labor in 1935. Mr. J. T. Mason with his Science classes developed a fine museum of sea shells, rocks, minerals and sea and land specimens. This became crowded and as the school population grew, the room was needed for classes. In the spring of 1944, Mr. Mason completed the term for H. L. Joslyn who had been hospitalized.
The year 1944-45 was a year of study and presumption by pupils and faculty in an effort to regain our rating with the Southern Association. In the spring of that year an evaluation committee spent a week at the school talking to students and checking the school. It was a trying ordeal, but a satisfying one, for the school passed with flying colors, thus regaining the coveted goal, and and it has held the rating to the present time.
In 1945-46 a 12th grade was added and there was no graduating class that year.
After 25 years as administrator of the Morehead City School, Mr. H. L. Joslyn resigned to accept the Superintendency of the Carteret County Schools.
Mr. G. T. Windell accepted the principalship and served from the fall of 1947 to spring of 1955. During Mr. Windell's administration, the Harry North Building was moved for the 3rd time to make room for a 6 room annex and cafeteria. Camp Glenn School became a part of Morehead City School System by annexation in 1954.
The present principal, Mr. T. Linwood Lee, began his administration in the fall of 1955. Mr. Lee added a 4 room metal building in the summer of 1956, as temporary quarters to relieve crowded conditions. The school has shown steady growth and progress, and has been blessed by many and loyal teachers, who will be long remembered by their pupils for their untiring efforts in the educating of our youth.
Records of graduates for 1914 through 1919 were not available, but records show 1,368 graduates for the high school since the organization of the Morehead City Graded School.
After 35 years of intimate knowledge of the Morehead City Graded Schools the writer finds a great deal of satisfaction, yes, and inspiration in contemplating the success of the many boys and girls he has been privileged to work with. Their leadership in home and civic affairs, as well as in the state and national affairs has been outstanding. He has seen those young men and women in all professions and types of businesses as highly successful, from athletics to the ministry, but the greatest joy in their successes is to see them as worthwhile citizens and happy home workers.
This article would not be complete without paying tribute to the work of the local school committees. They have served well and often at sacrifices to themselves and families. Special tribute should be paid to the work of Mr. Charles S. Wallace, chairman for 32 years. It was largely due to his efforts that the money was secured after the fire, and this writer has personal knowledge of Mr. Wallace's securing salaries by signing his personal note for a school loan. To develop and keep the Morehead City School open today, we are deeply grateful to those loyal teachers, board members, and the many, many parents who have served so faithfully and given their support to the Parent-Teacher's Association through the years.
The next goal for the school, and one that every patron and citizen in Morehead
Camp Glenn Graded School
Morehead City Graded School Lunchroom
City should lend every effort to achieve, is to secure funds to build a new high school plant, complete with the latest improvements, to serve the boys and girls in the immediate future. The need is great, and now is the time to build for our future citizens, that Morehead City may continue a sound and steady growth.Camp Glenn Graded School
The Camp Glenn Graded School had its beginning in 1919 in a dining room rented from the North Carolina National Guard. Mr. A. B. Chapman was the School's first principal, a position which he held until 1923 when Mr. Troy Morris, Sr. was appointed principal.
In September, 1923, the Camp Glenn School building was erected. This building was of brick construction, two stories high,
containing 8 classrooms and an auditorium. In 1923 it was a seven month graded school. The building and property was bordered on the north by U. S. Highway 70, on the south by Arendell Street, on the east by Bonner Avenue and on the west by Noyes Avenue.
In the spring of 1924, Mr. Morris resigned as principal and Mrs. John Nelson, who was a teacher at that time, was appointed to fill the vacancy. Mrs. Nelson served in this capacity for three years, and during this time Camp Glenn Graded School consolidated with Wildwood and Crab Point Schools.
The school building constructed in 1923 served adequately until the late 1940's when plans were made to construct a new building with modern facilities. Construction on this building was begun in early 1954 and the first classes in this new building were started in the fall of that year. The new building, of modern design, is of concrete block and brick construction and contains 20 classrooms, an auditorium, a multi-purpose room with a seating capacity of 350, a central Library, 2 offices, a clinic room, teacher's lounge and a book storage room. The building has all modern conveniences.
The school teaches grades 1 through 8. At the present time the enrollment is approximately 600.
Shown below is a list of the principals who have served this school with the dates of their services:
|1923-25||Troy Morris, Sr.|
|1925-27||Mrs. John Nelson|
|1929-33||A. R. Kornegay|
|1953-57||R. W. Davis|
In the fall of 1950, Mrs. Harvey Hamilton began teaching the children of kindergarten age in Morehead City. She held school for two years at the U. S. O. Building, now known as the Recreation Center, on Shepard Street, and has directed a similar pre-school in a guest-house at 3201 Evans Street. The enrollment of her school is limited to twenty pupils.
Mrs. Hamilton offers to her pupils a well-rounded program, and she completed her eighth successful year of operation when the school closed at the end of May. The final program of the year, given by the pupils, is always well attended by the parents and friends of Morehead City and Beaufort. Because of the children's love for their teacher, she is better known to her pupils as “Miss Pearl”.
Mrs. Harvey Hamilton's Kindergarten
The Jack ’n Jill Kindergarten, located at 1412-1414 Shepard Street, began operation in September, 1952. The enrollment is limited because the director, Mrs. John Fussell, has no assistant.
The kindergarten program includes many things such as: dramatization of stories, rhythms (dancing, record and band) and supervised play. Special emphasis is placed on reading—readiness and other definite preschool preparation. The teacher makes a specific
Jack ’n Jill Kindergarten
point in aiding the individual pupil adjust himself to his growing environment.
The kindergarten is open to adults wishing to observe the teachings and training methods employed.
The Jack ’n Jill Kindergarten is a member of the North Carolina Kindergarten Association.
Class at Jack ’n Jill Kindergarten
The Carteret County School Board was formed in 1872, and consisted of six members: William C. King, chairman; John Roinly, secretary; John W. Pelletier; Levi C. Howland; P. D. Murphy; and Richard B. Styron. The established schools of Morehead City opened in 1877. At that time, the school system was operated by the state, and the budget was given to schools according to their enrollments. The Morehead City white school had an enrollment of 155 and received $65.10 financial aid per year. The Morehead City colored school had an enrollment of 78 and received $32.76 financial aid per year. The school terms lasted only two months, five days a week. The school day was from 9 a.m. ’till 3 p.m.
The first colored school to be remembered was a one room, one teacher school in the late 1800's, located on the present site of the Charles S. Wallace school. The first principal of this school was Reverend Whitehead, a Methodist minister of Riverdale, N. C. The school was later moved to the present home of Mr. William Bell in the 1200 block of Bay Street. The second principal of this school was Reverend Jackson, a Baptist minister from Kinston. The teachers were self-trained and mostly preachers.
In 1908 the city took over the school system and formed a regular free graded school.
The W. S. King School, corner of 16th and Fisher Streets
A two-room building erected for the Morehead City white school, and located at the present site of the Charles S. Wallace School, was given to the two colored churches to teach in. Reverend Avant was then principal. He was given one teacher to help carry out the school program. The enrollment, which was 78, increased to 140 during his stay, and the city added three teachers to the staff.
Following Reverend Avant's term of service, Mr. A. W. Wetherington became the principal, and served from 1915 to 1919. At that time he became paralyzed and resigned. Professor W. S. King began the 1920-’21 school term and served faithfully for 17 years. Meanwhile, the school moved from the two-room building on Bridges Street to the two-story wood frame building located on 13th Street. The rural schools, Bogue, Newport and Wildwood, merged and came to this school, too. In 1946 this building was named the William Simkins King School in honor of Professor W. S. King.
Professor J. Worthington Campbell was principal during the four-year period 1937 to 1941. Mr. S. R. McLendon, the present principal, began his service in 1941. Under his leadership the school has grown to an enrollment of 230 pupils with eight teachers. Educational programs were organized, guidance programs were improved, emphasis was placed on sports, and the music department was included among the best in Eastern North Carolina.
In 1951 the school moved from the two-story wood frame building on 13th Street to the present modern, two-wing, white concrete structure located at 16th and Fisher Streets. During the five years they have been in this building, many useful things have been accomplished. Commercial education was added to the curriculum. Latin was added, giving students a choice of two languages, French and Latin. Two years ago, a science and home economics room was added to the high school wing, and this year, three teachers have been added to the staff, making a total of 13, and an enrollment of 370 students. The eleventh and twelfth grades were also added to make a complete four year high school department. Added to the elementary wing is a beautiful, modern cafeteria.
Mr. McLendon has served the school for 16 years, and has a keen interest in the welfare of his students and the community. Under his leadership, the W. S. King school will continue to strive towards higher elements in education.Schools in the Early Years
The first school in Morehead City of any note was established in 1859-60. The principal of that school was Mr. Benjamin F. Jones. It was a private school located just across the street from the old Arendell home on Bridges Street. The building was about 30 by 40 feet. This was used as a combination church and school. They had a five month's session only and there were about twenty pupils enrolled.
The next was a Seminary School started in 1860. The principal of this school was Mr. Levy Branson (editor of Branson's Almanac.) The building was on the ground where the F. L. Royal dwelling now stands. A funny thing about this school was there was a curtain drawn across the center of the room with the girls sitting on one side and the boys on the other. The teacher sat in front so that he could see on either side of the curtain. The playground consisted of the ground where Mr. C. S. Wallace's Home now stands. The boarding house was on the lot where the Brinson dwelling is now. There was a music room here which contained two pianos and it was here that some of the pupils first saw or heard a piano. The school would have been permanent but for the Civil War. The State was preparing at the same time (1860-61) to build a female college in Morehead City. The land was cleared up and brick ordered. This would have been a fine thing for Morehead City but it was destined never to be built due to the war.
For a short period during the war there was no school at all except two small schools,
one of which was taught in the old Arendell home in 1863 by the wife of Dr. William Jones and the other Rev. Mr. Jacob Utley in the old Silas Webb Home in 1864.
The next school was taught by Mr. A. E. Rhodes in 1865 in a school building built by the town people from volunteer subscriptions. This building was built on 6th street north of Bridges street. The courses studied were: Spelling, Reading, Writing, English, Arithmetic, Latin, Grammar, reading translation of German, reading translation of English composition, Philosophy and book-keeping. An interesting thing about this school was that Mr. Rhodes would let the children use any kind of arithmetic they wished. If there was a pupil who could work more examples than the rest he was not kept back but was allowed to go on and work just as many as he could and if he came to an example that he couldn't work and Mr. Rhodes knew he had tried and thought he should show him how to work it, he would explain it on the board to all of the class and when the others who were studying the same book came to it, they knew better than not to know it, and were very careful that they understood it. This latter school was the best of the three early schools. It lasted four terms of nine months each. The financial condition of the citizens of this place were very poor and at the close of the fourth term the school was discontinued, but the wife of Mr. Rhodes opened up a small school for those who could afford to pay. She had, however, only a few pupils. After teaching in this new school for a few weeks, Mrs. Rhodes became seriously ill and died.
The next school was in 1869 taught by Dr. William Jones. He charged $1.00 per family, many or few.
Mr. Henry Littleton followed, teaching in 1871-72.
In 1873-74 Mr. Benjamin T. Webb opened a school, teaching Spelling, Reading, Philosophy, Geometry, any kind of Arithmetic, Latin and Composition; however the dictionary was the principal study.
The next school of any importance was taught by Professor J. F. Brinson and H. L. Lee. The Peabody Fund was then obtained and by augmenting this with the State and County Free Fund, a very good school was established that lasted for several years, but strife and contention arose, and the Free fund was divided so that the school known as the Peabody school died a natural death. The building was 20 to 30 feet and located where the Baptist parsonage is now. Following that there was no regular school but several small private schools were taught ending with three months of free school each year. Some of the teachers were as follows: Miss Mamie Betts, Miss Annie Rhone, Miss Annie Barnes, Miss Maclie Bell, Mrs. Robenson, Mr. Abernathy, and others.
In 1884 the Baptists organized a church school which was taught in the North Carolina Teachers Assembly Building which had been purchased from them by the town. Mr. Rhinehart was principal and Mr. J. F. Brinson, assistant. This school was financed by volunteer subscriptions or guarantees. This, however, was short lived.
The Baptist School
In 1885 a Cooperative School was organized on the same principal. This worked well for the first two terms. The principal was Mr. Parker; Mr. J. F. Brinson was assistant for the first term. The second term Mr. Burn succeeded Mr. Parker as principal. The third term Mr. Brinson was made principal with
Miss Lottie Whitiker, assistant. The Cooperative School closed at the end of its third term.
In 1900 The Baptist Eastern North Carolina Association started a denominational school. They built the Atlantic Institute. Mr. A. W. Setzer was the first principal. Mrs. Addie Jones taught here; also Miss Maude Davis and others.
The Free School
In 1901-02 Rev. Harry North taught a class of high-school students and prepared them for college. Mr. Ike Neal and Mr. Ross taught the primary classes. This was in the old Paragon Building which burned in 1907.
The Methodists organized the Harry North School about the same time as the Atlantic Institute but did not get their building until 1903. The first principal was Mr. B. I. Tant. Another later principal was Mr. Carraway.
The Harry North School
Bright Spotsin the Bright Leaf Tobacco Belt!
For shortest inland hauls to deep water ports . . .
BOTH PORTS offer you
COMPLETE TOBACCO SERVICE!
• FUMIGATION FACILITIES
• STORAGE FACILITIES
Typical loading scene
Typical loading scene
Typical loading scene
The United Kingdom, Germany, and the Netherlands receive the bulk of tobacco
being shipped through the N. C. State Ports, with occasional cargoes destined
for the Orient. Typical loading scenes are shown above.
For Economy · Efficiency · Speed ... Ship via the Mid-South Short Way ... the NORTH CAROLINA STATE PORTS!
NORTH CAROLINA STATE PORTS AUTHORITY
The Great Seal of the State of North Carolina
North Carolina State Ports Authority
|P. O. Box 1619 Phone 3-1622—TWX: WM 77||P. O. Box 145 Phone 6-3159—TWX: Morehead City 8782|
Modern Post Office Building on Arendell Street
The first post office in Morehead City was established on February 28, 1859, with William H. Kirksey, postmaster. The postmaster's compensation was approximately $40 for that first year and the receipts of the office were $25. The next year, on April 24, John W. Collins was appointed postmaster and he served five years until John I. Henshaw was appointed. William C. Jones was appointed postmaster February 10, 1868.
On February 1, 1871, the post office was moved to a building on South 10th Street with Phillip Lepper as postmaster. Mr. Lepper operated the post office along with his drug business.
Anson J. Phillips was appointed postmaster on September 27, 1872, and was followed by Sarah G. Arendell on July 1, 1873.
For the next several years the post office was located in the town's first brick building, owned and constructed by Silas Webb, who ran a general store in this building. This building was located next to the present bank building. William M. Chadwick was postmaster and served in that office from 1875 to 1885 at which time Alvin S. Willis was appointed.
Thaddeus C. Davis became postmaster November 2, 1886, and it was during his term of office that the money order business was established on July 29, 1889.
William H. Jones, colored, was postmaster from February 15, 1890 until June 15, 1893, in a small wooden building in the 900 block on Arendell Street. The post office was then moved to a building on North Ninth Street next to the Methodist Church. John O. Wallace was postmaster and served until July 12, 1898, at which time William V. Mason succeeded him. The following year Thaddeus C. Davis became postmaster for the second time and served until March 6, 1903, when John C. B. Morton was appointed to that office.
Alvin S. Willis was appointed postmaster a second time January 31, 1906, and conducted the office in Dixon's General Store in the 800 block on the south side of Arendell Street. The building was destroyed by fire in 1908.
William L. Arendell was appointed postmaster April 6, 1914, and it was during this time that village delivery service was established. The post office was conducted in the brick building on the south-east corner of Ninth and Arendell Street and remained at this location until the Wade Building was constructed at the corner of Eighth and Arendell. During this period, Miss Eva M. Hardesty was postmaster from 1918 to 1920, and Robert T. Wade held that office from July 1, 1920 to February 1, 1921, when Allie B. Morris was appointed. He served until May 5, 1922, at which time Cleveland L. Willis assumed office.
John A. Klein became postmaster April 1, 1927, and it was on May 1, 1928, that city delivery service was established, the office having advanced to Second Class. Herbert O. Phillips succeeded Mr. Klein on March 16, 1936.
Harold W. Webb was appointed postmaster October 14, 1940, at which time the Federal building was completed. This building, of Colonial design, became the new home of the post office on November 1, 1940. This Federal building is a milestone in the life of Morehead City, a symbol of progress and a source of pride to the community. The dedication of this building took place August 8, 1941, with the Governor of North Carolina as principal speaker for the ceremony. The post office's greatest period of progress, like that of the town, has been since 1940. The postal receipts for the office for 1940 were $14,185.00. The post office was advanced to First Class on July 1, 1945, when the postal receipts reached $40,000. The postal receipts for 1956 were $77,476.08 and are expected to exceed $80,000 for 1957.
Any Way You Look at It...
The HATTERAS TRAWLER is a boat you'll be proud to own . . . Tops in materials and workmanship, performance and profits, looks and lasting qualities . . . and dollar for dollar, tops in value . . .
HATTERAS TRAWLERS are made by men you know . . . and have been tested and proved from Carolina to Key West by fishermen you know . . .
Come by, call, or write for full information
MOREHEAD CITY SHIPBUILDING CORP.
Morehead City, N. C.
For Food That Excels
ATLANTIC BEACH, N. C.
“The Little Place
With The Big Welcome”
GOOD FOOD FOR GOOD PEOPLE
18th & Bridges St.
Morehead City, N. C.
Typhoon Air Conditioning Company Logo
“Licensed — Insured”
THE OLDEST AND MOST COMPLETE
Complete Refrigeration &
Air Conditioning Co.
DOWN EAST, N. C.
Opposite City Hall Morehead City, N. C.
Heat & Cool Without Fuel—TyphoonMorehead City Fire Department
Back in the days when Morehead City began to show a more rapid stage of development, the matter of fire protection confronted the governing authorities of the town. Destruction of several buildings by fire prior to 1890 aroused the citizens to the need of better fire protection than a bucket brigade.
By 1890 the population of the town had grown to over 1,000 with 150 or more houses. Business places along Arendell Street were all of wooden construction, as well as homes—with one or two exceptions. At this period the governing body of the town consisted of Allen C. Davis, Mayor, C. S. Wallace, A. S. Willis, W. P. Adams, and J. J. Royal, Commissioners. During the administration of these officials the matter of better fire-fighting facilities was voted upon favorably.
As the town was without a water system at that time the only fire-fighting equipment that was practical was a pumper operated by hand. Such an outfit was purchased from the Howe Engine Company of Indianapolis, Ind., with hose reel and 750 feet of hose. This outfit was mounted on a four-wheel chassis, to be drawn by hand. It carried a suction hose which could be dropped into wells or the sound. Long handles on each side of the pumper were operated by manpower.
This outfit was put in service about 1895. It is recorded that a small building for housing the pumper was erected in the center of 8th Street over the waters of the sound, the shore line of which at that time came up to about opposite the building occupied by Dee Gee's Gift Shop.
The building stood over a large well or cistern which was one of seven such wells or cisterns located about the town for fire protection. These wells were located at 7th and Bridges, 9th and Fisher, 9th and 10th on Evans, 12th and Evans, Arendell at 8th, and 10th and Arendell streets. Up until the installation of the water system, these old cisterns were in evidence. They were eventually filled up with rubbish and worn out household accumulations.
From the bucket brigade was formed the first regular department, consisting of most of the young men in town. In case of an unusual fire all able-bodied men of the community gave their assistance. What constituted a fire department for the next ten years was a small group of organized men who stood ready to answer an alarm, assisted at the pumper by willing citizens.
It was not until 1906 that the town officials gave serious consideration to better fire protection and the organizing of a larger and more active department. Several bad fires had occurred that were beyond control of the hand pumping outfit. The most disastrous fire in the town up to 1906 was the burning of the buildings at the corner of 8th and Arendell Streets in 1898.
This fire started in a two story frame building which stood on the site of the present building occupied by Hardware and Building Supplies Corp. Adjoining was a small warehouse and the ice house building. With a strong southwester blowing, the small hand pumper was unable to check the fire, resulting in the destruction of the three buildings.
On the corner directly across the street was a frame house occupied by the family of C. S. Wallace. The heat from the burning buildings was so intense, wet blankets were hung from the second story windows and from the porch roof. This prevented the fire from spreading across the street to other buildings.
From the records of the commissioners under date of May 18, 1906 appears a resolution to purchase from the Howe Engine Company a fire engine, reel and hose to be delivered at Morehead City for the sum of $2,160.00. This equipment was received the following July.
Arrival of the new outfit which was a gasoline engine driven pumper, mounted on a hand drawn chassis, gave impetus to the organization of a larger and better fire department. C. S. Wallace, who was mayor of the town at that time, was instructed by the board to organize a white and colored fire department, that members of each company would be exempt from poll taxes. The colored men of the town never organized a company. Within a few months the white citizens responded to the call, and from the applications an active department was set up.
The board in regular session April 5, 1907, appointed W. M. Webb as chief of the new department. Mr. Webb served in this capacity until November, 1908, when he resigned to fill the unexpired term as mayor, caused by the resignation of Mayor C. S. Wallace. The office of fire chief was conferred upon G. L. Arthur who served in that capacity for the next nine years.
During Mr. Webb's term of office as chief, the second disastrous fire occured. On the night of January 28, 1908, fire destroyed the row of wooden buildings from the southwest corner of Arendell and 8th Streets to the small one story brick house which stood on the present site of the Ferebee building.
The new power pumper gave good service at this fire but the firemen were handicapped by the lack of water, because the cisterns in the vicinity of the fire were soon pumped dry. As a last resort, to save the remaining buildings in the path of the fire, the pumper was taken out into the sound, the water being at low tide. Salt water and mud had its effect on the fire, checking it just before it reached the small office of Dr. Headen.
Following the purchase of the new fire fighting equipment, fire station headquarters were established in the old city hall building, which a short time before had been moved from the center of 9th Street where it was first erected at a cost of $175.00, to its present site.
A small bell which is said to have served as a school bell on the old school building destroyed in the storm of 1888, was mounted on a post in front of the station, serving as a fire alarm. Later this bell was replaced by a steel tire from a locomotive drive wheel. When struck by a hammer it had a farther carrying alarm than the old bell.
Citizens demanded a more central alarm and a large bell was purchased and hung from a wooden frame in the rear of the bank building. This bell served until the installing of the alarm system in 1923. The old bell rests today in an inverted position on the lawn of the municipal building, serving as a fish pond.
The story goes that the first bell cracked the first time an alarm was rung on it. A new bell was sent with instructions to destroy the damaged one. The bell was traded to John Morehead for a steel windmill tower which was put into use as a hose drying tower. The cracked bell was put out in the sound by Gib Willis for a tie buoy. To keep the pumper engine in condition for immediate use, Fred Royal was appointed engineer at a salary of $5.00 monthly to make frequent tests, as well as attending the outfit during a fire.
By 1910 the water system had been installed, giving more adequate fire protection. Pressure from the stand pipe, assisted by a pump connected to the water main, gave the needed fire fighting power. The old pumper was discarded and a horse-drawn hose wagon took its place.
The first horse-drawn hose wagon
The first light weight wagon that replaced the old hose reel was built by a firm in New Bern at a cost of $750.00, of which cost the firemen and the town each paid onehalf. This wagon was used later when the department members entered the racing tournaments at the annual fire conventions.
During the year 1912, a horse was purchased to serve on the street work as well as responding to fire alarms. This horse, given the name of “Gib,” in honor of Chief Gib Arthur, soon became a typical fire horse, heading for the fire station at the first alarm, many times leaving the driver behind, as well as wrecking the cart. His ability as a runner in the hose racing contests, in which a state record was established at Winston-Salem in 1914, is ever fresh in the memories of those members of the team on that occasion.
Equipped with a hose wagon and horse acceptable to the racing rules of the state convention, a team was formed and entry made for the first time at the annual convention held at Fayetteville in 1912. The team won second money at this event. They did not enter the contest held at Wilmington the next year. But the year 1914 brought them the state record.
Attending the convention at Winston-Salem that year the team was ready for all comers. After running the regular scheduled race and setting an unprecedented record, the judges were of the opinion that the stop watches were at fault. The team was required to make another run. Just to show up the judges, the boys beat their first timing, establishing a time record of 27 3/5 seconds. That record holds to this day.
Besides the driver, seven men took part in the race. A flying start was made 50 yards from the starting line, then a run by the horse and wagon of 200 yards to a hydrant, from which point 288 feet of hose was laid to the finish line, the time being recorded when the stream of water came from the nozzle.
John Webb was hydrant jumper. His duty was to connect the hose to the hydrant, while Elijah Willis stood by to turn on the water by the time the nozzle was connected. George Adams, who was the nozzle man, fed out the hose to the slack catchers, Richard Fodrie, Charles Wallace and Vannie Willis. When the finishing line was reached, Adams made the connection to the nozzle which was held by Fred Royal. As the water flowed from the nozzle, the stop watches took the time. The prize was $100.00.
By 1915, a second fire company had been organized, from the members of which a racing team was formed. When the state convention was held that year, the town had two teams in the field with considerable rivalry between them. Team No. 1 lost out due to an accident. Second place was won by team No. 2, known as the Obbie Willis team.
A delay in getting No. 1 team off, caused horse “Gib” to become almost unmanageable. When the signal was given, “Gib” made a lunge, ripping off part of his harness, leaving the wagon behind, making the run of the course alone. This was the last time the teams of the town entered a convention hose race.
In the fall of 1913, a movement was started to organize a second fire company to be located in the west section of the town. R. H. Dowdy came before the board, stating the facts regarding the organizing of company No. 2, asking the board to purchase a horse for drawing a hose wagon which the company would provide, also to furnish suitable quarters for horse and equipment.
This request did not meet with immediate attention on the part of the board. The records show that in May 1916, a horse called “Rex” was purchased for the new company and Cuff Willis assigned as driver. Also, plans were made for quarters for horse and hose wagon. The following year, property was bought on 13th Street and a suitable building erected.
After serving for nine years as Fire Chief, G. L. Arthur resigned in 1917, and C. W. Styron from company No. 1 was appointed
chief of the two companies. To comply with a state law the chief was allotted a salary of $1.00 a year.
Keeping pace with the growth of the town which brought about home building to the westward, and to give more prompt and rapid response to fire calls, the board in 1920 purchased from the American-LaFrance Fire Engine Company a Brockway hose truck for $5,300.00.
Previous to the purchase of the hose truck, the old pumper that had given service for several years was sold for $750.00. The horse “Gib” was offered for sale about this time. On account of his age and physical condition, no buyer was found for him. He was turned out to pasture for his remaining days. During this period George H. Nelson was serving as chief of the department.
In December 1922 the board gave a contract to the Gamewell Fire Alarm Company for installing an alarm system throughout the town, at a cost of $4,336.50. Three years later the board purchased the first motor driven fire truck with pumper, booster tank and ladders from the American-LaFrance people for $12,500.00. With the arrival of the new equipment a full time driver was placed on duty at the fire station.
Upon completion of the new municipal building and fire station in 1926, a club room was equipped for members of the department, with quarters for drivers on duty. C. W. Styron served again as chief following the term of George H. Nelson. He was followed
The burning of the Atlantic Hotel in 1933
in 1928 by L. E. Wade who served for the next two years.
The Morehead City Fire Department Main Station
During the second term of Chief Wade the board purchased from the American-LaFrance people the town's second combination pumper and ladder outfit at a cost of $13,850.00, turning in the old Brockway truck for a credit of $1,500.00. An effort was made at this time to form a new company to take over the new truck. After receiving the approval of the board the motion was rescinded. However, Company No. 1 was increased to 7 members and Company No. 2 to 8 new members.
For the past 25 years the city has maintained one of the best organized volunteer fire departments in the state, meeting all requirements of the underwriters with up-to-date equipment, thus giving property owners the lowest of insurance rates as well as efficient protection. In 1951 a new four wheel drive truck was put into service, bringing the equipment up to three pumpers with ladders and one hose truck.
In 1956, a new sub-station was erected in west Morehead City on Arendell Street in the vicinity of the Camp Glenn School. This new station is equipped and manned by competent personnel, and serves for much better fire protection for the citizens in the western part of the city.
The New Sub-Station in West Morehead City
Chiefs of Morehead City Fire Department
|Allen C. Davis||1895-1906|
|W. M. Webb||1907|
|G. L. Arthur||1908-1916|
|C. W. Styron||1917-1918|
|E. Stamey Davis||1919|
|L. E. Wade||1928-1929|
|H. W. Thornton||1930|
|E. Stamey Davis||1931-1932|
|Vernon C. Guthrie||1933-1935|
|James B. Willis||1937|
|Leslie D. Brinson||1938|
|Charles S. Canfield||1939|
|Tom D. Lewis||1940|
|Vernon C. Guthrie||1943-1944|
|Vernon C. Guthrie||1946-1951|
|Vernon C. Guthrie||1955-1957|
|Sam Adler||B. F. Royal|
|Esmond Brock||Charles Styron|
|Harry Burns||David Styron|
|Heddon Ballou||Dick Springle|
|Norman Canfield||Edward Swindell|
|E. Stamey Davis||Frank Swindell|
|Ed Jones||Cleveland Smith|
|Dick Jones||Thomas Wade|
|John Kline||George R. Wallace|
|George Laughton||Charles Willis|
|M. T. Lewis||Johnny Wetherington|
|Tom Lewis||McDonald Willis|
|Milton Morey||L. E. Wade|
|John Morris||H. B. Waters|
|W. C. Matthews||James B. Willis|
|Wade Neal||Reginald Willis|
|Hubert Perry||Earl Willis|
|Fred Royal||Walter Willis|
The Morehead City Fire Department is still a volunteer department, with six permanent paid drivers. Those on duty at the Main Station are Carl M. Edwards, Charles Edwards, John Parker and Eric W. Lewis. Those on duty at the Sub-Station are Nolan W. McCabe and Dan Willis.
Congratulations to our GOOD NEIGHBOR — Morehead City!
ALL ROADS LEAD TO THESE HIGHWAYS
AND ON TO
OPEN YEAR ROUND
Atlantic Beach, N. C.
ON THE OCEAN ACROSS THE BRIDGE
From Morehead City
Nature's Own Air Conditioned Beach
ALL WITHIN YOUR BUDGET
For The Family • The Young • The Old
• BATH HOUSES • PICNIC TABLES • FREE PARKING • AMUSEMENT PARK
HOTELS - MOTELS - ROOMS
SURF YOU DREAM ABOUT
There Is Something For Everyone
A Warm Friendly Greeting
Awaits You At
Atlantic Beach, N. C.
Sound Chevrolet Company, Inc.
Photo of Sound Chevrolet Co. Store
Pontiac Indian Silhouette Logo
A SOUND DEAL
IS A GOOD DEAL
Oldsmobile Planet Saturn Logo
CHEVROLET — OLDSMOBILE — PONTIAC — SALES & SERVICEBanking in Morehead City
As the town or village of Morehead City grew from its infancy to a fishing and shipping center, there arose the need for means of transferring credits and receiving payment for the products of its bays and sounds. Undoubtedly, there were individuals who had worked out their own methods of handling the necessary tools of commerce, but as the years passed and its citizens felt the need for a depository for their funds and a means of transferring money and credit, a bank became a necessity in the town.
Some forty-six years after the actual founding of Morehead City, on March 2, 1903, the Private Laws of North Carolina authorized “that T. A. Uzzell, W. S. Chadwick, N. W. Taylor, B. L. Jones, R. W. Taylor, Charles S. Wallace, J. B. Morton, T. D. Webb, L. L. Leary and their present and future associates, successors
First-Citizens Bank & Trust Co.
and assigns, be and are hereby constituted, created and declared to be a body politic and corporate under the name and style of ‘The Bank of Carteret’.” So began the first bank in Morehead City, located on the present site of First-Citizens Bank and Trust Co. However, as is the case with most first ventures, this bank was unable to attract enough deposits and was forced to close in 1908.
The need for a bank in Morehead City remained present and on March 2, 1909, exactly six years after the first bank opened, The Bank of Morehead City succeeded the Bank of Carteret. Incorporators of this bank were L. L. Leary, W. L. Arendell, J. B. Morton, T. D. Webb, R. W. Taylor, R. F. Willis, T. A. Uzzell, W. S. Chadwick and Peter N. Schmrrek. On July 19, 1918, the original charter was amended to enlarge the powers of this bank, and it continued in business until the early 1930's.
On October 1, 1912, on the site of the present Broadway Cafe, another group of citizens formed the Marine Bank. Total capital stock authorized was fifty thousand dollars, with the provision that the bank could commence operations when fifteen thousand dollars had been subscribed. Original subscribers were G. D. Canfield, W. M. Webb, W. J. Moore and E. A. Council. This bank continued in operation until the approximate date of the failure of the Bank of Morehead City in the early 1930's.
With the closing of the two banks in Morehead City and depressed conditions over the whole country, there was little effort made to charter another bank in Morehead
City for some time. However, the need for banking services was still felt at this time. Mr. N. F. Eure, who operated the Hardware and Building Supplies Corp., opened an exchange for Wachovia Bank and Trust Co. of Raleigh, in May of 1933 for the purpose of accepting deposits and making change and currency available to its customers. He and his daughter, the present Mrs. A. B. Roberts, continued to operate this exchange until early in the next year.
On February 21, 1934, First-Citizens Bank & Trust Co. with home office in Smithfield, N. C. bought the Bank of Morehead City location and opened a branch office at that address. Mr. I. E. Pittman was employed as cashier and Mrs. Roberts, who closed the exchange she had been operating, was employed as bookkeeper. This bank continued to grow over the years and expanded its services by the addition of an installment loan department in April, 1950. Further growth of its services required enlargement and in 1953 the entire interior was remodeled and enlarged by the addition of new vaults and a bookkeeping department. The staff of the bank grew from the two persons originally employed to a present force of over twenty persons.
To complete the story of banking in Morehead City, the last arrival to the scene is the Commercial National Bank, a branch of Kinston, which opened September 1, 1954 at the previous location of Morehead City Drug Co. Presently, it is employing some ten people, under the direction of Mr. Rufus E. Butner, Cashier.
In addition to the banks in this city, Morehead City was the actual birthplace of the North Carolina Bankers Association, which now represents 535 banks throughout the state. On July 24, 1897, “a band of 30 North Carolina Bankers and their guests met in the stuffy little auditorium called the Teachers Assembly Hall at Morehead City. Small as the number may appear by today's standards, that assembly was a notable achievement for its day,” states the Tarheel Banker, official organ of the North Carolina Bankers Association. From the minutes of this first meeting, Mr. T. W. Dewey, of New Bern, closes with this comment. “The invigorating breezes of the Old Atlantic, her rejuvenating surf baths, charming moonlight seas, and other avenues of delightful social intercourse, will recall for many long years these happy associations of Morehead City and our first North Carolina Bankers Association.”
Commercial National Bank on Arendell Street
There are 16 or more manufacturing establishments in Morehead City which employ 1,424 workers. In 1948 the industrial payroll in Morehead City was approximately $1,000,000.00, while in 1955 this payroll was $2,619,000.00. This indicated a healthy growth in industry during the past several years. A good indication for continued growth is that Morehead City has available to it an estimated 1500 workers to serve in new industries.
Industry in Morehead City is engaged in the manufacture of the following products: apparel, food, fish meal, fish scrap, fish oil, roofing and asphalt materials, boats and yachts, lumber and wood products.
Commercial fishing, for many years the main industry in Morehead City, has continued to expand. Carteret County now produces more tons of fish per year than any County on the Atlantic or Gulf Coast.
Aerial view of one of the commercial fisheries in
With the exception of the menhaden, practically all of the other catches of fish, crabs, clams, escallops and oysters are shipped out of North Carolina for processing and distribution, with the result that attention is now being focused upon the local need for storage and processing industries. Opportunity awaits the individuals or firms who will move to Morehead City where their plants will be close to the main source of supply. The Wallace Fisheries and R. W. Taylor Company process millions of pounds of menhaden annually and thousands of gallons of valuable fish oil is extracted and exported for use in soaps and cosmetics. Tons of the remaining scrap are bagged and shipped for use as feed or fertilizer to all parts of the nation.
Boatbuilding, naturally one of the oldest industries in this locality where nearly everyone has a boat, and where many build their own, has now grown to the extent that several firms are building boats of varying sizes on a mass production basis for shipment to all parts of the Atlantic and Gulf Coast. Sleek Hatteras trawlers are in demand from Maine to Texas, and are famous for quality construction, sea - worthiness and graceful lines. Yachts and cruisers for charter purposes, built by craftsmen with a lifetime of experience are being turned out by numberous small boat yards, most of which have difficulty keeping pace with the steady increase in orders.
Hatteras trawler under construction.
The Morehead City Garment Company, dedicated to quality production of Beaver shirts, has been in operation for over twenty years and now employs some 300 persons.
This company's products are well known throughout the United States.
Sport Shirts made by Morehead City Garment Co.
The Lloyd A. Fry Roofing Company, importing its asphalt through the Port of Morehead City, manufactures shingles and roofing products, and operating its own trucks, supplies roofing to a vast area of the Eastern states. The Volney Felt Mills and the Trumbull Asphalt Company also import the raw products, necessary for their operation, through this growing port.
Lloyd A. Fry Roofing Co. and Volney Felt Mills
A seemingly inexhaustible supply of pine timber in Carteret County keeps six mills in steady operation, while smaller timber is cut and shipped to distant pulp mills.
An unlimited, deep well water supply, ocean port facilities, inland waterways, adequate highways, rail, bus and air transportation plus a good supply of unskilled, trainable labor, is now attracting many new industries to the Morehead City area.
A part of Trumbull Asphalt Co. plant
The Morehead City Garment Co., Inc., 1504-08 Bridges St., Morehead City, has been one of Morehead City's principal industries for more than 21 years. Starting modestly, it has expanded extensively and increased its production until it now makes more than a million sport shirts annually and has recently completed a branch plant at Lillington, N. C., which will produce more than half as many more shirts.
The Morehead City Garment Co. was organized and incorporated in 1936 by Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Jackson as a firm to produce shirts on a contract basis for the Beaver Shirt Co. in New York City, continuing this type of operation for about three years. At that time Mr. and Mrs. Jackson acquired half interest in the Beaver Shirt Co., and J. Peters, president of the Beaver Shirt Co. acquired
half interest in the Morehead City Garment Co.
In the early 1930's, a group of Morehead City businessmen formed the Morehead City Builders, Incorporated. It was the purpose of this organization to promote and assist in bringing industry to Morehead City. This corporation bought the property and erected the original building which is now a part of the Morehead City Garment Company.
In order to accomplish this undertaking, the corporation was obliged to call on the merchants and citizens for financial assistance. The town government made its contribution to the cause, and in 1935, the corporation deeded the property to the town of Morehead City.
When the Morehead City Garment Co. was first organized, it leased the building containing 18,000 sq. ft. from the Town of Morehead City. As business increased, the company erected additions, from time to time, until three separate wings had been erected, containing 30,000 sq. ft. of floor space, giving the plant 48,000 sq. ft. of production space. The firm now employs from 250 to 300 workers, 90% of whom are women, with an annual payroll ranging around $800,000.
The Morehead City Garment Co. produces sports shirts exclusively. Its production ranges around 90,000 dozen or 1,080,000 shirts annually. In bulk these shirts make up about four carloads a week, or a little less than a full carload daily.
Employees of the Morehead City Garment Co. are provided the hospital insurance plan paid for by the company, and, after two years of employment, an employee may bring members of his family under the plan. The company also makes available for its employees group life and group health insurance plans. The company provides one week of paid vacation at Christmas time and another week around July 1 for eligible employees, plus additional paid holidays.
An interesting feature is that during the past five years religious services have been conducted at the plant each Wednesday at 9:00 a.m., continuing for 30 minutes. The Carteret County Ministerial Association arranges and conducts the service, one of its members having charge each week.
Employees of Morehead City Garment Co.
Present officers of the Morehead City Garment Co. are Mrs. J. W. Jackson,, president; J. Peters, New York City, vice-president; Abe Silverman, New York City, secretary; Truman D. Kemp, treasurer and general manager, and C. V. Hooper, coming from Alamance County, is assistant secretary and manager of the Lillington plant.
Mr. and Mrs. Jackson, from Lykens, Penn., had operated their own shirt plant there before coming to Morehead City to organize and start the plant here in 1936. Their operations in garment manufacturing cover a period of 28 years. Following Mr. Jackson's death in 1947, Mrs. Jackson took complete charge of the firm and has since operated it very successfully. She and Mr. Kemp handled the plans for the new plant at Lillington. Mr. Kemp, general manager, has been engaged in shirt manufacturing for 25 years in Pennsylvania, Alabama and Tennessee. He came to Morehead City in 1949 as production manager. Early in 1951 he assumed the full duties of general manager. In June of 1953, Mr. Kemp and Mr. Silverman became partners in the business. Mr. Hooper became a partner in June of 1954.
Mr. Silverman was transferred from the Beaver Shirt Co., which is the sales organization, in 1939, as superintendent of finishing and shipping. He has had continuous service with the company since that time with the exception of 3½ years in the service of the U. S. Army, Quartermaster Division, having overseas duty.
The Lillington Garment Co., totally owned by the owners of the Morehead City Garment Co., started operations in temporary quarters in Lillington the summer of 1954, pending the erection of a modern factory building by the Industrial Development Corp., composed of Lillington citizens. This building is of brick, steel and concrete. It contains 31,000 sq. ft. of floor space, all on one floor, and is air-conditioned. The building is so constructed that it can be conveniently enlarged. The cost was approximately $160,000. When completely staffed, this plant will employ about 200 people with an annual payroll ranging around $600,000. This is Lillington's largest industry, and is two-thirds the size of the Morehead City plant.Morehead City
The name and fame of Morehead City have been spread far and wide by the sturdy fishing boats made by the Morehead City Shipbuilding Corporation.
One of Carteret County's chief industrial operations, the firm builds Hatteras Trawlers, which are being operated successfully by commercial fishermen from the North Atlantic to the Gulf of Mexico—from Massachusetts to Texas.
Hatteras Trawlers are made in three lengths in two versions. One is the familiar shrimp trawler design, with deckhouse forward. The other is a modification for use in Northern waters, with deckhouse aft and finished in a turtleback.
The boats are built in a well-equipped yard which fronts on three streets—Bridges, North 4th, and Fisher. Facilities include a huge trawler shed in which four boats can be built at one time. A production build-up in recent months has more than doubled the yard's previous rate of output.
A major project completed recently was the filling of a U. S. Navy contract for eighteen 50-foot utility boats which will be assigned to super-carriers of the Forrestal class.
A number of Hatteras Trawlers are operated by North Carolina fishermen, including several in the Morehead City area. Local owners include Ottis Purifoy, V. J. (Puck) O'Neal, and Albert Lea, all of Morehead City; David Beveridge, Harry E. Gillikin, Gerald R. Austin, and Meadows Seafood Company, all of Beaufort; and Harry B. and Clayton Fulcher, Jr., of Atlantic.
The Morehead City Shipbuilding Corporation is headed by R. C. Kirchofer of Raleigh as president. Other officers are: J. E. (Johnny) Naf, vice-president and general manager; J. W. Thompson, vice president; George W. Williams, secretary and general counsel; C. S. Hardison, Jr., assistant vice-president and divisional superintendent; W. H. Taylor, assistant vice-president and divisional superintendent; Miss M. B. Neal, assistant secretary and assistant treasurer; Coy Burchfield, Jr., assistant treasurer; and Mrs. E. T. Hogue, assistant secretary.Commercial Fishing
Off the Carteret coast flows the Gulf Stream, bringing this area the fish native to warmer southern waters. Thus, many species mingle here making the central Carolina coast a fruitful fishing area.
In the fall and winter docks are crowded with menhaden boats, their masts towering above adjacent buildings in the town of Morehead City.
Menhaden by the thousands are caught in a single haul
More menhaden factories are located in Carteret County than in any other seacoast county of North Carolina. In Morehead City we have the Carteret Fish & Oil Company, R. W. Taylor Company. Wallace Fisheries, Wallace Menhaden Company, Phillips Fisheries and Marine Chemurgics.
Craft from northern ports, following the fish, arrive here each fall and depart again in the spring for the north. Many of the local boats also operate, in season, out of Louisiana and in the Gulf of Mexico.
No kind of commercial fishing is easy, but there are few who would be willing to change places with the man in a purse boat on a cold gray day in December. For the man with others in the crew, is straining his back and grasping with numb fingers the web of the purse seine in which thousands of menhaden are squirming and flipping.
If there is a good catch, his pay will be gratifying: if not, he hopes for better luck next week. Like all fishermen, his economic well-being depends on how many pounds were brought ashore and whether there is a good market.
Menhaden fishing is an expensive operation. It's risky for the man ashore who puts hundreds of thousands of dollars into factory and boats—and it's risky for the lowest man in a menhaden crew. He has nothing to lose but his life.
Greed has, on occasion, spelled doom for a crew. An eager captain who overloads his
boat is courting disaster, for just a “medium rough” sea could sink the vessel.
The menhaden season in North Carolina opens about November as the schools of fish come down the Atlantic coast from the north. The boats from New Jersey, Virginia, and the Gulf states begin appearing at Morehead City the latter part of October.
In the early part of the season the menhaden boats, distinguished by their tall masts and crows nests, chug north around Ocracoke and Hatteras to meet the fish. Then as the season progresses, they operate out of Beaufort and Morehead City until finally, about the second week of January, the fish are “gone” and the North Carolina season is over for another year.
In the dark of the night the menhaden crew assembles for the day's fishing. In their heavy rubber boots, the men who have slept ashore tramp to the boat, and if the captain is lucky, before dawn begins to glimmer in the sky, he has a full crew aboard.
The boats, tied sometimes as many as eight abreast, peel off one by one and head for the open sea.
Some of the commercial fishing craft in Morehead
When the hold is full (and sometimes overflowing) the boats head for the factory.
As soon as the menhaden boat deposits its cargo at the factory, the job is done for another day. The crew is paid according to the number of fish the boat brings in.
Harvesting of shellfish and taking of fin fish for food constitute a major part of the fishing industry. While the menhaden caught are processed at local factories for oil and meal, the other types of seafood are shipped to retail markets upstate and to the north.
Although fishing is frequently thought of as a primitive type of industry, fishermen of North Carolina are learning to apply modern methods in the harvesting of food from the sea. Sail craft are a thing of the past. Boats are powered with diesels and gasoline-burning engines, depth recorders for locating fish are used, airplanes help spot schools of menhaden, tested and proved fish-taking gear are replacing the gear of grandfather's day, and nylon nets are steadily coming into wider use.
North Carolina recognizes worth and the potential in her commercial fishing industry. Through regulations, efforts are being made to conserve her seafood resources. Through scientific study, ways are being found to replenish present supplies. Progressive North Carolina will not be found among the missing when historians record the leaders in preservation and perpetuation of the ancient and honorable commercial fishing industry.
“WITH PRIDE WE'RE A PART OF MOREHEAD CITY”
Photo of Blanchard family in store
ELECTRICAL CONTRACTING AND REPAIRING
BLANCHARD'S ELECTRIC SERVICE
819 Arendell St.
Morehead City, N. C.
Morehead City Hospital had its beginning in the heart and mind of Dr. Ben F. Royal, who returned to his native town in 1911 after finishing his medical education. With the assistance of several of his civic-minded friends, he established a seven bed hospital on one side of the second floor of the Paragon Building on Arendell Street, with Miss Edith Broadway as superintendent. At that time, the population of Morehead City was less than 2,000. Except for one train a day to and from New Bern, transportation was almost entirely by boat. The city limits extended only as far as 14th Street.
Even so, the hospital soon outgrew its quarters and spread over to the other side of the Paragon Building with a capacity of fourteen beds. With the advent of the automobile to facilitate transportation, plus the general advancement in medical science and improvement in the care and treatment of the sick hospitals became able to provide, Morehead City Hospital again outgrew its quarters, and the need for a building designed for hospital use became apparent.
Again Dr. Royal was able to enlist the aid of friends, many of whose names are a part of Morehead City's history. These men, because of their faith in Dr. Royal and in the future of the town, subscribed to stock in a corporation known as the Morehead City Hospital Association, in which Dr. Royal and his family owned the controlling interest, and which financed the erection of a twenty-eight bed hospital on its present site. The new building was opened early in 1919 and was at that time considered by many to be entirely too large for the needs of a community of the size in which it was located. Miss Broadway continued as head nurse. Many stories are told of Miss Broadway's devotion to duty and her heroism.
Morehead City Hospital located on the waterfront
A training school for nurses was operated for three or four years during this period, with approximately ten nurses being graduated before the school was discontinued.
For the next few years the hospital operated in a routine manner without particular highlights. With the establishment of the Duke Endowment with its purpose of extending financial aid to hospitals of the Carolinas operating on a non-profit basis, the hospital was turned over to the Town of Morehead City, after a special election at which the proposal that the town buy the hospital property was carried by an overwhelming majority. Almost half of the purchase price came from the Duke Endowment. The twenty-eight beds available at that time served the city and county fairly adequately until the onset of World War II.
During the Battle of the Atlantic, which was fought within sound and sometimes sight of the hospital, survivors from the vessels sunk off shore were brought by the boat loads, sometimes as many as three boat loads in a day. Most of these survivors were suffering from exposure, shock, burns, fractures, and shrapnel wounds. Despite the fact that these casualties were many in number, taxing the facilities of the hospital to the utmost, they were handled so successfully that not one of them died.
During the last days of the submarine warfare, the government, realizing the over-crowded condition of the hospital's facilities, erected a 32-bed annex on land secured without charge through the generosity of Mr. Earle W. Webb. Fortunately, submarine activity ceased about the time the building was completed and it was never used for the purpose for which it was intended. The entire coast of North Carolina was manned by the Coast Guard or some other military branch of the government, and it became necessary to convert the newly erected annex into a Coast Guard sick bay. As such it was used for about eighteen months.
After being vacated by the Coast Guard, in order to free more beds in the hospital for general medical and surgical patients, the sick bay was converted into a maternity ward and was so used for approximately two years, during which time nearly 800 babies were born within its structure.
With the passage in 1943 of the Lanham Act by the Congress of the United States, citizens of Morehead City interested Congressman Barden of the 3rd Congressional District in the hospital needs of the town, and largely through his efforts, a two hundred thousand dollar grant was procured for the erection of the present east wing, which was opened in June 1946. In November of the same year, the maternity department was transferred back to the second floor of the combined old and new buildings and the hospital assumed a capacity of 58 beds and 18 bassinets.
In 1956 the Board of Trustees embarked upon a large scale renovation and expansion program, necessitated by hurricane damage and increased hospital census. Some forty thousand dollars were spent to put the plant in good repair.
The hospital, now a fully equipped, 75 bed institution, employing 62 people, treated a total of 3,661 patients in 1956; there were 655 surgical procedures done and approximately 500 live births.
It is believed that this program will make it possible for the Morehead City Hospital to continue to offer complete medical service to Morehead City and Carteret County.
What's ahead for Morehead?
MOREHEAD CITY, N.C.
August 4th-10th, 1957
Morehead City Official Seal
THE First Hundred Years may be the hardest but it's a happy day for any community when it marks a century of healthy, steady progress. Morehead City citizens can be justly proud of the past as they celebrate their Centennial.
At the same time, they realize that true prosperity demands planning for the years ahead. For this is the real measure of a successful community.
To that end, Morehead City has again entered the Finer Carolina Contest. CP&L is proud to sponsor this community program for progress again in 1957. We wish the folks at Morehead City every success in the contest and congratulate them for the outstanding program they have planned for their Centennial Celebration.
Neighbors like these make us feel proud to have a part in helping to build a Finer Carolina.
Electricity - Indispensable Ingredient of Progress
Helping to Build A Finer Carolina
CAROLINA POWER & LIGHT COMPANYCOMMUNICATIONS
A hundred years ago, the brand new spot on the map designated Morehead City, had to depend on word of mouth to relay information. Today the picture has changed entirely; so much so, that our first citizens would find our present means of communication unbelievable. With the advances made in modern technique and development, we are always well informed of happenings in our community and the entire world. At the birth of Morehead City, there was nothing like telephone, telegraph, or radio. One century later, we can look back and say that we have come a long way.
Western Union Telegraph was the first speedy communication service in our city. Officially the records give 1894 as the starting date for this service, but actually telegraphy was in use prior to that time. With all of the present day improvements in this service, we can communicate with any point in the nation in just a matter of hours.
At the turn of the century (about 1905), a new service was inaugurated in Morehead City. The Home Telephone Company introduced this revolutionary device to us. The telephone, in its infancy, was a wonderful step in progress, but of course, it was a problem too. Connections from community to community were very difficult, however during the roaring 20's (about 1927) Carolina Telephone & Telegraph took it over, and through the ensuing years has made it the dependable service that it is.
The “Wireless” is a comparative newcomer to our fair city. Radio was in limited use by individuals and the Coast Guard before 1938, but in that year our commercial fishing boats began using it.
Morehead City's police department installed its two-way radio in 1950, and this year the department changed over from high to low frequency radio communication, so that they can make better contact with distant points. Now the Morehead City police department is in 24 hour contact with the State Highway Patrol, New Bern, Jacksonville, Washington, Beaufort, Atlantic Beach, and the Marine Corps Military Police.
Radio station WMBL went on the air in 1947, to bring still another communication to Morehead City. With its United Press leased wires it can bring you the news of the world in just a matter of minutes. WMBL can reach thousands of people instantaneously, communicating weather and news bulletins. The Morehead City radio station is heard from Maine to Florida, and has been heard all the way to Nebraska. Particularly, this is true during hurricane season, when friends and relatives at distant points want information on conditions in this locale.
In line with weather reporting, we have more than a dozen “Ham” operators in our town who keep in touch with other points, and are ready, willing and able to relay information to distant points via their radios when a hurricane is brewing.
Communications in Morehead City has indeed come a long way in our first one hundred years. Who knows what the next one hundred will bring us. The founding fathers of this fair city could not even imagine what we are enjoying in 1957. In the year 2057, our present day means of communication may well be antiquated. Just as the public of 1857 would have thought radio, and the telephone were beyond imagination, we, the present-day residents of Morehead City, would have trouble visualizing the advancements which may be made in communications by 2057. Telephones in most automobiles; visual telephones in our homes; three-dimensional television with no wires of any kind, except where you hang it on the wall like a picture; all of these are within the realm of possibility.
Whatever the advancements may be, we can be sure of one thing: Morehead City will endorse progress in all fields of communication in the future.
Carteret County News-Times
CARTERET COUNTY'S NEWSPAPER
Lockwood Phillips, Publisher
Ruth Peeling, Editor
Eleanore Dear Phillips, Co-Publisher
The Tar Heel Coast Prize Winning Newspaper
“Congratulations To Our Good Neighbor Morehead City”
Photo of Wallace Fisheries Plant
Wallace Fisheries Co., Inc.
DINE AND DANCE
BLUE RIBBON CLUB
Highway 70 West
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
“Specializing In Delicious Steaks”SCOUTING
FLOYD CHADWICK, JR.
Down through the years, the names “Beaver, Flying Eagle, Bear, Rattlesnake, Sea Gull, Flaming Arrow” and other familiar scout names for patrols have left themselves firmly imprinted upon the minds of boys who long ago have arrived on the scene of manhood and now direct the religious, political, economic and most phases of our school order. The town of Morehead City is certainly no exception to this statement, for most of the people you will encounter today who are leaders in our city, have at one time or another, been associated with scouting, and are familiar with all these names.
The first organized scout movement in Morehead City started in 1913 with Mr. Barr as Scoutmaster. Some of the scouts in that troop included Ed Arendell, Gordon Goodwin, Douglas Eaton, Horace Mizell and Ed Jones. Certainly there were others, but memory has a way of escaping us, and a complete list of scouts is not available.
Scouting in the early years was not highly organized as it is today. Troops were registered independently of one another in various locales, with Boy Scouts of America, New York City, and that was about all the organization there was until the charter came up for renewal the next year.
Scouting through the years in Morehead City has enjoyed high and low spots. From 1913 through 1921 there was organized scouting in Morehead City. Mr. Norman Webb was Scoutmaster of Troop No. 1 prior to World War I, at which time the scouts met in Redmen's Hall located on the site where the Hotel Fort Macon now stands.
After Mr. Webb went into the military service in 1917, Mr. Cullen Wade took over the reins of Scoutmaster, followed by Mr. Miles McKinsley. Then, perhaps one of the most beloved and devoted scouters Morehead City has ever had, Mr. Stamey Davis, became Scoutmaster. Mr. Davis associated himself with scouting not only as Scoutmaster at that time, but came back in the thirties to accept the Scoutmaster role again, and during other periods has served in several capacities.
During the period 1916 through 1921, the roster at one time or another carried the names of Clyde G. Willis, Earl Freeman, Clyde E. Willis, James Lewis, Doug Eaton, Gordon Webb, Percy Howland, James Canfield, Doug Styron, Carlton Salter, Doxie Salter, Harold Webb, Charles Canfield, Raymond K. Davis, Teddy Willis, William Fodrie, Billy Piner, George Wallace, George Dill, Jack Roberts and others.
From this group, certainly, there are names that people will recognize as some of Morehead City's leading citizens. It was during this period that a band was formed within the troop, and this band gave many enjoyable concerts. Mr. Zebb Butts worked most actively with this group of musicians, and when Mr. Davis left Morehead City for a short time, took over as Scoutmaster.
During the early twenties there doesn't seem to have been any organized Scouting in town, but in 1925 it came back again, under the direction of Mr. Marshall Helms. In this troop were Homer and Benny Way, Frank Staton, Richard Glen Harker, Reginald Willis, Bruce Goodwin, Skinner Chalk, and D. G. Bell, Carteret County's present representative to the state legislature.
During the late twenties and early thirties, the troop, which now carried the numeral 9, was under the direction of persons associated with public schools, among whom were Mr. T. P. Burgess and Mr. J. C. Watts. These Scouts met, as had others before them, in a red frame building which was on the north-west corner of the school grounds, where the gymnasium now stands. Boys in the troop in this era, who have since grown into manhood and hold, or have held, responsible positions in our community, include
Bernard Leary, Douglas Dowdy, Ethan Davis, Jr., J. M. Davis, Ben Royal, Jr., George Wyatt Lewis, Charles and Clinton Lincoln, Clifton Guthrie, Bobby Roberts, Bill Chalk, and Charles B. Wade.
Scouting folded in the early thirties, but came back strong under the direction of Mr. D. M. Sharpe, pastor of the First Methodist Church. With the Rotary Club of Morehead City sponsoring, Mr. Sharpe organized troop No. 39. This troop enjoyed continuous service from 1934 through the years of World War II.
In the early days of Troop 39, the roster carried the names of Edward Council, Courtney Webb, Dick Swindell, Bill Ballou, Edward Guthrie, Julian Willis, and many others. During the middle thirties, the following names are found: Jesse Staton, who later became a Methodist Minister, Luther Hamilton, Jr., a graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy at Annapolis, Charles Freeman, Gordon Earle Freeman, Floyd Chadwick, Jr., Paul Moore, Marion Mills, James Webb, Henry O. Wade and many others. These boys were privileged to learn their scouting under the direction of Mr. Sharpe, and later under the direction of Dr. Darden Eure, Mr. Stamey Davis, back for his second role as Scoutmaster, Mr. K. C. Seawright, pastor of the Webb Memorial Presbyterian Church, and Bernard Leary.
It was during Mr. Seawright's leadership that Dick Swindell received the rank of Eagle Scout, the first boy so honored in the history of scouting in Morehead City.
Capt. Walt Dunkle assumed leadership of Troop 39 in 1941, and continued through the years of World War II.
Other Scouts under Capt. Walt include Herbert Phillips, III, P. H. Geer, Jr., S. W. Thompson, Gib Arthur, Kenneth Highsmith.
In the post war years, Troop 39 disbanded, but scouting was not dead in Morehead City. Mr. Jerome Honeycutt, pastor at the Franklin Memorial Methodist Church, had organized a troop sponsored by his church, and became its first Scoutmaster. In succeeding years Coach Gannon Talbot, Mr. Earl Willis, Mr. Abram Willis, and in more recent years. Mr. Gerald Davis has served as Scoutmaster. This troop has been active since 1943, and though it is not carrying the original numeral, which was No. 101, it is the same troop that is sponsored now by the Parkview Baptist Church in the Mansfield Park area, and carrying the numeral 334. From this troop has come one Eagle Scout, James E. Willis.
Also in the post war years, the Men's Bible Class of the First Baptist Church organized Troop No. 130, under the leadership of Mr. Quincy Stimpson as Scoutmaster. Mr. Clyde Jones followed Mr. Stimpson as Scoutmaster.
In 1949 the Junior Chamber of Commerce of Morehead City took over the sponsorship of Troop No. 130, and Floyd Chadwick, Jr. became Scoutmaster. In 1951 the First Methodist Church took over sponsorship of Troop No. 130 and continues to sponsor it to this date.
This troop has had three boys who qualified for their Eagle Scout badge; James B. Willis, Jr., Gordon C. Willis, Jr., and Darden J. Eure, Jr. Gordon, as a result of prior training in Baptist Training Union, and through his own study, also received the coveted “God and Country Award.”
In 1954 Mr. Ed McKinley became Scoutmaster and served the troop faithfully. Mr. Ethan Davis is now Scoutmaster of this troop, with Dr. T. R. Rice as Assistant Scoutmaster.
There are countless other adults, who, down through the years, have aided the cause of scouting in roles other than scoutmaster. Troop committeemen, assistant Scoutmasters, persons concerned with finance and advancement, all have contributed to the growth and quality of scouting. To them scouting owes a great deal.
Appearing on the roster of the two troops in town today are the names of boys who some day will take their places in writing the future history of our community, as scouts before them have done.
Here are the First-Citizens Morehead City
Office employees that make it possible for you
to enjoy the finest in modern banking servier.
We're proud to be a vital part of progressive Morehead City and Carteret County
MEMBER FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION
and ready to help build an even finer community in the next 100 years!
* MOREHEAD CITY
* Beaufort * Newport * Havelock
* Cherry Point * New Bern
and many other fine N. C. communities!
We never forget to “Thank You!”
Few locations in the world offer the wide varieties of outdoor recreation available in Morehead City and vicinity.
A sport fishing fleet of 30 or more charter boats operating from the water front offers trips to the Gulf Stream for the angler who wants the thrill of landing sailfish, amberjack or king mackerel. Many other boats are available for fishing in the rivers and sounds for trout, blue fish, and a wide variety of bottom fish. No license is required for fishing in the tidal waters around Morehead City.
Three piers reaching out into the ocean from Bogue Banks, just across Bogue Sound from Morehead City, offer the best of sport to those who do not care for boats. While the fisherman is busy on the pier, his family may roam the sandy beach or enjoy bathing in the surf.
Two piers over Bogue Sound and one on the Newport River offer the sportsman a variety of bottom fishing. The fact is that there are some 615 miles of shoreline around Morehead City, for fishing, crabbing, oystering and clamming.
Hundreds of square miles of uninhabited woodlands surrounding Morehead City are natural shelters for all types of wildlife.
Morehead City Recreation Center.
In season, just about every type of game is plentiful: deer, bear, squirrels, rabbits, and quail. The countless acres of salt marshes attract all types of migratory fowl in the fall and winter, making this section one of the best duck and wild goose hunting grounds on the coast.
Water, water everywhere invites those interested in bathing, boating, water skiing or just loafing on the miles of smooth, sandy beaches. Shell collectors, artists and picnic parties can roam the miles of sand dunes and beaches to their hearts’ content.
The surrounding historic sites and the many maritime communities offer boundless photographic material for the camera enthusiast.
Fort Macon State Park, with its complete seashore recreation facilities, attracts thousands of people each year. Morehead City has two theatres, a Recreation Center for teen-agers, tennis courts, and playgrounds for the kiddies. A beautiful, new, eighteen hole golf course, located on the banks of Newport River, is a challenge to the amateur or professional.
With all the recreation facilities found in and around Morehead City, this area has truly earned the name “The Playground of Enchanting Waters.”
Pleasure boats at Morehead City Yacht Basin.
A city-supported recreation program was first started in Morehead City in 1951. The voters approved a plan to use 10 cents of every tax dollar for a winter and summer program.
Today, the facilities cover an entire city block, and include a large building, two tennis courts, and a softball field. Activities are ping-pong, dancing, checkers, horsehoes, singing, baseball, volleyball, softball and a reading center. These activities are mainly for the school age group, and total attendance averages 27,300 per year. Attendance for inside activities of the various civic clubs, churches and local business people averages as many as 45,000 a year.
The personnel of the center are well-qualified for their respective positions. Mr. Fred G. Lewis, the director, holds a master's degree, and is qualified to teach children with retarded speech. Mr. Ralph Wade, the local high school band director, is employed during the summer, and gives music lessons in addition to assisting with the recreational program. Mrs. Mamie Taylor, a school teacher, is the secretary.
The recreation program also has a colored division under the directorship of Mr. John Thompson, a teacher at the local school.
Expenditures are supervised by the city-appointed recreation commission. Approximately $6,000 per annum is received for operation. Of this amount, approximately $4,000 is spent in salaries, and $2,000 in upkeep and new equipment.
Each year has seen improvements in all departments, and it is generally agreed that the program is of great benefit to young people and adults.SPORTS
All through the years Morehead City has been fortunate in having outstanding athletes who have participated in all types of sports. Many have made a name for themselves in the sports world; many others have endeared themselves to the local sports enthusiasts.
In the early days of our town, sail boat racing was a popular sport. The SHARPIE races which were started before the turn of the century were events of general public interest. These boats were around 50 feet long, and in a strong wind it took a crew of 5 or 6 men plus about 20 sand bags just to hold them in the water. These races usually began at the old Atlantic Hotel, ran out to Fort Macon point, then back up the sound to a buoy opposite what is now 24th street, then back to the hotel. As a prize, the winning captain and crew were feted at the hotel that evening. Perhaps some of the oldtimers will remember the names of some of the sharpies: “Gertrude”, “Bloomer”, “Grace”, “Maggie Wade”, and “Viola”.
Sailboats of today in the calm waters of the Sound
In more recent years, motor boat racing and the smaller sailboat races have been very popular. Sprit races have been revived under leadership of the younger sailors. Also, aquaplaning has become very popular for the water sportsman.
Without a doubt, our greatest accomplishment in sports has been in baseball, our national pastime. We can trace baseball in Morehead City back to 1891 when the “Ov's”
were formed. This team, coached by Ed Cartwright of the Washington, D. C., club of the National League, played together for three years and were never defeated. Their play was not restricted to local competition, but they defeated many teams from larger cities including Wilson, Goldsboro and New Bern. Members of this team were: Fred Royal, Nathan Piner, Will Howland, John Wade, Fred Fulford, Bill Jackson, Joe Wheel Wallace, Gib Arthur, George Piner and Will Webb.
There was another team in Morehead City about the same time as the “Ov's”. This team was called the “Feasters.” Although this team lacked the all-around ability of the “Ov's”, they did not lack for spirit and love of the game.
Mr. Fred Royal, outstanding picther for the “Ov's”, and also the oldest living male native of Morehead City, attributes the fine record of the “Ov's” to the exceptional leadership and general sports knowledge of Mr. Cartwright.
The names of Paul Webb, Winfield Wade, Halbert Ball, Bradley McIntosh should bring back memories to the older citizens of good games on the baseball diamond. In 1930 young Walter Davis almost pitched Morehead City to the eastern championship in Hamlet. After working for 13 innings and allowing only 2 hits, the game was called because of darkness with the score tied 1 and 1. On the very next day at McColl, S. C., being the only pitcher on the team, Walter tried to go the route again, and the team got as far as the ninth inning before going down to defeat.
Jake Wade, Robert McCready and Ben Wade are other local boys who have left their mark in the baseball history books. Jake and Ben, sons of Mrs. Jacob Wade, both reached the major leagues and each had a good measure of success there. Ben is still active and is rated as one of the better pitchers in the Triple A Pacific Coast League.
In more recent years our high school teams have won several conference championships and have produced several outstanding teams. Our tidewater league team has done well in its seasonal play, also. It seems but a short time ago, in September, 1949, when Morehead was playing Marshallberg in the finals of the Tidewater League playoffs. There were 1700 people in attendance for the Saturday-Sunday games. Pitching for Morehead on Sunday was a young Durham man named Roger Craig, who won his game 4 to 2. As most baseball fans know, Roger is now one of Brooklyn's starting pitchers and is making his mark in the majors.
In 1922, the first organized football team was formed in Morehead City under the leadership of coach McQueen. From the eligible players, a group of the smaller, faster ones were selected to start the first game against the New Bern eleven. Much to the suprise of the more experienced players from New Bern. the local boys made a very close game of it, but went down to defeat 6-0. Members of this first football team were George Dill, George Wallace, Alvin Wade, James Howland, John Smith, Percy Howland, Earl Freeman, Marshall Helms, Headen Piner, Bill Lewis, Arthur Moore, Claude Gillikin, Clifford Ball, Nate Pake, Pinky Willis, Bradley McIntosh and Guin Salter.
Speed boat racing—a favorite water sport
The teams of 1931 and 1932 were very outstanding. These teams played a very rough schedule, including teams from New Bern, Kinston, Goldsboro, and Washington. Several players distinguished themselves on these
teams. The 1931 team was undefeated; while the 1932 team lost only to Wilmington and Ayden by identical scores, 13-7.
During the second World War, football was not played in Morehead City, but through the efforts of the local Jaycees, football was again started in 1951. Since that year the records made by the local teams have been most gratifying. The records to date show 50 wins against 12 losses, with 3 of these losses coming in Eastern playoff games. Under Coach Charles Hester from 1951 through 1953, and Coach Norman Clark from 1954 through 1956, the local teams have been fortunate in having fine coaching and leadership.
Basketball was started in Morehead City in the 1920's, and during its earlier years took a back seat to baseball and football. We had good teams in these early years, but by far, our best teams and most successful seasons have been since 1939 when Mr. Gannon Talbert came to Morehead City High School and took over the coaching assignment of both the
Morehead City High School Football Team in 1922. Left to right, front row: G. Sal-
ter, Bradley McIntosh, Kenneth Canfield, A. Willis, Harry Freeman, W. F. Fodrie,
Clauds Gillikin, Alvin Wade.
Back row: Charles N. Bennett, M. Helms, George W. Dill, Jr., George Roberts Wal-
lace, D. Willis, C. Ball, L. Smith, Mr. McQueen, coach.
boys and girls teams. During the years of his coaching the following records have been established: a won-lost record of 290 to 60, or a winning percentage of 83% of all games played, 6 District Championships won, three county championships won out of a possible 8.
The records of the 1944-45 girls team was particularly outstanding, 28 wins and 0 losses. Members of this fine team were Rachel Brock, Ann Mills, Carolyn Taylor, Mary Lou Norris and Ruth Macy. On the boys teams Ralph and Roma Styron, Seldon Sherwood. Buck Matthews, Kemp Guthrie, Mickey Woolard, Strug Steed, Jerry T. Willis and Wayne Cheek must all be listed as players of outstanding ability.
Yes, all through the years, Morehead City has produced outstanding athletes. We look forward confidently to our sports and athletes of the future, knowing full well that as long as we find athletes who understand the rules of good sportsmanship and have a love for the game, we will continue to have an active and outstanding sports program in Morehead City.
Sales & Service
Drawing of Mercury Montclair
Service To Any Make Or Model
|SERVICE DEPARTMENT||USED CAR DEPARTMENT|
|1302 Arendell Street||14th and Arendell Street|
Ocean Lodge No. 405, A.F.&A.M., Morehead City, North Carolina was chartered January 13, 1887. Mr. G. N. Ennett was the first master, serving from 1887 to 1891.
During the first year of the existence of Ocean Lodge many meeting places were used. Among the most prominent places used were over the old city hall, over D. B. Webb's store and in the Paragon building.
On February 12, 1946, it was voted on and approved to build a Masonic Temple and a contract was let to N. F. Eure, contractor. The building was completed in 1947, and the first meeting was held on July 1st, with Bro. Ben R. Alford being raised to the sublime degree of Master Mason, by his father, Rev. J. W. Alford, a past-master of Ocean Lodge.
Through the efforts of Ocean Lodge, the Order of the Eastern Star, Chapter 223, Morehead City was organized in 1943.
In 1955, a lodge was formed in Newport, N. C., using 42 members from Ocean Lodge as Charter Members of the Newport Lodge.
Past Masters and dates of service:
|G. N. Ennett||1888-1891|
|A. E. Oglesby||1892|
|H. S. Lee||1893-1896|
|W. J. Wallace||1897-1898|
|W. M. Webb||1899-1904|
|J. J. Royal||1905|
|W. M. Webb||1911|
|Dr. Ben F. Royal||1912-1914|
|Rev. J. W. Alford||1915-1917|
|Dr. K. P. B. Bonner||1918|
|James L. Guthrie||1919-1921|
|J. E. Mears||1922|
|James L. Guthrie||1923|
|W. J. Plint||1924|
|H. L. Joslyn||1925-1927|
|J. E. English||1928-1930|
|L. E. Wade||1931-1934|
|H. O. Phillips||1935-1938|
|B. H. Houston||1939|
|W. T. Davis||1940-1941|
|G. E. Sanderson||1942|
|Asa E. Cannon||1943|
|Frank S. Reams||1944|
|R. C. Jones||1945|
|R. E. Highsmith||1946|
|G. E. Sanderson||1948|
|A. R. Craig||1949|
|J. M. Davis||1951|
|James. B. Willis||1952|
|Theodore D. Phillips||1953|
|James I. Wade||1954|
|Thomas L. Noe||1955|
|William G. Lewis||1956|
|J. Clyde Carr||1957|
Order of Eastern Star
On the first and third Thursdays of each month a glowing star in the five emblematic colors of our beautiful order is lighted on 18th Street between Evans and Shepard, inviting all who are members of the largest fraternal order for women in the world, to come and enjoy the fellowship of this order dedicated to truth, charity and loving kindness.
The Chapter, instituted in June 1943, received its charter on June 14, 1944. The Past Matrons are Harris Lewis, Edna Reams, Aletha English, Irene Midgette, Madge Jones, Mable Piner, Lillian Robinson, Dolly Smith, Ethel Morrill, Elma Guthrie, Margaret Reams, Evelyn Norwood, Annabell Phillips, Ida Reynolds, and Gladys Nelson.
Past Patrons are R. T. Willis, Jr., J. E. English, Justin Robinson, Frank Reams, Linwood Wade, Jim Morrill, Dick Jones, Earl Norwood, Theodore Phillips, and John Danielson. The Worthy Matron and Patron for
Masonic and Eastern Star Temple, South 18th Street.
the Centennial year are Novella Dunn and Emanual Ross.
The Order of the Eastern Star is an organization based on religious principals and dedicated to the love and care of our fellow members and our loved ones at the Masonic and Eastern Star Home in Greensboro, and the orphan children at Oxford Orphanage.Elks Lodge, No. 1710
The Elks Lodge, or more properly, Morehead City-Beaufort Lodge No. 1710, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was founded in Morehead City in 1946. A number of Elks, who were members in other cities, felt that the two towns would support an Elks Lodge. On July 11, 1946, Robert C. Slater, D. Waldron Bailey, Sr., and George B. Stovall were granted a dispensation by the Grand Order and a local lodge was chartered. Mr. H. P. Scripture was installed as first Exalted Ruler and Mr. George B. Stovall as Secretary from the 47 charter members. Since the first year James O. Baxter, Jr., L. D. Gore, C. G. Holland, H. S. Gibbs, Jr., Paul S. Jones, E. L. Nelson, George J. Brooks, A. H. James, and Warren Grant have served as Exalted Rulers, John A. Baker is present Exalted Ruler and James R. Sanders is serving his tenth year as Secretary.
Since its inception the local lodge of Elks has been active in such civic and patriotic
Elks Club on Arendell Street
functions as Flag Day, Newspaper Week, and youth activities. Fraternal functions include the maintenance of club rooms at 1002 Arendell St., Memorial Services for Departed Elks, and charitable works for needy members of the community. Its charities carried on nationally, such as the cerebral palsy program, youth scholarship funds, and veterans rehabilitation programs are well-known over the whole country. In addition, the Order maintains a home at Bedford, Va. for aged Elks.
The lodge in Morehead City has a membership of some 130 members and is one of 1,600 lodges in the United States representing a membership of over a million and a quarter Americans.Moose Lodge
The Morehead City Moose Lodge, No. 1069, was started on December 14, 1953 with 94 charter members.
Today there are 180 members, and membership is increasing steadily. Although the lodge takes its name from the city in which it was originally started, it is a county-wide lodge. All men of Carteret County 21 years of age or older are eligible for membership if they are of the caucasian race, believe in the Supreme Being, and have a favorable reputation. The wives, mothers, sisters and daughters of members are eligible for membership in the women's auxiliary, called Women of the Moose, and their members are known as co-workers.
The Women of the Moose render important service to the community through humanitarian projects.
The early governors of the Morehead City Moose Lodge were: E. Mobley, John James, G. Hardesty and A. D. Avallone. The present board of officers are: A. D. Avallone, past governor; K. M. Katje, governor; W. R. Fox, Jr., Secretary; E. Holt, governor; E. Willis, prelate; H. E. Van Horn, treasurer; A. E. Grey, G. U. Troyer and K. McCabe, trustees.
M. V. Beaver is sergeant-at-arms, W. C. Johnson, assistant sergeant-at-arms, D. Guthrie, outer guard, and F. Bryan, inner guard.Women of the Moose
November 16, 1954, The Women of the Moose became the Auxiliary of the Loyal Order of Moose, Morehead City Lodge No. 1069. There were forty charter members installed. Since then, membership has increased and is continuing to progress.
One of our main purposes is to help sustain Mooseheart, Ill., and Moosehaven, Fla. Mooseheart is better known as our “Child City” where the children and wives of deceased brothers reside in a homelike atmosphere. Educational and living conditions in Mooseheart are among the finest in the country and each child is afforded every advantage possible. Moosehaven is located on the St. John's river in Florida, where the elderly members reside in the twilight of life. The homes, hospitals and churches are maintained on the same ratio as Mooseheart. These two places are maintained through dues from Moose Lodges throughout the world. We contribute to various local projects such as providing lunch for an under-privileged child, and helping families in need of clothing and food, regardless of race or creed, whenever and wherever the opportunity presents itself.
The Loyal Order of Moose and W.O.M. offer protection to families that cannot be found outside the Order.Toast Masters
On October 13, 1954, The Carteret County Toastmasters, Chapter No. 1634, received its charter. The former manager of the Morehead City Chamber of Commerce, Ted Davis, was instrumental in organizing the Toastmasters Club of Carteret County. J. P. Harris, Jr., of Beaufort, was the Charter president.
The purpose of the Toastmasters is to train its members to become better speakers
“We're Proud Of Our 100 Year Old Town”
MARINE HARDWARE AND PAINTS
ANYTHING YOU'D FIND AT A GOOD
Hardware & Building Supply
SUNDRIES — TOYS
“Everything For The Sports Enthusiast”
ROSE'S 5 & 10c STORE
Carteret County's Largest and Most Complete Shopping Center
SHOP FOR BETTER VALUES IN AIR CONDITIONED COMFORT
Bell & Munden
108 N. 7th Street
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
For 11 Years Your Frigidare
BETTER SERVICE —
Appliances — Mowers — Pumps
Sound Appliance Co., Inc.
Phone 6-4452 — 1406 Bridges St.
and better leaders in their communities. The Toastmasters furnish speakers free of charge to any civic organization in Carteret County.
Toastmasters meets the second Wednesday in each month at 8:15 p.m., Beaufort Town Hall, and fourth Wednesday in each month at 8:15 p.m. at the Morehead City Town Hall.
Authorized membership is 30. At the present time the membership is 18.Atlantic Camp 188,
Since the summer of 1890 the world organization of the Woodmen of the World has had phenomenal growth, and today it is the world's financially strongest fraternal benefit society.
Atlantic Camp 188, Woodmen of the World, Morehead City, North Carolina was chartered December 20, 1906, and celebrated its 50th anniversary last December. During these years the membership has endeavored to carry out the purpose of the Woodmen of the World to the fullest extent.
More recently, through the efforts of the local membership, a Woodmen Lodge Hall has been erected near the Camp Glenn School on Bonner Avenue. Regular meetings are held on Monday nights throughout the year, and frequently, social gatherings are held for the entire family.
A Boys of Woodcraft Sportsmen's Club was chartered in the early part of 1956 for boys between the ages of 8 and 16. The objectives of this club are to teach conservation of all natural resources; proper and safe use of fire-arms; fishing with fly rod, casting rod or cane pole, including the art of fly and bass bug tying; accident prevention on highways, in field or on the streams, and first aid; to provide adequate supervision of outdoor recreation and to stress fundamentals of citizenship, good sportsmanship and health. Regular instructional meetings are held on the 2nd and 4th Thursday nights in the Woodmen Hall.
We feel that our organization here in Morehead City is strong, and that it contributes toward making our community “A Better Place to Live.”The Carteret Community
The Carteret Community Theatre was organized November 18, 1953, as a non-profit organization.
The primary purpose is for the cultural betterment of the citizens of Carteret County through the production of dramatic entertainments, and to encourage creative efforts in the dramatic arts by members of the organization and all citizens of Carteret County.
The theatre presentations were sponsored, for the first three years, by civic clubs and school organizations who received the net profits from the plays. The total amount given was $1,799.00.
The fourth year of operation began in the Morehead City Recreation Center. A workable plan was agreed upon by the Recreation Commission and Carteret Community Theatre, whereby the Carteret Community Theatre could use the Recreation Center, stage and auditorium, the proceeds to be divided between the Carteret Community Theatre and the Recreation Center after current expenses were deducted.
The Theatre group has, during the former busy years, accumulated a few properties and during the past year a stage curtain was added for use at the Recreation Center.
This year is the beginning of Patron Membership for the Carteret Community Theatre.
Awards for the best actress, actor and director are given each year at the annual dinner.
Belk's Department Store
YOUR ONE STOP SHOPPING CENTER
Photo of Belk's store interior
THE HOME OF BETTER VALUES
700 Arendell Street
Morehead City, North CarolinaThe Lanier Book Club
MRS. LOUIS NORRIS
In October of 1904, Mr. B. I. Tart, principal of the Harry North School, called a group together to organize a study club. Among these were Mrs. Julia Bell, Mrs. J. T. Davenport, Mrs. Ida W. Eaton, Mrs. Hattie Edwards, Mrs. J. F. Giddens, Mrs. W. J. Hales, Mrs. W. E. Headen, Mrs. Willie Herbert, Mrs. Addie H. Jones, Mrs. N. C. Klein, Mrs. L. L. Leary, Mrs. J. C. B. Morton, Mrs. R. W. Taylor, and Mrs. W. M. Webb.
It was decided that each member would put in a current book. These books to be passed around so that all members would have the privilege of reading each one. The club was to meet twice monthly, the second and fourth Tuesday nights, Sept. through May of each year. Each member to have a paper on a subject decided by a program committee, and each member to be hostess to the club once during the year. The membership to be limited because of the nature of the club. The dues were to be $1.00 a year. The name chosen for the new club, “The Sidney Lanier Book Club,” in honor of the Southern poet.
Throughout the years since its organization in 1904, this club has met the same nights with the same rules set-up by those first members. The membership has changed many times as the first members passed away, or moved to other communities. New members have taken their places . . . pastor's wives, teachers, and newcomers to the town.
The present membership includes six daughters of those first members. Mrs. J. B. Arendell and Mrs. G. D. Canfield still active, though not charter members, were asked to join soon after they moved to Morehead City to live. Mrs. Canfield in 1908 and Mrs. Arendell in 1911.
For some years before the Morehead City Woman's Club was organized, the Lanier Book Club was federated with the North Carolina Federation of Woman's Clubs.
Below is a paragraph copied from the minutes of May 3rd, 1921.
“Mrs. D. G. Bell brought up the matter of enlarging the club and making it a real Woman's Club. It was moved and seconded that the president appoint a committee to investigate the availability of a meeting place and to perfect plans for forming a new club, since the majority of the members preferred retaining the old club as it is.”
So, the Lanier Book Club is today, as it was in the beginning, fifty-three years ago . . . a study club of not more than twenty members.Woman's Club
The Morehead City Womans Club came into existence May 11th, 1921, in what was known as the Palace Theatre on Arendell Street, with a charter membership of 38. The late Mrs. Jack Holloster, New Bern, came to assist in its organization.
Mrs. D. G. Bell was elected President; Mrs. B. F. Royal, Vice-President; Mrs. John Lashley, Recording Secretary; Mrs. Cappie Gillikin, Treasurer; the late Mrs. S. A. Chalk Sr., Corresponding Secretary; Miss Sudie Nelson, Auditor and the late Mrs. Charles Tolson, Publicity Chairman.
The following have served as presidents: Mrs. D. G. Bell, Mrs. A. H. Webb, Mrs. J. F. Giddens, Mrs. S. A. Chalk Sr., Mrs. R. W. Taylor, Mrs. Floyd Chadwick, Mrs. J. C. Taylor, Mrs. O. H. Johnson, Sr., Mrs. John Lashley, Mrs. Louis Norris, Mrs. Luther Hamilton, Sr., Mrs. H. M. Eure, Mrs. Harold Sampson, Mrs. D. G. Bell, second term of 1947; Mrs. E. A. Council, Mrs. George Ball, Mrs. A. B. Roberts, and Mrs. Truman Kemp, now serving.
When the club was first organized there was only one department, the Garden and Civics. Miss Corinne Bell was the first chairman. The Music Department was organized the following year with Mrs. Norman Webb chairman, and three years later, the Literary and Art Department with Mrs. R. W. Taylor chairman.
O'Neal Fish & Oyster Company
“SEAFOOD FRESH DAILY”
FISH, OYSTERS, SHRIMP & SPECIALIZING IN NORTH CAROLINA RED SNAPPER
ONLY RED SNAPPER FISHING FLEET NORTH OF FLORIDA
CHARTER BOATS FOR HIRE
WHOLESALE & RETAIL — FREE CLEANING & DELIVERY IN CITY LIMITS
On The Waterfront — Morehead City
Phone Retail 6-4073
GROWING WITH MOREHEAD CITY!
. . . FOR GRACIOUS LIVING
OTTIS FISH MARKET &
OTTIS PURIFOY'S SPORT FISHING FLEET
THE FISHING PARADISE
FOR THE BEST OF FISHING
AT “MOREHEAD” IT'S CAPT. OTTIS
AND HIS SEVEN MODERN
Phones 6-4020 & 6-4600
Morehead City, N. C.
BUILDING MATERIALS _________________________
• ROOFING AND SIDING • INSULATION
• BUILDERS HARDWARE • PAINT AND VARNISH
• PLASTER BOARD • OAK FLOORING • LADDERS
• BRICK • CEMENT • SAND
Morehead Builders Supply Company
Morehead City - New Bern Highway
Morehead City, N. C.
On October 27, 1937, the American Home Department was organized with Mrs. Delfido Cordova, chairman. In 1948 the Music Department was disbanded but the majority of the members joined one of the other departments. There is at this time, besides the departments, a Community Affairs Committee, Education Committee, International Affairs Committee, and the club participates in “Help a Home” and the “Birthday Remembrance”.
The chief objective of the Garden and Civics Department is helping to beautify the town and make it a better place in which to live. In its earlier years, it planted an avenue of water oaks leading to Bay View Cemetery. They did not thrive, so later yaupons and cedars were alternated and they add much to the driveway leading to the city of the dead.
Dogwood planting has been sponsored and a crepe myrtle drive put on in which all departments assisted, resulting in the placing of over 500 crepe myrtles throughout the town.
Shrubs have been planted around the hospital which has helped to beautify its grounds. For many years patients in the hospital have been remembered at Christmas and the hospital given showers of needed articles. At one time, a hospital bed and other utilities for the sick room were purchased and loaned to persons sick in the home, unable to buy or rent such items.
From time to time forums have been held to inform members concerning local and state problems. Last year the department presented a camellia show at which time there were over 200 entries. It is hoped that a showing of camellias may be made an annual event.
The International Relations Affairs Committee, in cooperation with all club members, has sent CARE food packages, sewing supplies and clothes to other countries in need; sent stamps to veterans hospitals, and held programs on world problems. For the past two years it has honored foreign born women throughout the county at a coffee hour.
The Literary and Art Department has presented art exhibits and sponsored art programs at the schools giving prizes for posters and paintings. Dishes and glassware have been donated to the kitchen at the Civic Center and each year $25 is given the children's library there to supplement the buying of suitable books. Two beautiful paintings have also been donated to this room.
Twenty-five dollars is given annually to the North Carolina Symphony Orchestra drive. The club has also contributed to the high school glee club and the band. A portrait of the late Gov. John M. Morehead, which is displayed in the Municipal Building, was purchased and given to the town by this department.
The American Home Department, although the latest to be organized, holds a wonderful record of service to the community. One of its first projects was assisting in the renovation of the upstairs of the Harry North Building for a lunch room for the Morehead City School. Another was redecorating of the USO Building and the serving as hostesses at the Teen Age Club there.
Members also helped in the repairing of slip covers at the Civic Center, gave bed trays made by the Industrial Arts to the hospital; also linen showers for the hospital; helped in Ground Observance stations during World War II. An outstanding project has been and still is, “the Help a Home”, which means the securing of furniture and other household necessities for needy families.
During the years since its organization in 1921 the Womans Club has stood for the civic, educational and cultural uplift of the community. In earlier years $2000 was raised through its efforts for the Band Association and to aid in keeping an athletic director at the Morehead City School; curtains and scenery were bought and installed in the school auditorium. The curtain now hanging in the building was purchased at a cost of $1500 and paid for by soliciting subscriptions and staging plays.
A piano was purchased for the children's library at the Civic Center. The purchase of the baby grand piano now at the Morehead City School was spearheaded by the club, assisted by other organizations of the town, at a cost of $2500.
Serving Rural Needs With Dependable Electricity
Carteret-Craven Electric Membership Corp.
Morehead City, N. C.
If You Visit Morehead City or Atlantic Beach. . . .
You Probably Will Have Missed Seeing The Finest Drug
Store In Eastern North Carolina If You Do Not See
MOREHEAD CITY DRUG COMPANY
HOW ABOUT SEEING US NEXT TIME?
“Morehead City's Only Uptown Drug Store”
J. M. DAVIS
TEXACO PETROLEUM PRODUCTS
Our 18th Year
The Memorial drinking fountain which stands on the grounds of theMunicipal Building was secured through efforts of the club women following World War I in memory of Irvin Fulford and Leonard Day. During World War II club women worked unceasingly in sewing rooms, knitting and making garments to be sent overseas, and later, to help the needy at home.
The club has worked unceasingly in national drives, TB Seal sales, Red Cross campaigns, poppy sales and symphony orchestra drives, and at this time club women are soliciting subscriptions to the Centennial Booklet, helping in every way to make this Centennial year the most outstanding one in the town's 100 year history.Junior Woman's Club
The Junior Woman's Club of Morehead City, North Carolina, is one of the branches of the North Carolina Federation of Woman's Clubs, and is one of the thirteen clubs in the Twelfth District. The purpose of the club is individual development, as well as a united effort toward social, cultural and civic betterment of our city.
The club holds monthly meetings from September through May of the next year. There is a program planned for each meeting, and it relates to a department of the organization.
There are three projects that the club supports, namely: The Clothing Closet, a closet to store second-hand clothes which the club members collect, with distribution of the clothes by the County Welfare Department; The Children's Home Society of Greensboro, N. C., an adoption agency for children; and the Caswell Training School of Kinston, N. C., a school for mentally retarded children.
The membership of the club averages 35 to 40 in number, and there are eight officers and eight committee chairmen.
Under the leadership of Mrs. H. M. Eure and Mrs. George H. McNeill, the first Junior Woman's Club of Morehead City was organized on September 10, 1946.
The following dates and names list the club years and their respective presidents:
|1946||Mrs. Malcolm U. Collins|
|1947-48 (Sept.-Nov.)||Mrs. Plummer Wilson|
|1947-48 (Dec.-May)||Mrs. Robert W. Freeman|
|1949-50||Mrs. Lonnie D. Dill and Mrs. James R. Sanders|
|1950-51||Miss Dorothy Harrell|
|1951-53||Mrs. Marion Mills|
|1953-54||Mrs. Howard C. Barrow, Jr.|
|1954-55||Mrs. Harvey Hamilton, Jr.|
|1955-56||Mrs. Alvah L. Hamilton, Jr.|
|1956-57||Miss Alida Willis|
MRS. CLEM JOHNSON
(Member North Carolina Federation of Business & Professional Women's Clubs, Inc., and National Federation of Business and Professional Women's Clubs, Inc.)
Organized April 15, 1948
Chartered August 6, 1948
OBJECTIVES: To elevate the standards of women in business and the professions; to promote the interests of business and professional women; to bring about a spirit of cooperation among business and professional women of the United States, and to extend opportunities to business and professional women through education along lines of industrial, scientific and vocational activities.
PROJECTS AND ACTIVITIES
Hostess Club, 1949 State Convention
Gift - Air-Conditioned Oxygen Tent to Morehead City Hospital
Gift - Electric Sewing Machine to Queen Street School, Beaufort
Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant
Tony's Fish Market and Shore Diner
MOREHEAD CITY'S FIRST AND STILL THE BEST SEAFOOD RESTAURANT IN THE SOUTH.
SINCE 1938 WE HAVE BEEN SERVING THE FRESHEST SEAFOODS DAILY FROM OUR BOATS TO YOUR PLATTER.
Sponsors of Fashion Show to raise funds for Morehead City and Beaufort School Bands.
Gift - Free lunches to school children in County
Used clothing drive for Welfare Department.
“Hidden Payrolls” - locating and assisting persons entitled to Social Security benefits.
Sponsors of March of Dimes Campaigns for 1952, 1953, 1954, 1955, 1956 and 1957.
ACHIEVEMENTS AND AWARDS
State Federation's News Service Award (for best editorial)—1949.
National Federation's Political Alertness Award (having all members qualified to vote at polls)—June, 1951.
National Federation's Achievement Award (20% or more increase in membership during year)—1952-’53.
Pat Nixon Cup - Won for stabilizing membership and largest percentage of increase in membership of any club in North Carolina—1952-’53.
National Federation's Sponsoring Citation - for assisting in the organization of the New Bern Club—1953-54.Morehead City Lodge 414,
Unity Lodge No. 156, Independent Order of Odd Fellows was instituted in Morehead City, N. C., on May 26, 1893 by B. H. Woodell, Grand Secretary, who duly installed the following officers:
W. L. Arendell, Nobie Grand; C. S. Wallace, Vice Grand; M. L. Willis, Recording and Financial Secretary; E. D. Arthur, Treasurer.
Charter members were, in addition to the above:
J. B. Arendell, R.S.V.G.; G. L. Arthur, R.S.N.G.; J. A. Arthur, D. A. Ballou, Allen C Davis, Warden.
A. S. Fulford, B. C. Jones, J. C. Lewis, L.S.V.G., Geo. R. Simmons, Geo. D. Styron, Conductor, R. W. Taylor, W. J. Wallace, L.S. N.G., A H. Webb.
The annual report for the year ending December 31, 1931 is the last report we have on file for Unity Lodge No. 156. It indicates that no officers were elected for the ensuing term. There were twenty-two members in good standing on this report. W. B. Everett was Noble Grand, George W. Piner was Recording Secretary, and T. Cliff Willis was Lodge Deputy.
Odd Fellowship was dormant in Morehead City for twenty-five years until 1956, when J. E. Pearson, Sovereign Grand Representative, aided by James M. Elliott, Sovereign Grand Representative, of Alliance, Ohio, procured the nucleus of members for a new charter.
On the 10th of November, 1956, Morehead City Lodge No. 414 was duly instituted by Baxter H. Finch, Grand Master and L. B. MacBrayer, Grand Secretary, Odd Fellows of North Carolina. The following officers were duly installed:
J. E. Pearson, Noble Grand; E. L. Nelson, Vice Grand; C. J. Robinson, Recording Secretary; E. H. Holt, Financial Secretary; J. L. Guthrie, Treasurer; Robert McCabe, Lodge Deputy.
There is also a Rebekah Lodge (or ladies auxiliary) that branched out from the Beaufort Rebekah Lodge, and is known as the Esther Rebekah Lodge No. 161, which was instituted January 26, 1953 by Olive Cahoon, President of the Rebekah Assembly of North Carolina. The following officers were duly installed:
Lucile Willis, Noble Grand; Rachel Steed, Vice Grand; Etta Lewis, Recording Secretary; Margarite Guthrie, Treasurer.
MARINE ELECTRICAL SALES & SERVICE
409 Evans St.
Morehead City, N. C.
Boat and Yacht Electrical Supplies, Auto-Lite Wiring and Electrical Parts. Whitaker Cables and Wire Terminals. American Bosh Windshield Wipers, Light and Heavy Duty Battery Switches, Rheostats and Current Relays, Light Bulbs—All Sizes—AC & DC.
C. M. BALL, O M—3 Marine Electricians
At Your Call
1600 Shepard Street
“NEWPORT—GATEWAY TO THE CENTENNIAL”
Congratulations to our good neighbor, Morehead City, on its 100th Birthday Anniversary
Town of Newport
Newport, N. C.
R & N Furniture Company
“Satisfaction With Every Transaction”
Crosley & Bendix Home Appliances
FURNITURE FOR EVERY ROOM IN THE HOUSE
We Install Vinyl—Inlaid Linoleum—Cork Rubber—Asphalt Tile—Rugs—Wall To Wall Carpeting and Venetian Blinds
1211 BRIDGES ST.
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.Junior Chamber of
The Morehead City Junior Chamber of Commerce, one of the original charter members when the North Carolina State Junior Chamber of Commerce was formed on April 17, 1937, is the seventh oldest club in the state.
Today it is one of the most active clubs in Morehead City with a membership of 56 young men between the ages of 21 and 36.
In the past the Jaycees have sponsored many projects to improve and entertain the community. Some of the more successful were the coastal water festivals in 1938, ’39, ’40, ’41 and ’48. In 1953 and 1956 the Miss North Carolina beauty pageant was presented by the Jaycees. In 1951, support was pledged to the Morehead City High School football program. New equipment was purchased, and the football field west of town was leased and lighted, and bleachers were built to seat 1200 people. At the end of the 1957 football season it is expected that all these listed assets acquired by the Jaycees will be given to the high school.
In 1940 the distinguished service award was originated. This award is given by the Junior Chamber of Commerce to any young man of the community whose services are deemed to be the most outstanding. The man is nominated by other civic clubs of Morehead City. Winners of the D.S.A. in previous years are:
D. G. Bell, 1940; Award not presented, 1941-’45; A. B. Roberts, Jr., 1946; Robert G. Lowe, Jr., 1947; A. B. Cooper, 1948; James R. Sanders, 1949; James Q. Wallace, 1950; Bernard Leary, 1951; Walter S. Morris, 1952; H. S. Gibbs, Jr., 1953; Jasper Bell, 1954; P. H. Geer, Jr., 1955; Herbert O. Phillips, III, 1956.
Of the seventeen past presidents of the Junior Chamber of Commerce, all are in various businesses in town except Mr. Rudolph Dowdy, who was fatally injured during the coastal water festival in 1941.
Past presidents are: George H. McNeill, 1937-38; Bernard Leary, 1938-39; G. E. Sanderson, 1939-40; Rudolph Dowdy, 1940-41; D. G. Bell, 1941-42; A. B. Roberts, Jr., 1942-47; S. A. Chalk, Jr., 1947-48; Bruce Goodwin, 1948-49; James R. Sanders, 1949-50; W. B. Chalk, 1950-51; James Q. Wallace, 1951-52; Walter S. Morris, 1952-53; Paul H. Geer, Jr., 1953-54; Jasper Bell, 1954-55; Dr. Russell Outlaw, 1955-56; Herbert O. Phillips, III, 1956-57; Dr. Robert O. Barnum, 1957-58.Lions Club
There have been two Lions Clubs in Morehead City. The first had its beginning on May 11, 1939 and was discontinued on November 29, 1944. The present club was organized on May 11, 1945. The records show that the New Bern Lions Club was the sponsor for the Morehead City Clubs.
Charter members of the first club were: H. Orlandah Phillips, president, Frank Moran, secretary, R. R. Barbour, J. G. Bennett, Herbert De Funiak, Walter Lewis, M. C. McCracken, R. B. Parnell, Marlin Sultzbaugh, David Battle Webb, Harold Webb, D. B. Willis, Jr., Jesse Willis, W. Alvin Willis, Rev. R. Cole Lee.
Charter members of the present club were: Dr. John H. Bunn, president, Josiah Bailey, secretary, Fay T. Axtell, J. G. Bennett, Earl Freeman, Alvin Garner, Ted Garner, D. J. Hall, Vincent Lawrence, Frank Moran, Louis J. Norris, Frank Pittman, Frank Reams, D. H. Rowe, R. J. Rogers, David Battle Webb, John T. Willis, E. B. Thompson.
Past presidents of the club are: Dr. John H. Bunn, 1945-46; Vernon Guthrie, 1946-47; Victor H. Wickizer, 1947-48; D. B. Webb, 1948-49; Frank Moran, 1949-50; J. G. Bennett, 1950-51; O. N. Allred, 1951-52; Fred G. Lewis, 1952-53; Frederick N. Hardy, 1953-54; Owens Frederick, 1954-55; Alvah North Willis, 1955-56; James E. Crowe, 1956-57.
The Lions Club in Morehead City has been very active in the civic life of the city.
Willis Auto Supply
906 ARENDELL STREET
ROBERT BRUCE WILLIS, Proprietor
DRY CLEANER & TAILOR
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
Morehead City Floral Company
Florists Telegraph Delivery
911 Arendell Street
Morehead City, N. C.
Over 100 Years Of
Experience In The
Fancy Groceries & Prime Meats
914 Arendell Street
Store Phone 6-3181
Market Phone 6-3182
Night Phone 6-4145
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
The New Bern
Honeycutt's Meat Products
New Bern, North Carolina
AIR CONDITIONED ROOMS
DAILY AND WEEKLY RATES
Mrs. Frank Thomas, Owner-Manager
PHONE 6-4701 - ATLANTIC BEACH, N. C.
Barbour's Marine Supply Company
“EVERYTHING FOR BOATS”
Beaufort, North Carolina
|ECHO-CRAFT||JOHNSON OUTBOARD||MOULDED FIBER-|
|BOATS & TRAILERS||MOTORS||GLASS BOATS|
|SMITH-VALSPAR PAINTS||COX TRAILERS|
Most of the projects were concerned with aiding the blind and sight conservation, but the club has also been very active in the promotion of recreational facilities and other community projects.
From 1939 through 1943, the Community Recreation Center, sponsored by the Lions Club, received most of the club's attention. Many purchases of equipment and supplies were made and the club was largely responsible for the success of the Recreation Center during this time.
In 1946, an eye clinic was established and this project is still going forward today. Since beginning this project, many people have been fitted with glasses, and in many other ways the visually handicapped have been helped. Blind people have been set up in business and aided in every possible way in an effort to create a normal life for them. In 1948, a carload of food was collected for the friendship train going to Europe.
Money has been raised for all types of worthy individual cases including nurses fees for attending paralysis victims, amputees, and other cases.
All worthwhile projects of a civic and personal nature receive just consideration, and where possible, aid is extended to those in need.Morehead City Rotary Club
The Morehead City Rotary Club was organized on May 11, 1925, with the New Bern Rotary Club as the sponsor club. Mr. John M. Aberly of the New Bern Club was the Special Representative during the organizational period. Charter night was held in the old Charles Hotel, corner 9th and Arendell Streets. Charlie W. Smith, Roanoke, Va., Governor, 57th District, Rotary International, and Dr. Wannamaker, Duke University, were guest speakers.
The club was formed with 22 charter members representing most of the business and professions in Morehead City at that time. The charter members were:
Dan G. Bell, Kemp P. B. Bonner, G. D. Canfield, Skinner A. Chalk, Edward A. Council, Walter P. Freeman, Luther Hamilton, Walter Hufham, Harvey L. Joslyn, Luther L. Leary, Wallace M. Quinn.
Ben F. Royal, J. Clarence Taylor, Robert T. Wade, Charles S. Wallace, Bennie P. Way, Will M. Webb, Derwood B. Willis, Randolph T. Willis, J. Ed Woodland, John A. Nelson.
Of these charter members, Mr. H. L. Joslyn is the only one who is still active. Four members, Dr. Ben F. Royal, Judge Luther Hamilton, Walter P. Freeman and Robert W. Taylor, at their request, were placed on the Honorary Status a short time ago.
From June 15th through 20th, 1925, Mr. H. L. Joslyn attended Rotary International at Cleveland, Ohio, becoming the first member to attend a meeting of Rotary International.
Past presidents of Morehead City Rotary Club are: K. P. B. Bonner, 1925; Luther Hamilton, 1926-27; Ben F. Royal, 1927-28; R. T. Wade, 1928-29; George R. Wallace, 1929-30; Stanley Woodland, 1930-31; T. C. Wade, 1931-32; W. M. Webb, 1932-33; Derwood B. Willis, 1933-34; Harvey L. Joslyn, 1934-35; Gordon C. Willis, 1935-36; Rev. Frank Hall, 1936-37; Dr. D. J. Eure, 1937-38.
Wm. Y. Stewart, 1938-39; Paul H. Geer, 1939-40; Henry S. Gibbs, 1940-41; Clyde F. Jones, 1941-42; Walter Hufham, 1942-43; Robert W. Taylor, 1943-44; George Stovall, 1944-45; J. E. English, 1945-46; Harold H. Sampson, 1946-47; Alvah L. Hamilton, 1947-48; L. D. Gore, 1948-49; George W. Dill, Jr., 1949-50; James I. Mason, 1950-51; George H. McNeill, 1951-52; W. C. Carlton, 1952-53; Kenneth W. Prest, 1953-54; Robert B. Howard, 1954-55; A. F. Chestnut, 1955-56; H. S. Gibbs, Jr., 1956-57.The Ladies Home
On March 10, 1949, Mesdames Ethel Allen, Beatrice Jones, Margaret McLendon, Alma Marbley and Thelma Stamps met at the
OUR CONGRATULATIONS TO—
OUR MOREHEAD CITY
ON ITS 100TH ANNIVERSARY
Commercial National Bank
“The County's Newest and Most Modern Bank”
• CHECKING ACCOUNTS — SAVINGS ACCOUNTS
• COMMERCIAL AND BUSINESS LOANS
• PERSONAL AND APPLIANCE LOANS
• DRAFT AND COLLECTING SERVICE
• AUTOMOBILE LOANS
• SAFE DEPOSIT BOXES
• NIGHT DEPOSITORY
Commercial National Bank Of Kinston
Member Federal Reserve System
home of Thelma Stamps, and organized the Ladies Home Instruction Club. Mrs. Thelma Stamps was chosen president.
The purpose of the club is to foster an appreciation for the finer things in life by making a study of home-making, etiquette, current news, and anything uplifting. Fourteen members signed the constitution and by-laws. During the eight years the club has been active, forty-four members have been initiated. Of these, seventeen are now active.
The success of the club in its early days may be attributed to a great degree to the enthusiasm and interest of its first two presidents, Mrs. Thelma Stamps and Mrs. Ethel Allen. Mrs. Allen also has the honor of being club woman of the year for 1956.
Club members have engaged in many activities. Each year the anniversary dinner has been an outstanding event, and birthdays and wedding anniversaries for the members have been celebrated. Such interesting topics as table setting, table manners, introductions, proper dress, balanced diet, furniture arrangement and flower arrangement have been discussed and demonstrated. Many kinds of needlework have been carried on in the club.
The community activities of the club include cards and flowers for the sick in the community, gifts for the aged at Christmas, donations to such charitable organizations and institutions as Red Cross, Oxford Orphanage, White Christmas fund, and Xeriman's Christmas fund. To aid the school in securing equipment for the home economics department, an electric stove was purchased. This year a contribution was given to the cafeteria fund for equipment.
To encourage scholarship, each year a small scholarship is given to some girl or girls for excellency in a specified field.
The health project for the past two years has brought a deep sense of satisfaction. In 1956 it consisted of milk for some child each week. In 1957 it was lunch, including milk, for some child each week, and milk for another student.
At present Mrs. Margaret McLendon is president of the club. Past presidents in addition to Mrs. Stamps and Mrs. Allen are Mrs. Alma Marbley and Mrs. Helen Fenderson. The club hopes to play an increasingly important role in the lives of its members and the community by sponsoring a worthwhile program, and by practicing their motto: “We learn by doing.”Queen of the South
Queen of the South Chapter No. 209, order of the Eastern Star was organized June 6, 1910, by the District Deputy, Reverend George Anant of New Bern, North Carolina. The charter Worthy Matron was Mrs. Nannie Holley Boyd, who served as Matron until 1922.
During the depression, the chapter was discontinued until September 18, 1945, when it was reorganized. The Grand Worthy Patron, Brother W. M. Starkey of New Bern, was in charge of the ceremony. The officers elected at that time were as follows: Worthy Matron, Mrs. Catherine Bynum; Associate Matron, Mrs. S. V. Turner; Worthy Patron, Brother A. L. Wilson; Secretary, Marjorie Stiles; Treasurer, Leona Dudley; Conductress, Celia Dudley; and Associate Conductress, Elizabeth Jones.
WATER IS FREE!Wherever you find it, water is free,Deep in a well or out of the sea.Get all you want wherever you go,—Read the simple direction below.Put a barrel under the spout,Collect the rain the clouds give out;But watch for wiggler and bacillus,—Some bugs are almost sure to kill us.Melt yourself a pan of snow!(It's a crystal form of H2O)Or just apply a little heatTo frost or ice or hail or sleet!Dig a hole both deep and round,That's where lots of water's found.Pumps are needed, so are tanks,—You pay for them with more than thanks!Put muddy water in a kettle,Leave it for the mud to settle.Even the water in the sewerIs ninety-nine one hundredths pure!Build a dam across a creekAnd do it well so it won't leak.Then lay a pipe. (The cost ain't hay;Be sure to get a right of way.)Wring the water from a blanket of fog!Strain the tadpoles out of a bog!Get up early and gather dew!Sprinkle a cloud with CO2!With a bucket you can bringAll you want from pond or spring.Two hundred trips or so a dayAre really fun when you don't pay!Your water works adds this last line:Delivery is where we shine!We can't sell water because it's free,—We sell only Pressure and Purity!
Carolina Water Company
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
CHARCOAL STEAKS — BARBECUE
PORK — CHICKEN
Mrs. Russell Willis Restaurant
Phone 6-3741 - Morehead City, N. C.
Located Highway 70 A
John L. Crump
JOE C. BEAM, ASSOCIATE
Real Estate — Insurance
Morehead City, North Carolina
Garner's Gulf Service
7th and Arendell Streets
Gas, Oil and Greasing
A. M. GARNER
Morehead City, North CarolinaFisheries Organizations
The Duke Marine Laboratory was established in 1938 on Piver's Island across the Newport River from Morehead City, N. C., as a result of the initiative and vision of Dr. A. S. Pearse, formerly chairman of the Department of Zoology of Duke University. The United States Bureau of Fisheries had established a biological station at the north end of the island in 1902, because it was found to be a place especially well suited for the study of marine fauna and flora. Since then the biota has become well known through the work of many biologists including Gill, Simpson, Coues, Yarrow, Grave, Wilson, Coker, Pearse, Mast, Hoyt, Lewis and Hay.
Originally the Duke station was planned as a place for students to receive training and do graduate work in marine biology. Demand soon developed, however, for facilities for investigators and in 1949 a research laboratory was built and another added in 1954.
The Duke Marine Laboratory occupies 13 acres of the southern portion of Piver's Island; the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Laboratory encompasses the remainder of the island, the north end. The island is between Morehead City and Beaufort.
The present plant consists of ten buildings including three dormitories, dining hall, residence, a class room laboratory, and two research laboratories.
The laboratories are supplied with running salt and fresh water, electricity and gas. There are tanks, water tables, aquaria, autoclave, ovens, plant presses and other commonly used laboratory equipment. A darkroom, library with reference books and reprints, and small herbarium of marine algae and local flora are also maintained.
Thirty-six people may be accommodated in the dormitories. Occupants must supply blankets, bed linen, pillows, and towels.
The station owns a 38-foot power boat equipped to trawl and dredge in the sounds and the ocean: A 27-foot boat, row boats, and collecting gear are also available.
Morehead City is approximately midway between Woods Hole, Mass., and Miami, Fla. It is, therefore, in the southern range of many plants and animals which occur off the New England coast and the northern range of a host of species which are found off the Florida coast and in the West Indies. The Gulf Stream is about 35 miles offshore, and between it and the shore are occasional reefs.
The Morehead City area is strategically located for biological research because of the richness of its flora and fauna, and the ease with which one may reach a variety of habitats. From the laboratory by boat or automobile it is easy to reach the ocean, Bogue and Core Sounds, Harker's Island, rivers, creeks, canals, mud flats, sand beaches, dunes, peat bogs, marshes, cypress swamps, bird islands and rookeries, and coastal pine forests. Long leaf pine, yaupon, and at least seven species of insectivorous plants, including the noted Venus flytrap, grow in the region. A variety of algae, both freshwater and marine is available. Common animals include shrimps, squids, king crabs, crabs, snails, clams, jellyfish, ctenophores, hydroids, sponges, polychaetes, three species of sea urchins, seafish, brittle stars, sand dollars, many fishes, sharks, rays, skimmers, terns, gulls, herons, sea turtles, and porpoises.
All courses of instruction at the Laboratory are intended for graduate students and seniors. Admission is subject to the approval of the instructor. Students who have had adequate preparation may do research work on these courses. Those who will need special equipment must communicate with the instructor concerned before the session opens.
T. T. “Tom” Potter & Son
Sinclair Petroleum Products and Goodyear Tires & Batteries
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
Machine & Supply
PHONES—2-5971 & 2-5981
Beaufort, North Carolina
|G. M. Diesels||Chrysler Marine Engines|
|Electronics||Marine and Industrial|
|Hardware and Supplies|
GEO. W. DILL & SONS
FUNERALS SINCE 1900
Morehead City, North Carolina
P. H. Geer & Son
Gulf Oil Products Logo
Gulf Oil Products
Morehead City, North Carolina
Carteret County's Finest Store For Men
Morehead City, North CarolinaUnited States Fisheries
The U. S. Fishery Laboratory on Pivers Island, between Morehead City and Beaufort, is the headquarters for U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service fishery research activities in the middle Atlantic area. The present laboratory was dedicated in 1955. It is 168 feet long and 36 feet wide, has seven offices, a photographic darkroom, a scale reading room (for reading fish scales to determine age, spawning frequency, etc.), and a library. The east end of the building is devoted to laboratory facilities such as aquaria and salt water tables in which marine fishes may be held for study, a chemistry table, a storeroom for scientific equipment, and individual cubicles for research workers. The laboratory unit is fully air conditioned. A maintenance building accommodates garage, storage, water pumping and heating facilities, and a carpentry shop. Between the two buildings a concrete courtyard serves as a parking area. A dormitory to accommodate visiting scientists was recently completed.
At the present time coastwide studies are being conducted on two fish species. They are the white shad which spawns in our fresh water streams, and the menhaden which is a familiar species in this area and among the most important economically. Investigations of a more regional nature are also being conducted at the laboratory. These include research
United States Fisheries Laboratory, Pivers Island
on the striped bass populations of Albemarle Sound and its tributaries and on the blue crab in North and South Carolina waters. In addition to the fishery research staffs at the laboratory the office of the Statistical Agent, Branch of Commercial Fisheries, U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service, is headquartered here.
Fishery Radiobiological studies are being conducted in another laboratory on Pivers Island. These studies are being carried out jointly by the Fish and Wildlife Service and the Atomic Energy Commission and deal with the accumulation, body distribution and rate of loss of radioactive elements by marine organisms.
A century ago the Morehead City Beaufort area was recognized as an ideal location for the study of marine flora and fauna. Professors and students from Johns Hopkins University and zoologists from the Smithsonian Institute came here to conduct their reseach. In 1902 the original U. S. Fishery Laboratory was completed and it served as a landmark in this area for many years. Some of the early work at the laboratory concerned oyster culture and extensive life history studies on a variety of fish species found in this area. Also, a terrapin farm was in operation here for a number of years.
Some of the most renowned biologists and fishery scientists in the world have visited and studied at Pivers Island. The old laboratory which served as their temporary home for so many years was torn down early in 1955 after the completion of the present modern structure. With the new facilities at the U. S. Fishery Laboratory we may look forward to a great deal of productive research which will lend invaluable service to our fishing industry in the years to come.Institute of Fisheries
DR. A. F. CHESTNUT
At the western edge of the city limits of Morehead City is located a research institute operated under the supervision of the University
OCEAN OIL COMPANY
DISTRIBUTOR OF SHELL PRODUCTS
Roper Van Horn, Agent
|PHONE||PLANT & OFFICE|
|6-3414||Hwy. 70, City Limits|
John A. Baker Agency
GENERAL INSURANCE & REAL ESTATE
“We Specialize In Beach Property”
IDEAL BUSINESS & RESIDENCE LOTS
Terms For Your Convenience
Beach Cottages For Rent & Sale
ATLANTIC BEACH, N. C.
Walter S. Morris
“The Store For Brides”
Morehead City, North Carolina
“Known For Good Clothes”
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
Morehead City, N. C.
of North Carolina. The Institute of Fisheries Research was established by action of the Board of Trustees of the University of North Carolina on September 29, 1947. Financial support for the first four years came from a grant of $130,000 made by the Knapp Foundation, Inc., with matching funds from State appropriations. The Knapp Foundation specified that the project shall be to all concerned as “a tribute to Joseph P. Knapp's lifelong interest in the betterment of mankind.”
Establishment of the Institute was the result of combined efforts and cooperation of many individuals and agencies. In the fall of 1944 President Frank Graham of the University of North Carolina requested that a project in marine biology be undertaken as a university function. Dr. Robert E. Coker, Chairman of the Department of zoology, was appointed to examine the possibilities, necessity and potentialities of such a project. A general survey of the State's marine fisheries and resources was planned to provide a foundation for future studies, and Dr. Harden F. Taylor was made Executive Director of this survey. Financial assistance for the survey was provided by Mr. George Lurcy of New York, an alumnus of the University, and by the General Education Board. The wholehearted cooperation of such individuals as Mr. Josh Horne, Mr. Roy Hampton, and Mr. Bruce Etheridge representing the interests of the Department of Conservation and Development resulted in providing facilities at Morehead City.
The functions of the Institute is to endeavor, through scientific research, to arrive at a better understanding of the complex problems of marine science. During the formative period of the Institute, emphasis was placed upon practical applications of biology to the problems of fisheries resources. This was necessary because of the conditions of the State appropriations to match the initial grant from the Knapp Foundation. It immediately became evident that an emphasis on practical applications required fundamental or basic research. Before many practical applications of research could be made, it was necessary to conduct more studies of fundamental nature. The application of scientific findings in one area does not imply that such results can be applied with the same degree of success in another area.
The contributions of the Institute to the general welfare of the State have been made as a result of basic research in various fields. Studies on the life history and behavior of various species of shrimp in the laboratory and under natural conditions resulted in actual monetary gain to the industry. Life history and ecological studies of mollusks have formed the basis for a program of management and development of the oyster industry. Studies on the gonad development of certain fishes have shown potentiality of a valuable resource present in North Carolina waters. Oceanographic studies have contributed to each program of studies and have provided information of value to other agencies.
The staff members have made contributions to science through publication of research results and through presentation of papers at scientific meetings.
The primary function of the Institute is in research, not in teaching. Certainly, however, it must cooperate in the training of persons for service in the fields of conservation and utilization of fishery resources. We should not always have to go out of the State to find men trained in this field. Nor is it fair to our own young people that they should always have to go out of the State to secure training in these fields. The Institute has and may well continue to serve in a cooperative way to supplement, with opportunities for practical experience, with lectures and with informed guidance, the specialized training offered in the several branches of the University of North Carolina, or in other educational institutions of the State.
Another important function of the Institute, in cooperation with the Department of Conservation and Development and the Bureau of Business Services and Research, School of Business Administration, is the study of the socio-economic aspects of the industry. Obviously, there is little point in discovering new sources of fish and shellfish or
Ford Motor Company Shield Logo
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
East End Arendell Street
THE ONLY COMPLETE MODERN CAR IN ITS FIELD
Drawing of car
SERVICE & PARTS
24—HOUR WRECKER SERVICE
Dial Day: 6-3332 — Night: 6-3007
BEAR FRONT END ALIGNMENT SERVICE AT MODERN SERVICE DEPARTMENT
“Dicker With Parker For A Better Deal”
“If You Don't Own A New Ford You Haven't Driven One Lately”
“Building the best
Moving Service in America”
Howard Van Lines, Inc.
MOREHEAD-NEW BERN HIGHWAY
P. O. Box 384
Morehead City, North Carolina
POST OFFICE BOX 28
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
Bridgeview Inn Motel
FISHING CAMP - GRADE A - TOURIST COURT ON RADIO ISLAND OFF MOREHEAD CITY AND BEAUFORT CAUSEWAY
|1 & 2 ROOM UNITS||FAMILY GROUPS WELCOME|
|ALL HAVE KITCHENETTES||BOAT & FISHING PARTIES|
|PRIVATE BATHS WITH SHOWERS||ARRANGED FOR|
REASONABLE DAILY & WEEKLY RATES PERSONAL MANAGEMENT
MRS. JULIA HOLT
Tire Recapping and Retreading
ALL WORK GUARANTEED
See Jim Morrill
Tire Service Company
1300 Arendell Street
Morehead City, North Carolina
All Forms of Insurance
HARD TO PLACE RISKS
ALL MARINE LINES
First-Citizen's Bank Building
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
S. A. Chalk, Jr.
in increasing production if the trade outlets are too limited, or if the avenues of movement from production point to consumers are overtortuous and too slow.
A well qualified and experienced staff is assembled at the Institute. The individual staff members design their programs of research and exercise freedom in pursuing their scientific studies. The present scientific staff includes Dr. A. F. Chestnut, Dr. Earl E. Deubler, Jr., Dr. William E. Fahy, Mr. Hugh J. Porter, Dr. Gerald S. Posner and Dr. Austin B. Williams. Other personnel of the Institute include Mrs. Margaret Barrow, Clerk-Stenographer; Mr. Matthew Jones, technician; Mr. John Wegener, a Master Mariner and technical assistant and Mr. Harry Willis in charge of maintenance and buildings.N. C. Division of Commercial
C. G. HOLLAND
The Division of Commercial Fisheries, one of the units of our State government, located in Morehead City, has a well rounded program. To it is charged the responsibility for the protection of the state's marine resources which consist of aquatic plants and all of the marine animals. The responsibility to protect, safeguard and promote the sources of livelihood of some 35,000 fishermen and their families in the twenty-one coastal counties, and at the same time to protect and safeguard the interests of the citizens of the entire State, rests upon the Division of Commercial Fisheries.
Sometimes mere laws are not sufficient, particularly where there has been a serious over-harvesting of a fishery. This has happened in the case of the oyster and it is necessary in this instance not only to protect what is there, but to take steps to rehabilitate our old oyster beds and to make three oysters grow where we get one now. Each year the State collects oyster shells from the shuckers, who are required by law to return half of their shells to the State. The Division of Commercial Fisheries plants these shells in the oyster producing areas. The bed is then closed for three years, the normal time required for oysters to grow to marketable size. Young spat settle on the oyster shells and grow to mature oysters.
The harvest of shrimp for 1955 was normal and we would benefit greatly if we could process this delicious seafood product into breaded shrimp. We have many other edible seafoods such as clams, soft, hard and stone crabs, escallops, fish and other aquatic forms. We have many laws and regulations regarding the taking and selling of these seafoods. The Division of Commercial Fisheries is the agency responsible for the enforcement of these laws. Our enforcement personnel consists of a Commissioner, Supervisors, Inspectors and Patrol Boat Crews.
The place of the mehaden fish in our economy deserves some discussion. The work among these fish has a profitable season of about six weeks a year. They are found on the entire Atlantic Coast from Maine to Florida and in the Gulf as far as Texas. The fish meal is used for hog and chicken feed and for fertilizing our crops. North Carolina is about the third largest user in the nation. The fish oil is used for oils in paint, soap, tempering steel, steric acid for softening rubber and in a buffing compound for shining metal. Many more uses are in the experimental stage. All of this oil is shipped out of North Carolina, about one-half of the production going to Europe.
N. C. Division of Commercial Fisheries Building
The Charles Slover Wallace house on the corner of Arendell and Eighth Streets in Morehead City has aged more than half a century, but still stands erect as a confederate soldier at attention. Many of those who know its story best have passed on, but others who are still here to talk about it say it has been one of the town's outstanding showplaces through the years.
Back in 1903 when homes were built “to endure forever,” the Wallace home was begun. Built from shipwreck lumber, it took 18 months to complete the three-story mansion with 15 rooms, 4 baths and a tower room. John F. Bell, chief carpenter, is now deceased; but his son, Edgar, says the lumber is still so tough, driving a nail is difficult. Those who know lumber say the lumber is all heart pine bridge timber. Oldtimers say the lumber was taken from a ship enroute
The Charles S. Wallace home, corner 8th and Arendell Streets
from Alabama to New England that ran aground at Cape Lookout.
During the early days when the Wallace home was built, there was no public sewer, power or water system. Morehead City's first sewer was run from the Wallace home, and is still in use. The old cistern that provided water for the family is still there.
Inside the home, evidence of old gas-lights can still be seen. Most beautiful of all are the frescoed ceilings throughout the house. During Centennial Week Mrs. Grace W. Taylor and Mr. George R. Wallace, the surviving son and daughter of Charles S. Wallace, have contributed the mansion to the Centennial cause. An antique and art exhibit will be housed on the first floor. Many personal possessions of the Wallace family, such as clothing out of the historic past, will also be on view.CITIZEN OF THE CENTURY
DR. BEN F. ROYAL
Born and reared in Morehead City, Dr. Ben F. Royal, a physician and surgeon by profession, has devoted a lifetime to curing the ills of his community, not only those associated with physical illnesses of the human body, but those of an economic nature as well. Early in life he dedicated himself to the betterment of mankind. So interwoven with the history of Morehead City is the story of his life that it would be difficult to separate them. Instrumental in establishing the first hospital in the community, closely associated with the development of the town's port facilities, and active in matters pertaining to the development of educational facilities in the State of North Carolina as a whole, because of his interest in public affairs and his infectious enthusiasms, Dr. Royal has been the force behind many projects relating themselves to the growth and welfare of Morehead City. “Service” has been Dr. Royal's philosophy, not only in his professional life, but in his personal and civic life as well. Morehead City is indeed fortunate to have had during a part of its first one hundred years, Dr. Ben F. Royal, as a loyal citizen, booster, and one-man Chamber of Commerce.
Greetings :-: Welcome
The Town of Morehead City takes this means of extending greetings and an official welcome to each of you, for every visitor is an honored guest in our midst.
GEORGE W. DILL, JR., Mayor
V. J. “TED” GARNER, Mayor Pro-Tem
S. C. HOLLOWAY, Commissioner
D. J. HALL, Commissioner
G. E. SANDERSON, Commissioner
JASPER E. BELL, CommissionerMOREHEAD CITY'S SWEETHEART
“MISS MADIE” BELL
Nineteen years after our town was settled there was born at Harlowe, to James R. and Mittie Becton Bell, a baby girl. She was christened Mary Abigail, a name that soon was shortened to Madie. She grew up and went to school in the Harlowe community.
After her “high school” education she entered Greensboro Female College, now Greensboro College, and completed the three year teaching course in two years. She had already had extensive teaching experience, for before she entered college and in the year she had to be out due to her mother's illness, she taught at the little school which she attended as a child.
Her first position as a college graduate was in the “free school” in Morehead City. Parents were so delighted with the instruction their children were receiving they asked Miss Madie to teach a “pay school”. This was located where the Morehead City Floral Shop now stands.
In Morehead City Miss Madie met another Bell, Daniel G., and became his bride in the Harlowe church amidst the greatest mass of cape jasmine ever assembled in Carteret County. On Easter Sunday 1905, their first child, Mary Julia, was born. Her few months of life brought joy to the home. Eight years later a son, Daniel G. Jr., was born and is his mother's pride and joy as he operates his gift shop and so ably represents his people in the North Carolina House of Representatives.
Marriage didn't close Miss Madie's career as a teacher and she was, and is in the midst of civic and church activities. She was president for many years of the Emeline J. Pigott Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy and served as Registrar for the North Carolina United Daughters of the Confederacy. She was also a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution.
In 1921 she helped organize the Morehead City Woman's Club and served as its first president. Twenty years later she served a second term. She is a charter member of the Garden and Civics Department and is the only honorary life member of the Literary and Art Department. For thirty six years she has inspired and challenged the leaders and members of the organization.
Through the years her interest in education has evidenced itself in substitute teaching, serving on the Board of Trustees of the Morehead City School, and helping to raise funds for school projects. Two of the largest were the purchase of a stage curtain and a grand piano.
If anyone deserves to be called a pillar of the church, Miss Madie certainly does. When she first came to Morehead City she taught a young men's class in the First Methodist Church. Later she took over a class of
WE'RE JUSTLY PROUD TO BE A PART OF
AND CONGRATULATE THE TOWN FOR LIVING TO BE A HUNDRED
Lloyd A. Fry Roofing Company
Photo of company building
Lloyd A. Fry Roofing Company
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
WITH OTHER PLANTS AT
|Compton, Cal.||N. Kansas City, Mo.|
|San Leandro, Cal.||Robertson, Mo.|
|Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.||Kearny, N. J.|
|Jacksonville, Fla.||Stroud, Okla.|
|Summit, Ill.||Portland, Ore.|
|Brookville, Ind.||York, Pa.|
|Waltham, Mass.||Memphis, Tenn.|
|Detroit, Mich.||Houston, Texas|
|Minneapolis, Minn.||Irving, Texas|
|Compton, Cal.||Fulton, N. Y.|
|Jacksonville, Fla.||Portland, Ore.|
|Summit, Ill.||Emmaus, Penn.|
|Brookville, Ind.||Memphis, Tenn.|
|Mishawaka, Ind.||Houston, Texas|
|N. Kansas City, Mo.||Irving, Texas|
EARLE W. WEBB
Earl W. Webb, was born in Morehead City, the son of Alexander and Harriet Webb. He went to public and private schools in the town, attended Trinity College (now Duke), University of Michigan and New York Law School. He practiced law in New York City 1904-1922, when he became General Attorney for General Motors Corporation. In 1925 he was elected president of Ethyl Gasoline Corporation (now Ethyl Corporation). He continued in that position and later acted as Chairman of the Board until 1948, when he retired.
Mr. Webb was on the Board of American Petroleum Institute, National Association of Manufacturers and the National Industrial Conference Board. He has been a trustee of Duke University since 1933. Although his home has been in New York and Connecticut over fifty years, he and his family have spent some time each year since 1929 at the place he built on Bogue Sound, five miles west of Morehead City.
MOREHEAD CITY'S SWEETHEART (Continued from page 99) women which she still teaches. About twenty years ago they named it the Madie Bell Bible Class in her honor. She is a faithful and active member of the Wesleyan Service Guild. Several years ago the church presented her with a Bible in appreciation for her outstanding service.
So she has spent her eighty years serving her family, her church and her community. At this age most folks would sit back and rest on their laurels, but not Miss Madie. She is still in the center of the activities of the community.
The Woman's Club sets out to “Beautify Morehead City with Crepe Myrtles” and who sells the most plants? Miss Madie. Morehead City needs street markers, so who solicits the most money? Miss Madie. Volunteers are needed to staff the Centennial Trailer and who gives the most hours? Miss Madie. Who tops all workers by obtaining the most Patron and Memorial listings for the Centennial Jubilee Book? Why, Miss Madie, of course.
So now as she goes about our town spreading warmth, good cheer, gentle humor, enthusiasm, encouragement, and true Christian love, our citizenry points with pride to Miss Madie—our First Lady.
Morehead City Garment Co., Inc.
Morehead City Garment Co., Inc.
Photo of company building
“Home Of The Beaver Shirt”WEBB MEMORIAL CIVIC CENTER
Webb Memorial Civic Center, corner 9th and Evans Streets
There are few towns in the state, the size of Morehead City or even larger, that have the advantages of a public building such as that in this city known as the Civic Center, located at the corner of 9th and Evans Streets.
When erected some twenty-five years ago by Mr. Earle W. Webb of New York, a former resident of Morehead City, it was designed for use as a professional building. Later, following the death of Mr. Webb's son, Earle W. Jr., he decided to convert the building into a civic center as a memorial to his son. Following the death of Mrs. Eva Arnold Webb a few years later, both mother and son are memorialized in the structure and its maintenance, through a foundation endowed by Mr. Webb, known as the Earle W. Webb, Jr. Memorial.
For the past twenty years civic organizations coming under the head of educational, charitable and religious have had the advantages of this well-equipped building. The rooms of the first floor are given over to a library, men's reading, game and meeting rooms. On the second floor are very attractively appointed social rooms with kitchen facilities to meet the needs of most social gatherings; there also is the children's department of the library. There are about 10 thousand books in the two libraries, and they are being continually added to.
The building has in every way fulfilled its high purpose as set out in the charter, “to promote educational, charitable and religious causes.” It is a most fitting memorial, one for which Morehead City is grateful and of which it is justly proud.
L & H Motor Company
Plymouth, Chrysler and Imperial
SALES AND SERVICE
509 Arendell St.
Jerry J. Willis
Real Estate and Insurance Agency
City Theatre Building
GIFTS — DECORATIVE ACCESSORIES
PICTURES AND FRAMES
Russell's Glass Shop
“Everything In Glass”
905 Shepard St.
Morehead City, N. C.
CHALK & GIBBS
Realtors - Insurors
100 Arendell Street
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
Promoting The Growth of
Morehead City and Carteret County
For The Past 32 YearsMorehead City Band
Morehead City Majorettes of 1957, left to right: Douglass Ann West, Wendy Lowe, Judy Cooper, Terry Lowe
The Morehead City High School Band was first organized by the Boy Scouts under the direction of Zeb Butts in 1923.
The first instruments consisting of 2 cornets, 2 clarinets, 2 trombones, 2 altos, 1 baritone, 1 base, 1 snare drum, a double B and an E flat bass horn, were purchased for $100. The equipment which had been out of use for some time needed cleaning and polishing before they were able to use them.
In 1923, Mr. H. L. Joslyn called for all who were interested in the band, and started the new band with The Educator Band Book. Knowing nothing about reeds and slides, they worked out everything with the help of the Educator Band Book.
Mr. Ralph Wade, the present director, started playing in the band that year. The following year Mr. Gib Arthur came to Morehead City as science teacher and band director. He had been a classmate of Mr. Joslyn's, and they played in the N. C. State College Band together.
Mr. Joslyn played many different instruments, his favorite being the bass horn, which he played in the band approximately 25 years.
The band visited different schools giving concerts. They were in Atlantic the night the Atlantic Hotel burned.
Due to the death of Mr. Gib Arthur in 1941, a new band director, who was captain of the U. S. Coast Artillery at Fort Macon, was named. Later a Mr. Beaman, who was then working with the U.S.O., had charge of the band for two years.
Mr. Henry O. Wade, who was a graduate of Morehead City High School, directed the band for one year.
When Mr. Windell became principal of the school in 1947, he could not locate a band master. The band was then dissolved, except for part time in the years of 1947-1948, when it was under the direction of Sam Guthrie.
After several conferences with Mr. Ralph Wade, a former student of Morehead City High School, the band was reorganized under his leadership.
BUD DIXON'S MOTEL
Morehead City, North Carolina
IN MOREHEAD CITY & BEAUFORT—
“Not Best Because We're Oldest — But Oldest Because We're Best”
FOR THESE FAMOUS NAMES
Kelvinator — Maytag — Zenith — RCA — Whirlpool
Economy Appliance Stores
|326 Front Street||905 Arendell Street|
WELCOME TO THE
FINEST IN TOWN
WE SERVE EVERYTHING GOOD TO EAT
Country Ham Our Specialty
Downtown Morehead City
EL'S DRIVE INN
HIGHWAY 70, WEST
Morehead City, North Carolina
Sandwiches of All Kinds
Open Eleven In Morning ’Til Twelve At Night, Seven Days A Week
“Fun For The Entire Family”
Idle Hour Amusement Center
ATLANTIC BEACH, N. C.
LONG DISTANCE MOVING SERVICE
Telephone 6-4829 or 6-4522
Acme Movers & Storage Co., Inc.
MEMBER ATLAS VAN LINES, INC.
P. O. Box 213
MOREHEAD CITY, NORTH CAROLINAMorehead City Police Department
Members of the Morehead City Police Department. Left to right, front row: Joe
Smith, Chief Herbert Griffin, Carl Bunch, Carl Blomberg. Back row: Elbert D. O'Neal,
Jr., Julius Steele, Walter Thomas, Bill Condi. One officer, Buck Newsome, not present.
OUR 10th ANNIVERSARY
W M B L
Photo of radio station
W M B L
740 ON YOUR DIAL
“Your Centennial Voice of Morehead City”
“ON THE CORNER”
“GOOD THINGS TO EAT”
Morehead City, N. C.
Herald Printing Company
Job Printing • Stationers
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.Morehead City Port Terminal
Morehead City Port Terminal, showing warehouses, transit sheds and wharfage
After more than 100 years, the vision that Mr. John M. Morehead had of making Morehead City one of the best ports on the Atlantic coast, gives promise of being realized to the fullest. Under the direction of the State Ports Authority the building of an enlarged port was completed.
Long before Mr. Morehead conceived the idea of creating Morehead City at its present site, making this section a potential great shipping center, the location, known as Shepard's Point, was a landing and loading point for freight and passengers for small vessels plying the sounds and rivers of Eastern Carolina.
Under the direction of Mr. Morehead in 1858-59, work was started on the building of the port. The prospects of Morehead City as a shipping center were considered extremely good. Its location was compared with that of New York City. It was shown to be surrounded by navigable waters on three sides, while vessels drawing 18 feet of water could approach it with ease. But the boom was cut short by the war between the states. After the war, the anticipated ocean shipping did not materialize.
It remained for Mr. Morehead with his vision of the advantages offered by the location of the Point, to bring to fruition the
construction of the first pier and warehouse in Carteret County which would accommodate the receiving and shipping of large cargoes. Combined with the port development was his interest in extending the new railroad from the proposed terminal at Carolina City through the projected sight of Morehead City to the port location.
Before Morehead City had been laid out and lots offered for sale, construction work was started on what for many years was known as Pier No. 1.
For the next two or three years following the completion of the railroad to Goldsboro, considerable freight was shipped in and out by both rail and water. Future prospects were very bright for the continued development of Morehead City and its shipping facilities. But the opening of the war between the states and the coming of Federal soldiers in 1862, with the capture of Fort Macon brought a halt to commercial rail and water shipments.
During the time the Federal forces occupied Morehead City, they made good use of the port and railroad. Large quantities of army supplies were shipped in by boat. The railroad was used for the movement of freight and troops.
With the war days over, Morehead City along with other sections of the South was slow in resuming its commercial life. It was not until 1880 that much water shipping was resumed.
During the severe storm of August, 1879, which swept over this section, considerable damage was done to the wharf and warehouse. Repairs were made and the wharf continued in use for several more years. Small coastwise and sound craft made use of the port several years after the larger vessels were attracted to more modern ports along the coast.
When Morehead City was shipping out two or three carloads of fish several days a week, fish boats from Beaufort and other points in the eastern part of the county unloaded their shipments at Pier No. 1 until the railroad was extended to Beaufort. A freight and express station was maintained for loading.
Former Governor Cameron Morrison of Charlotte (1921-1925) led a movement in 1924 for a state bond issue of $8,500,000.00 for development of the state's seaports, but the plan was voted down in a special election in November, 1924.
THE WAZIRISTAN, FIRST
Interest in Morehead City did not wane, and as the result of efforts of local citizens the port idea was pushed.
From this start resulted Morehead City's second and successful attempt to establish and maintain a port terminal for all types of ocean going craft. The terminal came into being through a succession of acts passed by the North Carolina assembly.
In March 1933 the Port Commission of Morehead City was created by act of the General Assembly. The commission was composed of seven members, four appointed by the state and three by the Town of Morehead City.
LOADING FIRST EXPORT OF SCRAP IRON
The first chairman of the commission was Stanley Woodland, who with Dr. Royal, Judge Luther Hamilton, H. S. Gibbs, and others, was instrumental in the early development of the port. Dr. Royal became the second chairman in August, 1934, when he was succeeded by H. S. Gibbs who held the office until the commission was dissolved in 1951.
THE SAMNANGER, FIRST
In 1945 the state legislature created a North Carolina State Ports Authority. Its mission was to develop state ports for the interest of all the people of the state, by affording modern and efficient facilities on the coast, to transfer materials destined for industrial North Carolina.
No money was set up to start the program, however, and it was not until the legislature met again in 1947 that a small sum was appropriated for administration of the programs and surveys. Meantime, an allotment of $90,000 was obtained from the Federal
Tanker unloading gusoline for commercial use
Works Agency to make engineering studies and prepare plans for modern dock and terminal facilities at Wilmington and Morehead City.
Loading tobacco for export to Europe
Today the Morehead City Port boasts many modern loading and storage facilities. There are two storage warehouses, totaling 88,000 square feet of storage space, and three transit sheds totaling 132,000 square feet. Grain loading equipment and all kinds of cargo handling equipment is available. A new fumigation plant, constructed of concrete and steel, is now in use. The wharfage is sufficient to accommodate four 500 feet cargo ships and one petroleum tanker, with a depth of 30 feet at mean low water.
The chief exports from this port are tobacco and grain. During the past year, grain exports have taken on new importance, and with the improvement of transportation facilities to the port, promises to be the leading export within a short time. The chief import is petroleum.
Military cargoes are of considerable importance to the port also. During 1956 there were a total of 61 military ships served by the port facilities.
Today the port is improving in service and equipment with each passing month. With improvement in transportation to the port, there is little doubt that it shall continue to expand and grow.
COMPLETE BUILDING, PLUMBING AND PAINT SUPPLIES
BEAUFORT, N. C.
Weeks & Andrews Construction Company
Room 209 Stedman Building
ASHEBORO, N. C.
Maola Milk & Ice Cream Company
Morehead Block & Tile Company
W. P. FREEMAN WHOLESALE COMPANY
AUTHORIZED DISTRIBUTOR LLOYD A. FRY ROOFING CO.
ASPHALT ROOFING AND ALLIED PRODUCTS
Morehead City, North Carolina
Flying Eagle Logo
W. P. Freeman Wholesale Company
4th & Arendell Streets
Morehead City, North Carolina
LIBBY FINE FOODSCENTENNIAL SLOGAN
Photo of Mrs. Rhea Goodwin Haislip
Mrs. Rhea Goodwin Haislip submitted the Centennial Slogan, “A Litle Bit of Heaven Since 1857.”
Mrs. Haislip came to Morehead City 14 years ago from Reading, Pa. She has three children by a former marriage. At the present time she is a receptionist for Dr. Darden J. Eure.Unusual and Historical Laws and Ordinances
Compiled from existing Minute Books
July 31, 1903: Dr. W. E. Headen was allowed the privilege to hitch his horse to trees in city when visiting patients.
October 3, 1904: Letters from Mr. R. R. Howland were read in which he proposed to furnish electric lights for the town for $150.00 per month.
October 3, 1905: The Mayor is hereby authorized and given the power to grant permits to persons to keep hogs within the corporate limits of the town west of 14th Street.
June 14, 1906: Mr. G. W. Dill was present and asked the Board to grant him the privilege of selling cold drinks and cigars on Sundays. Request not granted.
June 15, 1906: Mr. G. W. Dill appeared and urged that they reconsider the matter of selling cigars and cold drinks on Sundays during the summer months. Same was discussed and after discussion the Drug Store and Atlantic Hotel were allowed to sell drinks and cigars on Sundays from 9 o'clock in the morning until 7 o'clock in the evenings.
February 1, 1907: Mr. Fred Royal employed as Engineer, Fire Engine at $5.00 per month.
March 8, 1907: Mr. J. H. Mann took census of the town for which he was paid $5.00. There were 1,406 white, 413 colored, total residents 1,819.
April 27, 1908: The following ordinance was passed and ordered posted on wire gate at city limit fence:
“Any person or persons failing to close the gates at the wire fence shall upon conviction pay a fine of $2.50 and one-half of said fine shall be paid to the informer.”
May 14, 1903: Baby carriages and other vehicles shall be kept in single file on walkways. Fine 50 cents each offense or 2 days in jail.
November 9, 1908: Ordinances amended to allow the use of shot guns west of 16th Street, and North of Fisher Street, provided it shall be unlawful to shoot in or into the cemetery square under penalty of $5.00 for each offense.
“At The Sight of The Old Atlantic Hotel”
Drawing of Jefferson Hotel
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
Open Year Around
Sears, Roebuck and Company
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
The Midyette Net & Twine Company
Wholesale Distributors of a Complete Line of Commercial Fishing Gear
We Stock a Complete Line of Gold Medal Cotton
Trawl, Gill and Nylon Netting
All GOLD MEDAL Products
COLUMBIAN Manila Rope in Sizes from 3/16″ diameter to 2″ diameter.
|Phone 2-5951||P. O. Box 330|
|Lennoxville Rd.||BEAUFORT, N. C.|
E. W. Downum Company
Mens’, Womens’ & Childrens’ Clothing
Jones Outboard Marina
Mercury Outboard—Thompson Boats
SALES & SERVICE
Morehead City, N. C.
CARTERET SUPPLY COMPANY MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
Established in 1907 by W. J. Hales, was for many years the only wholesale business in Morehead City.
Purchased in 1942 by David W. Freshwater, the company is now celebrating its 50th year of efficient service to the merchants of Morehead City and Carteret County
DAVID W. FRESHWATER, Manager
GEORGE W. PENNUELL, Partner
“Pappy” Joe Fulcher
E. Stamey Davis
I Remember When . . . . .
You could not buy a soft drink without buying a sandwich.
The fire house was in the middle of 8th Street, and the only water supply came from wells dug in the middle of the streets. These wells were about 10 feet deep, and were called “dug wells of surface water.”
Three to four feet of water covered the spot where the City Hall is now located. We went crabbing and clamming in this same location.
We went to “town” to Beaufort every Saturday to buy groceries in a “snapper.”
The first gasoline motor was bought in Morehead City by D. B. Wade and Sons for a boat.
Baptismal services were held where the Fire Station and Hospital are now located.
Water washed against the railroad between 6th and 7th Streets on Arendell.
Board walk started at 9th Street where Esso station is now located.
First appendectomy was performed in Morehead City by Dr. Primrose from New Bern. Patient was Miss Julia Phillips. Operation was performed on kitchen table.
You couldn't travel on north side of Arendell Street past Eastman's Furniture Store except in horse drawn cart.
There were no houses East of corner of 8th and Bridges on South side.
Hop Sing (local Chinese laundryman) was mending a shirt and a hornet flew in the window and lit on a table nearby. Hop took his finger with the thimble on and mashed the hornet's head. The hornet turned his tail and stung Hop. Then Hop went running next door to Mr. Fred Royal's shop, (Mr. Fred was his doctor at all times) “Fled”, Hop cried, “He no bite with his face, he bite with his tail.”
There were three cars in Morehead City in 1913, owned by G. D. Canfield, C. Manley Wade and Ob Willis.
Water surrounded “Free School” which was located where High Schcool is now.
The State paid for two months schooling each year.
We were hired by Mr. Wiggins to catch frogs for him. Caught two sugar barrels full on Arendell Street.
You could get ice only by special shipment by schooner from Maine. As there was no ice manufacturing plant here, ice was stored in sawdust from winter to winter.
A shipment of steel came into Morehead City port from Norway to build railroad from Salisbury to Asheville, N. C.
The “Swamp Dollar” which was a two cent piece about the size of our fifty-cent piece was used. They were made of solid copper.Oldest Living Native
Mrs. Ida Eaton, born March 4, 1865, is the oldest living native of Morehead City. She was born in a house which stood at the corner of 10th and Arendell Streets and has lived in Morehead City all her life. She has been very active in the Baptist Church all her life, having been a member since she was a young girl. She was a charter member of the Missionary Circle and served as secretary for 35 years. One Missionary Circle is named in her honor.
She now resides with her son, John Eaton, just west of Morehead City.
Dine At The
First in Dry Cleaning
Approved Sanitone Service
The Soft-Water Laundry
Morehead City, N. C.
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
Green Houses In Back
2 Miles West of Morehead City
BOATING, BATHING, FISHING
On Beautiful Bogue Sound
Recreation Area — Picnic Tables
For Guests Only
Airway Moving & Storage, Inc.
Agents For United Van Lines
MOVING WITH CARE EVERYWHERE
THE DONUT HOUSE
Highway 70 West
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.ATLANTIC BEACH
Credit must be given to Von Bedsworth of Morehead City for the starting of a resort development which through the passing years brought about the present Atlantic Beach resort. Back in 1916 Bedsworth purchased the site of 100 acres of beach property including the Royal pavilion and bath houses and in 1913 built a 100 room hotel which met with instant success, giving the vacationing public accommodations directly on the beach.
Financial reverses caused Bedsworth to dispose of this property in 1920. For the next two years the resort was operated by J. E. Woodland. From that time on until the hotel was destroyed by fire and the pavilion torn down, the operation of the resort passed under several different managers.
Following the loss of the Atlantic View beach, Bedsworth built a pavilion for the colored people to the east of the beach on the site of the present McClamrock property. A year later he sold the property to a group of colored men who attempted to operate it until the buildings were destroyed by fire a few years later.
The year 1928 brought about the boom-time days of the Morehead Bluffs development. Morehead City and Beaufort caught the fever. Real estate was changing hands from day to day. Out of the “Bubble” developed a project by a group of Beaufort and Morehead men to organize a corporation to build a bridge from the mainland in Morehead to Bogue Banks, creating a resort on what is today the site of Atlantic Beach.
Two corporations were formed by this group of promoters, the Atlantic Beach and Bridge Corp., and the Atlantic Beach Corp. The men back of the project were G. W. Huntley, W. T. Davis, George Brooks, J. F. Duncan, C. R. Wheatly, C. K. Howe of Beaufort, J. B. Woodland and Luther Hamilton of Morehead.
Besides the toll bridge connecting the mainland with the beach, the promoters built a small dining hall, bath houses and pavilion in which dances were held. This venture was short lived for during the night of July 6th, 1929 fire destroyed the entire layout of buildings on the beach. The State Trust Co., of New York, which held a mortgage against the property, took it over following the fire. This banking firm was absorbed by the Manufacturers Trust Co., receiving the beach property as one of the assets, from the State Trust Co.
In 1930 the Manufacturers Trust Co., sent Robert Cordon, one of its associates, down to look things over. Cordon liked the looks of things so well that he persuaded the trust company to rebuild the beach, consisting of a large casino and bath houses. A year later construction was started on the Atlantic Beach hotel by the banking firm and was completed in 1932.
Cordon acted as manager of the resort and hotel for several years. In 1940 the hotel was purchased by W. L. Derrickson who is the present operator. Later, Newman Willis had the management of the resort until the property was sold by the banking firm to H. G. Mayer.
In the fall of 1945 the beach was purchased by Alfred Cooper, Morehead City, from Mayer. He remodeled the casino, built the Ocean King Hotel and made many improvements. Later, part of the property had been sold by Cooper to various parties who operate the several concessions. In 1936 the bridge was sold to the state for approximately $50,000.00, and the toll charges were removed. From that time of over a half a century ago when but two crude structures served the visitors to the beach, the beach through the vision of its early promoters has become a high-developed ocean-side resort The popularity of Atlantic Beach has prompted the state to build a new highway bridge connecting the mainland at Morehead with Atlantic Beach at a cost of $1,500,000.00.
Hotel Fort Macon
“In The Heart of Town”
Central Location — Reasonable Rates
Zyla “Hedge” Hedgecock, Manager
MOREHEAD CITY, N. C.
Safrit Lumber Company
Manufacturers Building Material
BEAUFORT, NORTH CAROLINA
NORTH CAROLINA'S OUTSTANDING SUMMER RESORT
USE YOUR TELEPHONE TO:
• Make Vacation Reservations
• Call the Falks Back Home
• Make Business Appointments
• Keep In Touch across the miles
Busy Bee Restaurant
Nick, Paul, John
White Ice Cream and Milk Division
Get The Best — Get
Morehead City, N. C.
The Store of Satisfaction
WATCHES — DIAMONDS — JEWELRY
WATCH AND CLOCK REPAIRING
723 Arendell Street
Morehead City, N. C.
OSCAR N. ALLRED, OwnerMISS EMELINE PIGOTT
One of the most outstanding heroines that North Carolina can claim in the War between the States was Miss Emeline Pigott of Carteret County. This young woman's name deserves a high place among our state's bravest women, for her cool courage was often shown in the midst of great danger.
Miss Pigott was born in Harlowe Township, Carteret County, December 15, 1836, and she was only 25 years of age when the War began. It was about this time that her father moved from his Harlowe plantation to a farm on Calico Creek, north of the present town of Morehead City, at that time a very small village.
Like all southern women she loved the south and dedicated her talents to the cause of the Southern Confederacy. Just across the creek was a garrison of soldiers who had been sent to the coast to help defend the State. She witnessed their privations and sufferings and sought every opportunity to nurse the sick and wounded among them, some of them in her father's farm home.
Twenty-five years of age at the time, pretty, attractive and popular, she had many admirers. One of these, Stokes McRae, fell desperately in love with her, and she with him. Often invited to the officers’ balls, she always declined, for the good reason that her lover was a Private in the Army. With her own hands she made for him a Confederate flag of silk mounted on a gold staff, which he carried with him until the Battle of New Bern, where it was lost. Young McRae was later killed in the Battle of Gettysburg. When the news of her lover's death reached “Miss Emeline”, she is said to have re-dedicated her life to the cause of the Confederacy.
Her places of activity were many, the farm on Calico Creek, Morehead City, Beaufort, New Bern, Kinston and Concord. She had fishermen meet Northern vessels in Bogue Sound and Beaufort Inlet. While pretending to sell fish, they were really working to find out about the tonnage of each vessel, what cargo they were carrying, and to what port they would next sail. All this information is said to have been passed on to Miss Emeline, who relayed it to the proper civil and military authorities.
Miss Emeline Pigott
Miss Emeline was present at the Battle of New Bern, and witnessed the capture of that city by the Federals. She refused to leave the Craven Capital until the last train, which was made up mostly of flat cars carrying the wounded soldiers to Kinston. There she spent many weeks nursing the sick and wounded and when the town was evacuated she went out with the Confederates and finally landed in Concord.
It was during her stay in Concord that she met a Mrs. Brent, the widow of a Chaplain in the Federal Army, who was trying to get back to her people in the North. The two women soon became friends and together
worked their way through the Federal lines, finally reaching the little farm on Calico Creek.
Back home, Miss Emeline continued to aid the Confederate soldiers, and was ever alert to do everything in her power to this end. With the aid of her brother-in-law, Rufus Bell, she ran a blockade service. By this time the Federals had occupied Morehead City, Fort Macon, Beaufort and Newport. The work was becoming difficult, but she was more determined than ever to carry on. On certain days in the week, mail was distributed under logs in the woods, and to a well known tree, food, clothing and quinine was carried. By means of special signals the boys in gray uniforms were notified.
It is said that while Federal officers were occupying her home, it was her nightly duty to entertain them so that her brother-in-law could carry food from the pantry to the Confederate soldiers who were in hiding only a short distance away.
By this time a number of strangers had moved to Beaufort from other sections of the country, people who had come to the coast in order to profit by the unusual conditions which the war had brought on. Among these were two northern men. With their help Miss Emeline was able to carry through the Federal lines to the Confederate soldiers a short distance away such articles as food, clothing and medicine articles which she could hide beneath her hoop-skirt.
One day there dropped from these Northern men some very valuable information, as she thought, to the southern cause, and she persuaded them to give it to her in writing. With the information hid next to her heart and her hoopskirt loaded, she started with Rufus Bell on her regular rounds. This day, however, they didn't pass the lines so easily. Already under suspicion the two were arrested and sent to jail in Beaufort. Mr. Bell was searched first. Finding no writing of any suspicious nature, he was released. The order was now given to search Miss Emeline. A negro woman was delegated to do the job, but Miss Emeline protesting, told her if she came near she would shoot and shoot to kill. She then stated that if they would send a white woman she would not object to being searched.
She was really fighting for time to destroy the note next to her heart. While the officers were looking for someone to do the searching, Miss Emeline chewed the memorandum of information and swallowed it; she also tore the mail she had gathered for distribution into small bits. When the searching party finally arrived and found the scattered mail fragments, they were angry, but proceeded with the search and found concealed under her hoop-skirt almost everything from a fine tooth comb to a suit of clothes.
Miss Emeline was ordered sent to prison in New Bern, but was permitted to spend the night with her parents on the Calico Creek farm. One of her cousins was allowed to go to prison with her the next day. It was during this imprisonment that one of the Federal soldiers tried to chloroform the two. By picking small holes in the window through which they could get fresh air, the two were able to escape death.
Friends worked hard to free her, but without success. At length she sent for some influential men in New Bern, whom she knew were traitors, telling them if she was brought to trial she would disclose things that would cause them to suffer. Their influence was brought to bear with the Federal authorities, and she was released without a trial.
Miss Pigott died May 26, 1919, and was buried in the family cemetery on the North side of Calico Creek, with her father and Mother, Levi W. and Eliza Dennis Pigott.
Emeline Pigott Cemetery
No history of the Town of Morehead City, or any celebration of its long life, would be complete without including therein the story of historic Fort Macon.
Rated as one of the most attractive and historical places in the state, Fort Macon is located on the eastern end of Bogue Banks overlooking old Topsail Inlet. It is said to be the finest old fort that has been preserved and reconditioned for public enjoyment and study along the Atlantic coast.
Taking ten years for its construction, it was put in commission in 1836. Built for harbor protection, it played an important part during the Civil War when it was taken by Federal forces on April 25, 1862.
Leading up to the battle was the event of pushing eastward. Camps were established at Roanoke Island, New Bern, Newport and Carolina City, while Morehead City and Beaufort were placed under martial rule.
Two demands for the surrender of the fort were made by Federal officers to avoid the battle that took place April 25. Each time Col. White returned a reply stating that he would not give over the fort to the Federal forces.
A month before the battle took place, Gen. John G. Parke, in command of the Federal forces preparing for the attack, sent the following demand to Col. White. March 23, 1862:
“In order to save the unnecessary effusion of blood I have the honor to demand the evacuation of the fort and surrender of the forces under your command.
Having an intimate knowledge of the entire works and overwhelming force at our command with the means of reducing the works, its fall is inevitable. On the condition that no damage is done the fortification or armament, your command will be released as prisoners of war on their parole.”
Colonel White responded to this demand stating: “Your request is received. I have the honor to decline evacuating Fort Macon.”
Following the demand of General Parke to Colonel White and his refusal to surrender, Federal forces from their camp at Carolina City began to prepare for the attack. Artillery was put over on Bogue Banks and placed within range of the enemy.
As a final gesture on the part of the Federal forces to prevent the taking of the fort by force, Maj. Gen. A. E. Burnside on April 23, sent the following request to Col. White to surrender:
“I have arrived here with additional means of attacking your position. General Parke is now ready, but by my orders there has not been a single shot fired at the fort by the army. I deem it my duty to again summon you to surrender the place in its present condition, in which you and your garrison will be allowed to return to your homes on parole.
This proposition is made with a view to saving human life. Should you not accept these terms, the consequences of an attack and an assault will rest upon you.”
Once again Colonel White sent back a refusal to surrender, stating: “Your letter per flag of truce is received, demanding surrender of Fort Macon. In reply I have to say I decline the surrender.”
In his report covering the battle, to Secretary of War, E. M. Stanton, Major General Burnside says in part, “On the afternoon of the 24th I sent an order to General Parke to open fire as soon as possible, which he did at 5:00 o'clock in the morning of the 25th instant and kept it up until 4:00 p. m., throwing 1,100 shot and shell of which 560 struck the fort dismounting 17 guns, killing eight and wounding 26 others.
At 4:00 p. m., a flag of truce was hoisted on the parapets; when our batteries ceased firing, a party coming from the fort bearing a white flag was met by a party from the trenches. When it was ascertained that Colonel White had sent the flag for the purpose of knowing upon what terms he could surrender the fert . . . “the bearer of the flag was informed that the surrender must be unconditional, according to the terms I offered Colonel White before the battle commenced.”
There was great delay in getting word to General Burnside who was on a vessel out in the Sound. General Parke did not reach the boat until 4:00 o'clock on the morning of the 26th to consult with General Burnside. Both officers agreed to the terms of surrender as made to Colonel White on the 23rd. He was notified of the terms and came aboard the vessel early in the morning of the 26th., where he and General Parke arranged the terms of the surrender.
Approaching the fort from the parking area, the round brick structure on the right is one of the early cisterns or wells supplying water for the fort during peace time. What is known as the wagon road leads to the bridge across the wide, deep moat. This moat entirely surrounds the fort, separating the inner part from the outer defense.
A line of cannon bases run along the outer defense facing the ocean and inlet. To the right of the entrance a stairway leads to the ammunition rooms sunk in the thick outer walls. Under the gun bases is a large chamber with many apertures from which enfilading fire could take place as protection for the moat, Though well manned with guns and men for channel protection, the rear of the fort lacked guns to halt the advances of the Federal forces from the land side.
Open doors of massive oak welcome you to enter through the main sally port. Should you wonder about the small door within one of the main doors, it is known as the “cat hole.” After the night closing, soldiers returning late from leave were let through this door by the guard. The large hardwood square blocks forming the floor of the sally port have stood the wear of over a century.
Viewing the interior from the edge of the parade ground, as one comes out of the sally port, the massive walls in the form of a pentagon are pierced by the doorways and windows of the casements. Several have been restored, showing the quarters of the officers and men.
A study of construction of the structure shows many fine examples of brickmason work that would baffle present day workmen. Hand wrought iron railings on the stairs and at other points about the fort claim the attention of antique judges.
Much attention was given to the laying of intricate patterns of brickwork. The graceful arches supporting the stairways to the upper rampart are masterpieces of masonry. Persons wonder what holds the arches up. Rails of hand wrought design border the stairs and still resist the elements. Should you notice that the treads on one of the stairways shows large pieces broken off, this was done by a Federal cannon ball rolling down the stairs during the battle of April 25, 1862. All of the brickwork about the fort is laid in what is known as oyster lime mortar, said to be a lost secret.
From the top of the parapet, reached by two stairways, an imposing view is had of the ocean and surrounding country. The ground of the parapet consisting of oyster shells and sand, acts as a filter for rainwater to supply the five cisterns along the parade ground.
When making a study of the interior of the casemates, it will be seen that the ceilings or roofs are circular. The roof of each section is covered with a thick layer of lead which catches the water as it seeps through the upper ground of the parapet. Where the roof joins, a valley is formed, conveying the water to a down spout, to the cistern. Water is purified as it filters through the earth.
In the restored casemates, look for the “air-conditioning system,” in which fresh air entering ducts in the roof, circulated between brick walls, cooled and issued from vents cut in the baseboards near the floor, the hot air drawn to outlets down the center of the arched ceiling.
In 1840, Robert E. Lee, a young Engineer Captain, visited the fort and made a thorough inspection. He recommended the erection of a second “hot shot furnace,” in which were heated cannon balls to fire at the wooden ships of the time. He also found need of jetties facing the fort site to hold back the embankments.
Among the many achievements of the late Hon. Charles L. Abernathy while serving as Congressman from this district, was that of securing for the State of North Carolina the Fort Macon Reservation, “that the State might preserve the fort as a public shrine and the land for park purposes.”
Lying neglected since its active part in the early years of the Civil War, robbed of its brass and iron fittings and despoiled by vandals, it remained for a group of interested citizens to see in the old structure and surrounding ground the making of a public park and the restoration of this ancient coast defense.
For the monetary consideration of $1.00, the United States government on June 4, 1924, deeded to the State the 412 acres which comprise the reservation. A year later, on July 17, appropriate dedication exercises were held on the parade ground of the old structure.
Relics gathered from within and about the fort, combined with pictures, uniforms, guns and shells, go to make up a museum of interest. Two mortars of Civil War days guard the entrance to the museum.
Your visit to the fort will be made enjoyable through the services of a curator in charge. He is well versed in the history and tradition of this ancient bastion.PROFESSIONAL LISTINGS
|Office Address||Office Phone||Res. Phone|
|S. W. HATCHER, M. D.|
|102 S. 21st Street||6-3127||6-4555|
|DARDEN J. EURE, D.D.S.|
|707 Bridges Street||6-4272||6-3297|
|ALVAH L. HAMILTON, JR., D.D.S.|
|1103 Arendell Street||6-4084||6-4109|
|W. M. BRADY, M. D.|
|1015 Arendell Street||6-3252||6-4606|
|ROBERT O. BARNUM, Chiropractor|
|1512 Arendell Street||6-3324||6-4492|
|GEORGE W. BALL, Attorney|
|First-Citizens Bank Bldg.||6-4412||6-4925|
John Motley Morehead, III, grandson of Governor John Motley Morehead, for whom Morehead City was named.
John Motley Morehead, III, grandson of Governor John Motley Morehead, for whom Morehead City was named.MOREHEAD CITY 1862-1865
RUTH HOWLAND DEYO
It was April 25, 1862. The Confederates at Fort Macon no longer sang gayly:“If Lincoln wants to save his bacon,He'd better keep away from old Fort Macon!Look Away!”
All yesterday these men had valiantly kept up a constant bombardment of guns and mortars until dark. Resuming fire again at daylight, on this fateful day, they realized by noon that they would be compelled to surrender. At four o'clock in the afternoon Colonel White and his five hundred men marched out of the fort and lay down their arms.
Martial law was then established at Morehead City with Captain Ritter of the Ninth New Jersey Veteran Volunteers as Morehead Marshal. He and his fellow officers set up headquarters at the house still standing at 805 Bridges Street.
The Ninth New Jersey regiment was encamped at Carolina City (Camp Glenn), a place of two or three houses. Their pickets were placed at Bogue Banks, (Atlantic Beach), a place infested with venomous snakes and a few alligators, and they moved their troops into Fort Macon.
Fort Macon flew the Stars and Stripes once more and ninety-one guns were at bar-bette and porthole. On July 4, 1862, a national salute was fired at sunrise from the fort, badly frightening the townspeople.
The summer, fall, and winter of 1862 passed quietly. The town of Morehead settled just five years before, was a place of few houses, a few windmills, and few people. The only excitement occurred in August when three Yankee “wheelbarrow” steamers converged on Swansboro and destroyed the two salt factories operating there, creating a serious loss to this section as well as the entire state.
The men of the Ninth by their excellent behavior and generosity had gained the esteem of the whole town, and tension was lessening when the year 1833 rolled around. General Heckman was in command at Morehead City.
The townsmen went fishing once more in their sailboats and canoes in Bogue Sound, selling — sometimes giving — part of their catch to the Yankee soldiers. Oysters, clams, mounds of buried sweet potatoes, peanuts, and barrels of sorghum were shared with the soldiers. The women of the town baked bread, pies and hoecakes, and with chickens and eggs, sold them to the soldiers, making a tidy little sum for themselves and vying with the sutlers who came down from New Bern, peddling their wares at higher prices.
Morehead City was the terminal of railroad and ships. Locomotives, with cars attached, steam whistle splitting the air, and large burning cinders flying from the smoke stacks, roared into town from everywhere with Yankee soldiers on open platform cars, beating the cinders off them with blankets, and supplies of all sorts for the occupying army.
January 20, 1863, over one hundred vessels lay at anchor off Morehead. At night the myriad of lights on the vessels presented an enchanting spectacle on the quiet waters. The destination of this fleet was a subject of controversy for over a week. Then, on the 29th, with a strong wind blowing from the southeast and rough breakers on the bar, the fleet weighed anchor, and loaded with troops — some of them members of the Ninth, experienced great difficulty in getting over the shoals.
The summer of 1863 found the Ninth working upon fortifications at what is now 12th Street. They threw up a breastwork of dirt with a deep trench on the town side. A large hospital building was being erected under
the supervision of Surgeon Woodhull of General Heckman's staff. It was afterwards known as the Mansfield General Hospital. This building, situated at 804 Arendell Street, is now known as Dowdy's apartment house.
This year passed quietly with the towns-people watching the Yankee's drills and dress parades, which was the only color in their otherwise drab days. The Ninth had always made the most distinctive showing. Their uniforms were light blue trousers, a darker blue coat and blouse. The coat had green shadings on shoulder straps, epaulets, and chevrons. The One Hundred and Fifty-eighth Regiment New York Volunteers was in Morehead City also.
The year 1864 came, and September 21st, the Ninth of New Jersey returned, having been away nine months. Their ship, “United States,” steamed into the harbor of Morehead City and was saluted by the men at Fort Macon. The Ninth was greeted heartily by the citizens, who had long ago put their trust in these New Jersey men.
Yellow Jack was raging, an epidemic, at New Bern. Although authorities took every precaution and used every preventative that sanitary science knew, the scourge spread. There were few cases in Morehead, but people in Beaufort were dying with it.
Morehead City during the Civil War
The year 1865 and the month March is here. Couriers are more frequently coming and going. Rumors of all kinds are all over town. The biggest one—the war will soon be over!
The fourth of March found troops of the Ninth preparing to move. The train transported them to New Bern. The railroad from New Bern to Goldsboro had been destroyed by Confederates. The old tenting ground at Carolina City looked deserted and desolate with only the stockades left standing.
The last of March word reached Morehead that Sherman's Army of sixty thousand men had arrived in Goldsboro.
Another Arpil, and spring lay tenderly on the land. Morehead hears that Lee has surrendered to Grant. The Yankee fifers and drummers hold forth, making a din, and everyone cheers. Many weep and embrace each other.
Jubilation is turned to sadness when a few days later word is received that President Lincoln has been assassinated. The flag at Fort Macon billows in the wind at half-mast. Thirteen guns were fired at sunrise and one gun every half hour during the day.
The war is ended.MEMORIALS
Thomas and Martha Oglesby Arendell
Cecil B. Arthur, 1885-1947
Mr. Eugene D. Arthur, 1856-1933
Mrs. Eugene D. Arthur, 1861-1921
Mr. Gilbert L. Arthur, 1892-1942
Gilbert Luther Arthur, Sr. 1862-1929
Isabella Mason Arthur, 1869-1952
Rachel Wade Arthur, 1835-1909
Seth Arthur, 1830-1899
Mr. Daniel Bell, 1846-1895
Mrs. Daniel Bell, 1853-1927
Georgia Webb Bell, 1855-1944
Mr. James R. Bell, 1852-1947
Mrs. James R. Bell, 1852-1928
Mr. and Mrs. John F. Bell
Mr. William P. Bell, 1854-1930
Mr. and Mrs. Charles H. Bennett
Mr. and Mrs. James F. Brinson
Miss Edith Broadway, 1877-1952
Mr. G. D. Canfield, 1872-1948
Frank Colenda, Jr., 1884-1930
Mr. William Daily, 1861-1923
Nettie Daily, 1867-1919
Miss Fannie Davis, 1869-1956
Fredrick Sterling and Carrie Arendell Davis
Mr. George Dill, 1874-1942
Douglass H. Dowdy
Mr. Rudolph F. Dowdy, 1907-1940
Mrs. Hattie Foy Edwards, 1867-1937
N. F. Eure, 1887-1955
Alan MacPherson Ferebee, 1882-1955
Walter Clyde (Mutt) Freeman 1918-1924
Marianna Freeman, 1924-1927
William W. Freeman, 1856-1931
Annie Bedie Freeman, 1868-1928
Mr. Fredrick Elmo Franklin, 1873-1950
Mr. Asa E. Gaskins, 1877-1939
Mrs. Asa E. Gaskins, 1876-1953
Dr. James Francis Giddens, 1875-1952
Mrs. James Francis Giddens, 1878-1952
Sidney Harris Gorham, 1923-1944
Mrs. Agnes Moore Guthrie, 1890-1954
Capt. John Guthrie, 1881-1945
Beadie G. Guthrie, 1882-1937
Mr. W. J. Hales, 1854-1941
Mrs. Kathleen Purifoy Harris, 1903-1955
Mr. Winfield Hasket, 1852-1926
Mrs. Mollie T. Hasket, 1867-1956
Mr. William Alfonso Hauser, 1853-1934
Mrs. William Alfonso Hauser, 1857-1940
Dr. W. E. Headen, 1867-1916
Mrs. W. E. Headen, 1876-1942
Mrs. Willie Dill Herbert, 1871-1951
Walter Sidney Herbert, 1863-1902
Mr. Robert H. Himmler, 1924-1956
I. D. Howland, 1877-1945
Lula Cox Howland, 1883-1948
James M. Howland, 1845-1918
Margaret Willis Howland, 1850-1913
William Arendell Howland, 1873-1949
Ella Phillips Howland, 1882-1947
Mr. J. W. Jackson
Mr. William H. Jackson, 1873-1955
Mr. William Milton Jackson, 1898-1941
Calupt Tilden Jarvis, 1877-1954
Rev. W. T. Jones, 1855-1899
Mrs. Addie Jones, 1860-1940
Frank B. Klein, 1888-1953
Maie Hatch Klein, 1891-1924
Mr. and Mrs. Madison C. Klein Moved to N. C. 1885
Major Oscar Kunst Laine, 1893-1948
Mr. John Laughton, 1871-1951
Mrs. John R. Laughton, 1876-1938
Mr. John Clifford Lewis, 1866-1921
Mrs. Dollie Willis Lewis, 1875-1940
Mr. Maurice Lewis, 1911-1956
Willard Lewis, 1898-1956
Paul C. Lincke, 1871-1952
Mrs. Stella Piner Lincoln, 1882-1954
Walter F. Mallison, 1871-1914
Manaen Washington Mason, 1821-1883
Sidney Harris Mason, 1827-1909
James L. McNair, 1878-1955
Gertrude McIntosh McNair, 1883-1935
Mr. Louie Gordon Mizelle, 1904-1948
Capt. Alfred Moore
Mrs. Charlotte Mason Moore
Alonza T. Moore, 1875-1924
Capt. Harry Moore, 1878-1955
Capt. Leslie A. Moore, 1885-1940
Paul E. Moore, Sr., 1893-1930
A. B. Morris, 1889-1948
Daisy Morris, 1899-1946
Mrs. Allena Bell Morton, 1867-1953
Mr. J. B. Morton, 1858-1949
Mr. J. C. B. Morton, 1858-1949
Mr. A. S. Nelson, 1864-1928
Mrs. A. S. Nelson, 1866-1927
Mr. Mason F. Nelson, 1888-1926
Elmer E. Nichols, 1883-1957
Mrs. Kate Staton Parks, 1867-1949
John Daniel Phillips, 1838-1884
Julia Piver Phillips, 1849-1916
Mr. John G. Piner, 1875-1944
Mrs. John G. Piner, 1877-1944
Mr. W. C. Piner, 1865-1931
Mrs. W. C. Piner, 1873-1946
Mr. N. R. Purifoy, 1887-1940
Mrs. Sallie S. Purifoy, 1883-1952
Arthur B. Roberts, Sr., 1886-1930
Beaulah A. Roberts, 1892-1939
Ben F. Royal, Jr., 1916-1944
John Jones Royal, 1850-1909
Mary Franklin Royal, 1864-1947
Mr. Simeon Smith, 1873-1951
Mrs. Simeon Smith, 1876-1956
Dr. Frank Staton, 1872-1938
Frank Staton, Jr., 1912-1933
David Strickland, 1900-1956
Mr. Richard Swindell, 1876-1948
George Washington Styron, 1878-1950
Mr. Walker R. Styron, 1899-1957
Mr. W. Scott Swindell, 1883
Mrs. W. Scott Swindell, 1881-1952
Capt. Allen E. Taylor, 1882-1956
Mrs. Allen E. Taylor, 1889-1940
Mr. Robert W. Taylor, Sr., 1863-1923
Georgia Frazier Taylor, 1871-1928
Mr. Herbert Whitmore Thornton, 1896-1949
Mrs. Eva Hardesty Tolson, 1880-1954
Adelaide V. Wade, 1883-1954
Thomas C. Wade, 1875-1949
Capt. John B. Wade
Mrs. Polly S. Wade
Mr. Thomas McDuffy Wade, 1878-1951
Ben Wilson Wade, 1918-1946
David B. Wade, Sr., 1847-1929
Mrs. David B. Wade, Sr., 1848-1946
Anthony D. Wade, 1825-1911
Elizabeth Ann Wade, 1834-1895
Mr. Charles Stover Wallace, 1864-1945
Nina Webb Wallace, 1872-1953
Mildred Watson Wallace, 1892-1930
Robert Wallace, 1810-1880
Sarah Ann Willis Wallace, 1822-1886
Mr. Herndon Wallace, 1858-1894
Mrs. Herndon Wallace, 1864-1939
Mr. George W. Wallace, 1854-1922
Mrs. George W. Wallace, 1864-1946
Elizabeth Willis Wallace, 1882-1953
Mr. Paul Webb, 1885-1945
Alexander H. Webb, Jr., 1876-1947
Mrs. Gertrude Dill Webb, 1878-1942
Winfield Scott Webb, 1896-1949
Mr. William M. Webb, 1874-1949
Mrs. William M. Webb, 1873-1933
Mr. Gordon Webb, 1902-1948
Mr. Charles V. Webb, 1878-1953
Thomas Devereaux Webb, 1853-1929
Zelphia Ann Webb, 1855-1921
Alexander Haywood Webb, 1850-1938
Harriet Wade Webb, 1856-1910
Silas Webb, 1812-1892
Marion Gillikin Webb, 1821-1893
Mr. Neal W. Williams, 1879-1946
Mrs. Neal W. Williams, 1878-1954
James Willis, 1855-1933
Theresa Jane Willis, 1857-1937
Mrs. Lillian Webb Willis, 1880-1955
Capt. Randolph H. Willis, 1880-1943
William M. Willis, 1855-1935
Lydia G. Willis, 1865-1947
Mr. Durwood B. Willis, 1884-1947
Mr. William G. Willis, 1913-1929
Mr. O. B. Willis, 1869-1941
James Newman Willis, Jr., 1907-1951
Capt. Jimmy Willis, 1876-1940
Vivian Hancock Willis, 1887-1950
Mr. Thomas Grace Willis, 1852-1931
Mrs. Thomas Grace Willis, 1855-1941
Mr. and Mrs. A. P. Adams, Jr. and family
Mr. and Mrs. Sam Adler
Ben R. Alford
Mr. and Mrs. John W. Alford, Jr. and Shari Lynn
Mr. and Mrs. O. N. Allred
Mr. and Mrs. Selby H. Anderson
Mr. and Mrs. James B. Arendell
Mr. and Mrs. Kemp B. Arthur, Sr. and family
Mr. and Mrs. Josiah Bailey, Jr. and family
Mr. and Mrs. Waldron Bailey
Mr. and Mrs. Carl M. Ball and son
Mr. and Mrs. George W. Ball
Mr. and Mrs. Halbert Ball and Mrs. O. B. Wade
Mr. and Mrs. Phillip Kalford Ball
Mr. and Mrs. George T. Barnes and family
Dr. and Mrs. R. O. Barnum and family
Mr. and Mrs. Howard C. Barrow, Jr. and Vicki
Mr. and Mrs. J. Warren Beck and family
Mr. and Mrs. C. Edgar Bell and boys
Mr. and Mrs. Jasper E. Bell and family
“Miss” Madie Bell
Mr. and Mrs. J. G. Benett, Jr. and family
Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Blair
Mr. and Mrs. Clyde Blanchard and family
Col. and Mrs. Henry N. Blanchard
Mrs. Wilmer K. Borden
Dr. and Mrs. W. M. Brady and family
Mr. and Mrs. Paul Branch and Paul, Jr.
Miss Gabrielle Breard
Mr. and Mrs. Ephriam L. Brickhouse and family
Mr. and Mrs. John E. Bridgers, Jr. and family
Merritt and Susan Bridgman
Mr. and Mrs. Ethan Brinson
Mr. and Mrs. L. O. Brinson and family
Mrs. Raymond Bryan
Bullock Shoe Shop
Mr. and Mrs. B. D. Bunn
Mr. and Mrs. Clyde Burr and family
Mr. and Mrs. Rex Burton
Mr. A. S. Byrum
Flora and Harold Cadmus and boys
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Canfield and family
Mrs. G. D. Canfield
Mr. and Mrs. David Franklin Cannon, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. George Watts Carr
Thomas A. Carrow
Mr. and Mrs. George W. Carter and family
Mr. and Mrs. Sam T. Chadwick and Tommy
Mr. and Mrs. S. A. Chalk, Jr. and family
Mr. and Mrs. W. B. Chalk and family
Mr. and Mrs. J. Frank Cheek and family
Mr. and Mrs. Cecil E. Cherry
Mr. and Mrs. William J. Cherry
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas D. Clark and Chris
L. E. Coleburn and family
Mr. and Mrs. Allen Colenda and family
Mr. and Mrs. Malcolm U. Collins and Denise
Mr. and Mrs. Bill Condie and Billy
Mr. and Mrs. Garth Cooper and family
Mr. and Mrs. D. Cordova and family
Mr. and Mrs. Paul W. Cordova and family
Mr. and Mrs. Joseph S. Correll and family
Edward A. Council, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. John L. Crump
Mr. and Mrs. Lonnie A. Daniels and family
Mr. and Mrs. John Danielson
Mr. and Mrs. Abram Davis
Mrs. Agnes Freeman Davis and Jack
Mr. and Mrs. Archic Royal Davis
Mr. and Mrs. Gus L. Davis and sons
Mr. and Mrs. James Morton Davis and family
Lt. and Mrs. Robert L. Davis
Mrs. George W. Dill
Mayor and Mrs. George W. Dill, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Bud Dixon and family
Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Doughton
Mr. and Mrs. Clyde A. Douglass
Mrs. Rudolph F. Dowdy
Mr. and Mrs. J. A. DuBois and Buddy
Mr. and Mrs. D. St. Pierre DuBose and family
Mrs. Ida Webb Eaton
Mr. and Mrs. Theodore Economen and family
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Edgerton
Mr. and Mrs. James B. Eubanks and family
Dr. and Mrs. Darden J. Eure and family
Mr. and Mrs. H. M. Eure and family
Mrs. Edgar B. Ewell
Mr. and Mrs. Clifford Faglie and Michael
Mrs. Juanita Farmer and Doris Jane
Mr. and Mrs. Edward L. Faucette and Jeff
Mr. and Mrs. Dom Femia and family
Mrs. Rosa W. Field
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Fish and family
Mr. and Mrs. David A. Flippin
Mr. and Mrs. R. Sam Flippin
Mrs. Peral Fort and R. A. Fetzer
Colonel Wiley B. Fort
Mr. and Mrs. Owens Frederick and family
Mr. and Mrs. David A. Freeman
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Freeman and family
Mr. and Mrs. Walter P. Freeman and family
Mr. and Mrs. David W. Freshwater and David Hales
Capt. and Mrs. Hubert L. Fulcher
Mr. and Mrs. Woodrow W. Fulcher and son
Mr. and Mrs. Alvin Garner and family
Mr. and Mrs. Robert L. Garner and family
Mr. and Mrs. Ted Garner and family
Mr. and Mrs. S. G. Garner
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Garrett, Jr. and family
Mr. and Mrs. Ray Garrett
Mr. and Mrs. William D. Gaskins and Judy
Mr. and Mrs. P. H. Geer, Sr.
Mr. and Mrs. H. S. Gibbs Jr. and family
Mrs. Jefferson D. Gibson and son
Mr. and Mrs. Frank Gonsalves
Mr. and Mrs. Bruce Goodwin and family
Mr. and Mrs. Dave Gould and family
Mr. and Mrs. Frank A. Grantham
Mr. and Mrs. Willie Gray and family
Mr. and Mrs. Cornelius Guthrie
Mrs. Foy Guthrie and Bob
Mr. and Mrs. Leroy Guthrie and family
Mr. and Mrs. Lindsay Guthrie
Mr. and Mrs. D. J. Hall, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Harvey Hamilton, Jr., and family
Mr. and Mrs. Harvey Hamilton, Sr.
Judge and Mrs. Luther Hamilton
Mr. and Mrs. Luther Hamilton, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Walton Hamilton and son
Mr. and Mrs. Doil Hancock
Mr. and Mrs. Robert E. Harrell and Dot
Dr. and Mrs. Sam Hatcher
Mr. and Mrs. John P. Haynes
Mr. and Mrs. S. Kermit Hedgecock and family
Helen's Beauty Shop
Rev. and Mrs. J. F. Herbert
Mr. and Mrs. John Herbin
Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Herring
Mr. and Mrs. Robert L. Hicks and family
Mr. and Mrs. Sam C. Holloway
Mr. and Mrs. J. D. Holt and Barbara
Mrs. Julia Holt
Mr. and Mrs. S. A. (Red) Horton and sons
Mr. and Mrs. Bob Howard and family
Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Howerton and family
Dorothy S. Hutaff
Mrs. J. W. Jackson
John T. B. Jenkins and family
Frank and Corinna Freeman Johnson
Dr. and Mrs. Otis Johnson
Mr. and Mrs. R. C. Jones
Mr. and Mrs. Harvey L. Joslyn
Mr. and Mrs. Arthur F. Joyner and family
Mr. and Mrs. J. Wilford Kellogg
Mr. and Mrs. Herbert Kelly
Mr. and Mrs. Truman D. Kemp and family
Mr. and Mrs. W. S. Kidd
Mr. and Mrs. Charles N. Killmon and family
Mr. and Mrs. Jack King, Lewis and John Henry
Mrs. W. A. Lambeth and Elizabeth
Mr. and Mrs. C. C. Land
Father Elmo J. Landser, TOR
Lanier Book Club
Mr. and Mrs. John E. Lashley
Mr. and Mrs. Robert E. Laughton and Nancy
Mr. and Mrs. Albert Lea and family
Mr. and Mrs. T. Bernard Leary and family
Mr. and Mrs. Claud P. Lewis and family
Mr. and Mrs. Fred Lewis and family
Mr. and Mrs. T. D. Lewis and family
Mr. and Mrs. M. L. Lewis
T. D. Lewis Machine Shop
Mr. and Mrs. Walter M. Lewis
Mr. and Mrs. Jimmy Lupton and family
Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Macy and family
Mr. and Mrs. James Macy, Jr. and family
Mrs. Maggie Wade Mallison
Mr. and Mrs. Walter U. Mallison and children
Mr. and Mrs. C. B. Malone and family
Mr. and Mrs. C. D. Mann and family
Mr. and Mrs. Elbert Mann
Mr. and Mrs. F. R. Marino and children
Mr. and Mrs. Charles H. Markey and family
Mr. and Mrs. Robert C. Markey
Mr. and Mrs. W. W. Marks
Mr. and Mrs. Bobby Matthews and Melodie
Mr. and Mrs. W. C. Matthews
Mr. and Mrs. W. C. Matthews, Jr.
Raymond C. Maxwell
Mr. and Mrs. Adam Mayer
Mr. and Mrs. J. R. Mayberry and Johnny
Mr. and Mrs. Roland McClamrock
Mr. and Mrs. R. M. McClain
Mr. and Mrs. John McClelland
Mr. and Mrs. C. C. McCuiston
Mr. and Mrs. J. V. McElroy
Mr. and Mrs. Paul B. McKenny and family
Mr. and Mrs. J. S. McLohon
Mr. and Mrs. George H. McNeill and Robert
Mr. and Mrs. John Memakis and family
Mr. and Mrs. C. C. Merrill and family
Mr. and Mrs. Marion T. Mills and Sherrill
Mr. and Mrs. M. T. Mills
Mr. and Mrs. Gerald Mitchell and family
Mrs. A. C. Monk, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Frank Moran and family
Mr. and Mrs. James Parker Moran and family
Mr. and Mrs. A. T. Moore and Arthur
Mrs. Harry Moore
Mr. and Mrs. B. Jack Morgan
Mr. and Mrs. J. Carroll Morgan and family
Dr. and Mrs. Milton B. Morey and family
Mr. and Mrs. James R. Morrill
Dr. and Mrs. John W. Morris, Watson, Virginia, Evelyn and Mary Alice
Mr. and Mrs. Joe Morse
Mr. and Mrs. David Munden and sons
Mr. and Mrs. Grover C. Munden and daughter
Mr. and Mrs. David Murray
Mr. and Mrs. Cecil L. Nelson
Mr. and Mrs. E. L. Nelson
Mr. and Mrs. John F. Nelson and family
Miss Melanie Sue Noe
Mr. and Mrs. Thomas L. Noe
Dr. and Mrs. L. J. Norris, Jr. and Rebecca
Mr. and Mrs. Earl Norwood and Mary Lou
Mr. and Mrs. L. L. Oettinger
Mr. and Mrs. W. G. Oglesby
Mr. and Mrs. K. W. Olsen and family
Dr. and Mrs. Russell Outlaw and David
Mr. and Mrs. William S. Page
Mrs. Matilda Fort Parker
Mrs. Lucien C. Peeling
Miss Ruth Peeling
Mr. and Mrs. Ely J. Perry and family
Mr. and Mrs. Jules Peters
Mr. and Mrs. Charles H. Piner, Jr. and family
Mr. and Mrs. Charlie H. Piner
Mr. and Mrs. Earl W. Piner and Gayle
Mr. and Mrs. Milton B. Piner
Mr. and Mrs. James L. Pitchford
Mr. and Mrs. Isham E. Pittman
Mr. and Mrs. Herbert O. Phillips, III and Herbert IV
Mr. and Mrs. J. D. Phillips
Mr. and Mrs. Lockwood Phillips and family
T. T. “Tom” Potter & Son
Mrs. James H. Pou
Mr. and Mrs. Bill Price and family
Mr. and Mrs. George Purifoy and family
Mr. and Mrs. S. J. Rabon, Sr.
Mr. and Mrs. S J. Rabon, Jr. and children
Verna Jean Rabon
Mr. and Mrs. Lloyd Reed and son
Mr. and Mrs. Frank Reams and family
Mr. and Mrs. W. H. Reynolds
Mr. and Mrs. A. B. Roberts and family
Mr. and Mrs. Derl G. Roberts
Mr. and Mrs. W. Calmert Roberts and family
Mrs. Olzie C. Rodman and family
Mr. and Mrs. Ray Rogers and sons
Mr. and Mrs. Joe D. Rose, Jr. and family
Mr. and Mrs. N. A. Rouse
Mr. and Mrs. Milton S. Roush and family
Mr. and Mrs. D. H. Rowe
Dr. and Mrs. Ben F. Royal
Mr. and Mrs. Fred L. Royal and family
Mr. and Mrs. F. C. Salisbury
Mr. and Mrs. Frank Sample and family
Mr. and Mrs. Harold H. Sampson and family
Mr. and Mrs. Fred Sanders
Mr. and Mrs. James R. Sanders and family
Mr. and Mrs. “Gibbie” Sanderson and Faye
Mr. and Mrs. Jerry Schumacher
Mr. and Mrs. Robert S. Seamon and family
Mr. and Mrs. Tony Seamon and family
Mr. and Mrs. Cecil Sewell and family
Mr. and Mrs. Donald Shanor and Betsy
Mr. Abe Silverman
Mr. and Mrs. Jewell Smith
Mrs. Lucile Arthur Smith
Nannie W. Solley
Mr. and Mrs. Richard Sourkasian
Mr. and Mrs. Mack Stamps
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Stanley, Sr.
Mr. and Mrs. Charles L. Stanley, Jr., and family
Mrs. Frank Staton and children
Mr. and Mrs. Clarence E. Styron
Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Styron and family
Capt. and Mrs. Johnny Styron and family
Mr. and Mrs. H. C. Sugg
Mr. and Mrs. Louis V. Sutton
Mr. and Mrs. Frank Swindell
Mr. and Mrs. Gannon Talbert
Mr. and Mrs. J. Clarence Taylor
Mr. and Mrs. J. T. Taylor and family
Mrs. Nelson W. Taylor
Mr. and Mrs. Perry M. Taylor, Jr. and family
Mrs. Robert Taylor and family
Mr. and Mrs. Robert W. Taylor and Carolyn
Mr. and Mrs. Warren H. Taylor
Mr. and Mrs. W. Frank Taylor
Mr. and Mrs. Walter Teich and June
Mr. and Mrs. Earl Thompson
Dr. and Mrs. S. W. Thompson, Jr. and family
Mr. and Mrs. John Tillery and family
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Tolson, Jr. and family
Mr. and Mrs. L. F. Tuten
Mr. and Mrs. Harry Van Horn and family
Mr. and Mrs. Roper Van Horn
Vanity Beauty Shop
Dr. and Mrs. Alvah Van Nortwick
Vickery's Pottery Shop
Mr. and Mrs. C. B. Wade, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Charles Byrd Wade and family
Mr. and Mrs. C. Manley Wade
Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Wade and family
Mr. and Mrs. Francis W. Wade and family
Mr. and Mrs. James Irving Wade and family
Mr. and Mrs. Robert V. Wade and family
Mr. and Mrs. Roy T. Wade
Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth C. Wagner and family
Mr. and Mrs. Dan Walker
Mr. and Mrs. N. L. Walker
Mr. and Mrs. Hootie Waters
Mr. and Mrs. Jimmy Wallace and family
Mr. and Mrs. George R. Wallace George and Borden
George W. Waters, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. D. M. Webb
Mr. and Mrs. Earl W. Webb
Mr. and Mrs. E. B. Webb
Mr. and Mrs. Harold W. Webb and family
Mr. M. S. Webb
Mr. and Mrs. Norman R. Webb
Mr. and Mrs. William M. Webb
Mr. and Mrs. H. A. Weeks and Cecil
Dr. and Mrs. Clifton F. West
Mr. and Mrs. Douglass West and family
Mr. and Mrs. Thurlow Whealton
Dr. Paul F Whitaker
Mr. and Mrs. Bill White
Mr. and Mrs. Henry H. White and son
Mr. and Mrs. George L. H. White
Mr. and Mrs. J. G. Whitehead and family
Mr. and Mrs. Francis Whitley and family
Mr. and Mrs. G. P. Whittle and George, Jr.
Ann Ward Williams
Mr. and Mrs. Archie Williams
Mr. and Mrs. C. W. Williams and Barbara
Robert Ward Williams
Mr. and Mrs. A. N. (Naughty) Willis and Martha Ann
Mr. and Mrs. Charles C. Willis and family
Mr. and Mrs. David Thomas Willis and family
Mr. and Mrs. Edward J. Willis and daughter
Mrs. Effie Styron Willis
Mrs. George H. Willis and family
Capt. and Mrs. Gib Willis and family
Mr. and Mrs. Graydon B. Willis and family
Mr. and Mrs. J. Dewey Willis
Mr. and Mrs. John D. Willis and family
Mr. John Wallace Willis
Mr. and Mrs. Julian D. Willis and family
Mr. and Mrs. Lesta Willis and family
Mr. and Mrs. Marvin E. Willis and family
Mr. and Mrs. Robert Bruce Willis and Sandra
Mr. and Mrs. Reginald Willis and family
R. T. Willis, Sr.
Mr. and Mrs. Rupert Earl Willis and Rupert, Jr.
Mr. and Mrs. Russell E. Willis and family
D. W. Woodard
Thomas A Woodard
Mr. and Mrs. Stanley Woodland
Mr. J. W. York
June 22, 1957
Although it has been in evidence during the past century that Morehead City is one big happy family, the unity of our townsfolk has become even more obvious as the vast army of Centennial committee members prepare for the big week-long 100th Birthday Party of the town.
The spirit displayed by those who have worked untiringly through the last 10 months to make the celebration possible is, indeed, a credit to Morehead City. And it is my sincere hope that this spirit will generate even greater successes for our community as we look with hope to the future.
It is with wholehearted appreciation that I express my thanks to all those who volunteered their services to the Centennial cause.
Special thanks are extended to Jerry Schumacher, Gene Bell and Bob Seymour, who took pictures for this book, and to Mr. F. C. Salisbury, for his untiring work and vast historical knowledge. The tremendous task of staging the celebration could not have been accomplished without you. And my deepest regrets are extended to anyone who has been overlooked in any way in the publication of this book.
In all sincerity,
Charles H. Markey
This Centennial Jubilee Book
HERALD PRINTING COMPANY
Printers and Stationers
Morehead City, N. C.STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
July 9, 1957
LUTHER H. HODGES, Governor
Mr. Charles H. Markey, General Chairman
Morehead City Centennial Jubilee, P. O. Box 472
Morehead City, North Carolina
Dear Mr. Markey:
I am happy to send my personal greetings and best wishes to all the people of Morehead City as you celebrate your 100th anniversary. This is indeed a memorable day for all of you and I wish you every success.
Morehead City had made great progress since it was founded by John Motley Morehead a century ago. Today it stands on the threshold of a new century of even greater progress. It continues to seek industrial, commercial and other economic growth. The potential of its fine port is tremendous.
It has always been noted as a favorite place to vacation—for those who love the beach, for the sport fishermen, the summer cottages, and boating enthusiasts. Many people settle here as a desirable place to retire, attracted by the mild weather, the serenity of rural and small town life, and by the warmth and sincerity of your hospitable people.
Again, best wishes for a most successful anniversary celebration.
(Signed) LUTHER H. HODGES
THE STORY OF THE SEAL
The history of the Morehead coat of arms, shown on front cover, is as interesting as the era of knighthood itself. The clan lived at the upper reaches of the moor, thus the name Morehead. There were two branches of the clan. The Cockle shell in the right corner of the shield denotes that that branch went on the crusades. The hart and fetterlock of the other clan meant that they were tied to the homeland. The open book and two-handed sword above the shield serve to connect knighthood with religion, marking the clan as defenders of the faith. Across the front of the shield is a crest of acorns—symbolic of strength, the oak tree being the strongest of all trees. Laurel leaves surrounding the shield are the symbol of heroism.