NCPI Workmark
Articles in regional publications that pertain to a wide range of North Carolina-related topics.

Watauga Colony and the State of Franklin

Record #:
On two occasions part of North Carolina has established its own independent government. Watauga became the first independent self-governing colony in 1772 but was replaced by the District of Washington in 1776. The State of Franklin, part of present-day Tennessee and of the territory ceded by North Carolina to the federal government, was formed from part of the earlier District Washington.
Tar Heel (NoCar F 251 T37x), Vol. 6 Issue 1, Jan/Feb 1978, p34-37, il