City of Greenville, North Carolina19 May 2011
Source: Junius D. Grimes Papers (#571)
Staff Person: Lynette Lundin
Take a step back in time to 1914 Greenville, N. C., in this C. E. Weaver Series, “Illustrated Cities”, by Central Publishing Co., Inc., in Richmond, Virginia. Greenville was growing and changing: The Center Brick Warehouse was selling Bright Leaf Tobacco (93,762 pounds avg. at $24.55 per hundred). The Flanagan Buggy Co. distributed products throughout Virginia, North and South Carolina, Georgia, Florida and Alabama. The Greenville Ice and Coal Co. was a necessity for this community. The R.L. Smith Stables sold and exchanged horses and mules. The East Carolina Teachers Training School is now called East Carolina University; the campus consisted of the Power House, Dining Hall, Infirmary, Dormitories and the Administration Building and the soon to be erected library, gymnasium and the President’s Residence. These are just a few highlights from the pamphlet from the Junius D. Grimes Papers #571.
Posted by Lynette Lundin under East Carolina Manuscript Collection, pamphlets and Tags: agriculture, architecture, East Carolina Teachers Training School, government, Greenville, historic buildings, hotels, Pitt County, railroads, theaters, tobacco industry, transportation